you know what, i need real life proof, not models/actresses that sanwla color is being accepted. i want to know how many women were rejected due to their color before a final was accepted.
I think some of u r being a little hypocritical...u complain about how it's not rite that ppl with browner skin r not liked as much etc...but then u say things like whiter skin is nasty or that models etc., mostly r brown...bcos U feel the browner/tanner ones r more beautiful...i still think it just comes down to preference...and i think the whole mums look for fairer daughter-in-laws stuff is somewot exaggerated. True, some r like that...but i don't think it's as common as it was before...in fact i think that today, prospective in-laws look for other things more, for instance how educated she is and how much money she makes. Like i said in my earlier post, it's just like how some ppl r more attracted to women with blonde hair, or some like black hair...some like green eyes, whereas some like brown...so let's just stop saying one shade of skin colour is "better" or "nicer" than the other...bcos everyone has their own taste...nothing wrong with being fair skinned, and nothing wrong with being tanned or brown/dark skinned...we all have something beautiful about us...and Inshallah we will find someone who appreciates r own unique colour...whether light or dark.
Kashmiri, I don't think anybody said it's better to be dark. What was said with reference to models is that it is becoming more socially acceptable for desi girls to be brown instead of fair and that models on t.v. as well as actresses like Maria Wasti and a whole bunch of others you see on ARY/GEO are helping breaking that barrier. Five to ten years ago, you would rarely have seen a dark girl in any Pakistani drama. Thank God this is changing and people are being shown more realistically, even though they are still wearing ten pounds of make up .... you can still see brown skin.
You will be surprised how big of a role it still plays in society, although it isn't as bad as it was before and I do believe t.v./documentaries and talking about this issue is helping break down this dark skin taboo. Just speak to any aunty and mostlikely you will hear being fair is on her wish list for her bahu ... but the sons don't really care. Things are changing, slowly, but changing nonetheless.
hay i was given a lot of crap cos i merely suggested, i like fairish skin with dark hair, it attracts me. doesnt mean dark skin is unattractive or ugly, or even that i dont like dark skin. just like someone said, its just a matter of personal preference. Some like dark eyes, other light, some love blonde hair, some love black, some like tanned skin, some lighter. You shouldv seen the reactions here. get out of ur complexes people. Everyones beautiful in their own way. and its always the overall package that makes one attractive. A gori chamri alone aint gona take u nowhere.
MehnazQ, not in those exact words, but it seems it was implied. Anyway, i just think it's something that everyone seems to jump up and feel sorry for ppl with dark skin. Hey i come from a mixed family, half of us r quite fair and the others r tanned/dark...so i can certainly understand both sides...but seriously, i don't think that thesedays, ppl look so much into colour of skin when looking for a daughter-in-law. And if some aunties do, then o well...that is their preference. Wot's so bad if they like lighter skin, i'm sure they look at their features and personality too. But it is wrong, if their sons don't like the fair skin...bcos they r the ones who have to spend their lives together! I agree it is still changing so that's good. Maybe asians in general have always liked light skinned ppl just like, as a whole, other races have their preferences of beauty too but of course not every person in that race is gona think alike. Today, i see ppl not liking fair skin bcos i duno it's not "in" or doesn't look healthy etc...and also some ppl not liking dark skin...so both types of ppl r gona face others not liking them...bcos not everyone has the same taste. We shud all just like wot we like, without having to justify it yea.
why do u think junaid jamshed never sang abt kaalis..he had a song abt goris & sanwallis but not kallis...i tell ya ladies...stock up on fair & lovely...!