erm, most of the lads in my family are pretty tall. My brother is 5"10 and hes only 14 mashallah mashallah. Then you have my sister who is only five foot
But to be fair, shes the shortest desi girl I know. (what was the point again)
what are u talking about? a tan not only makes the skin look healthier but also more sculpted.
i feel that appeal-wise, the world is moving towards a more not-fair-but-not-too-dark complexion. something like Jessica alba's complexion. its beautiful, tanned and glowing.
I agree. On the Pakistani side, sanwali women are started to be shown more realistically, like Maria Wasti, no caked on white foundation … it seems to be slowly becoming acceptable.
Has anybody watched that Indian drama ‘Saath Phere’? It’s basically about this super dark girl who can’t get any rishtas or genuine marriage proposals cause of her looks. It’s quite sad and some what realistic cause you know there are people out there with that kind of mentality.
i heard of that drama. yeah there are still alot of people out there that think this way. every society sets standards of beauty, in pakistan a few are long straight hair and fair skin, light eyes are a plus. as with every society these standards usually are mostly unfavorable for women since im sure alot of you might have seen guys that arent exactly model-type demand wives/gfs that are like ashwarya. and as usual it is women that are each other’s biggest enemy, from the nitpicking saas (mom in law) to the college girls that discuss the latest product from fair and lovely.
i personally have met aunties that found dulhans for their sons and proudly claimed how gori (never mind that they were illiterate/zero personality) their bahus were. i’ve noticed women watch some drama and when criticising a woman who they think is ugly the usual words that come out are “ai hai yeh kitni kaali kaali churail hai”
Agree with Mehnaz. Most of our top models are not white either and they look beautiful and thank God they do not have to be dipped in white paint before they hit the runway.
Nida_1 its usually mothers and sons who want a show-piece that care for complexions alone, for more sensible people its the entire package not just white skin. Unfortunately our people are quite pejudiced, where even their own whiter child takes priority over the darker one. Its another thing to desire what u don;t have e.g. gori's wanting to tan, they certainly prefer tanned skin but at the same time they do not discriminate against those untanned. In Pakistan and south east asia masha Allah sey we see discrimination against the dark which is sad.
Dark/fair skin, I guess its a complex issue. Asians need to get out of this narrow minded pathetic circle. People should be thankful they have eyes ears and a mouth. I was just reading an article about a woman who had her whole face destroyed by a fire. She was also one of those women who excessively looked down upon not so beautiful people. When you you hear something like that it just makes you thank ALLAH that you are normal. Colour is so overrated.
Aishwarya is no model!
I dunno why in a society where people might have such ideals will find a bhangan like ash beautiful when she can come clean my toilet for all you care!