Cousin marriages - ghar ki murghi??

My earlier post said clearly that if there is no bad gene then what is the matter if cousins marry hundreds of generations? How much more clear can that be?

If there is genetic disease in the family then they must be tested like anyone or not be married like any other couple.

I guess the water example did not work either!

Your last sentence is absolutely correct.

argh people, do a little bit of research before running your mouths. passing a genetic disorder or disease is not the main issue with marrying your cousin…when it happens from generation to generation, the main issue is FERTILITY, and yes that in itself is proven. Even from our religion we know that marrying within families means that you’re passing on weaker genes. and yes, like some other people here said, Islam allows it, but it does NOT encourage marrying within the family.

this isnt exactly a scientific study, but amongst my mom’s cousins (but not within her own immediate family), cousin marriages are extremely common…its to the point thatit happens in that part of the family at least 3-4 generations in a row. The main issue has been fertility…many of them can’t get pregnant, or get pregnant after several several years of marriage. When they did have kids, all of them have problems…not downs syndrome or anything like that, but one of has osteoporosis at the age of 12, another has a disorder where her speech is incomprehensible and she doesnt know how to interact with others, another one of them was in the hospital for a reason that the parents wouldn’t say. Another cousin marriage just occurred in that part of the family and the bechari bride got pregnant and had a miscarriage after a few months.

I got this from zawaj.com, it says:
“However, it is reprehensible so as to safeguard the health of the children. It has been narrated that Caliph Omar Bin Khattab (may Allah be pleased with him) saw an Arabian tribe called Banu Al-Sayeb whose bodies were very weak and emaciated because they used to marry their kins. Caliph Omar told them to marry strangers.”

ZAWAJ.COM: Articles and Essays

Re: Cousin marriages - ghar ki murghi??

I personally don't see anything wrong with marrying a cousin. I think its more of a choice too. Maybe if I liked someone from my cousins, I would've married them but just because I didn't and married someone outside my family or even culture, I don't think marrying your own cousin is wrong. However, my dad has emphasized on one thing a lot, its best to marry outside your own family. No not because of weird reason people give, because its a good way to expand your family.

I found this little para online which kinda explains my point.

The Islamic view is that while marriage between cousins is permissible, it is preferable to choose a marriage partner from outside one's family. We have to distinguish between what is permitted and what is advocated. Some clans restrict marriages to amongst their kin only – a practice far from what is advocated. It is worth stressing here that when marriage of cousins is repeated over several generations, they are bound to have more effects on children.

By permitting such marriages Islam does not encourage them. It advocates the cementing of social relations through marriages between totally unrelated families.

The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) once told one of his Companions to choose a wife from a tribe different to his, and then to choose for his son a wife from a third tribe, and to seek for his second son a girl from yet another tribe.

Preferring this course of action, Islam nevertheless permits marriage between cousins because it meets a social need.”

source: Islamicity.com <<

I agree with this.

For the OP, if you did marry your own cousin why are you ashamed?? Its upto you to tell whoever asks about your marriage but you don't have to. You married him and you don't owe anyone any explanations.

clan and family are two different things..

Diwana, a sad illustration of the issue of generations of inter-marriage is the Ashkinazis. They've intermarried for centuries and are now all but completely infertile. When they are able to procreate, it many times ends in miscarriage or defects.

I'm not bashing cousin marriage. But knowing the difference between myth and truth is important when considering your future generations.

pakistanis do not ti think care about later generations much really..

they just think about the immediate situation and themselves really..

no offense intended to any1

really?

To me Pakistani think TOO MUCH of their later generation so much that they keep working, earning and saving for them and forget that they TOO have a life and they should enjoy it just like other people (read gora sahab) do.

Jitnee fiker Pakistanioon ko apney bachooon kee education kee hotee hai kisi ko nahee hote. Bacha class main 2nd aya tu aur ghar k ker bata k "baba I came 2nd" tu normally 2nd question hota hai "1st keyun nahee ayee?"

Indeed sad. At one time when genetics were not known but diseases were present with early death of children or other complications, they did have intermarriages.

Recently there was a news that in Pakistan three children of one couple are blind. Not sure if this is related to genes or other causes. That couple should not have had more children after the first one untill the reason was identified or treated. Again not sure if it was genetic and not known if this was an intermarrriage.

Hence these days if there is known or suspected familial disease, then couples should be tested. Like anyone.

Yes, myth anf truth need to be separated. And this cousin marriages issue has many more myths than few truths attached.

One cannot overemphasize the need for education and awareness in this matter.

Don't get me wrong people!!! My husband has a great personality and isn't too bad looking but it's just that when he attempts to speak English...I have to try hard not to burst out laughing.

I know....I should get a life.

^^^^ya u should really!

If its in light way and he laughs with you too.....there is nothing wrong with it ... try to differentiate b/w laughing AT someone or laughing WITH someone..

yeah like i said they care about themselves..their OWN family..IMMEDIATE FAMILY..not what going ot happen to their great grand kids..

and how do you suggest they do this?

buddy..the topic..did u forget?..theyll marry their closest cousin if thats what htey want..they dont care that three gnerations down the road the kids will come out mutated by abnormal genetic disroders..or that htere is a high risk of this haappeneing..

I'm quite certain having children with your cousin does lead to disability. It *is *like incest. Hence why its illegal in UK. Also my dads cousin, She married her cousin her *husbands parents are also cousins, And his parents are also cousins. *One out of 3 of her kids has some kind of problems also, What they are i am not aware of. However the *doctor *told my dads cousin if one of her kids marrys their cousins they *will *have disability problems, No doubt about it.
So yes there *is *alot of problems marrying cousins. Thats why i am totally against it, Its not fair on the kids.

Back to the original topic, The accent you cant do nothing about, My dads been here for 30+ years and still has a accent. My uncles/auntys all have a range of the typical pakistani accent mixed with scouse/manc. It cant be helped. You have to just accept it. I think its rather distasteful that you laugh when he talks, And quite rude. Poor guy! However you are lady Muck aint you! Im sure non asian people laugh at you for quite frankly *being *pakistani.

^It's not illegal in the UK.

It does not lead to disability unless there is heredity disease or defective gene and even then it takes more than one generation of cousin marriage for this to come out.

I wish people would know their facts before making statements.

^it doesnt take more than one generation of cousin marriages for a heriditary disease to come out. For example, if two cousins with the genes for hemophilia marry, chances are, it would come out in their kids in some form or another.

And theres no need for a tantrum, If you wanna marry your uncles/aunties son/daughter, Go ahead If you want inbred children, No ones stopping you.

@fasaadi - But in that case it would most likely be known that they carry hemophilia. Also, what are the chances of cousins whose parents weren't related before marriage to even both carry the hemophilia gene?
If people have a known heredity disease in the family, then that's another thing. Otherwise it will usually take more than one generation of cousin marriage to come out.

It was never illegal and they didn’t make it legal just for Pakistani’s.

You can’t change facts to suit your opinion.

You don’t like it, don’t do it.

http://www.hgc.gov.uk/client/Content.asp?ContentId=741

"One recent media report estimated that British Pakistanis were 13 times more likely to have children with genetic disorders than the general population. Taken out of context, this figure implies that ALL British Pakistanis are equally at risk irrespective of marriage patterns, and fails to clarify that the risk relates specifically to recessive genetic disorders which can arise in cousin marriages. Other types of genetic conditions, including chromosomal abnormalities, sex-linked conditions and autosomal dominant conditions are not influenced by cousin marriage.
The absolute risk to first cousins having a child with a recessive genetic condition is about three in every 100 births, unless they have a family history of an autosomal recessive disorder, in which case the risk may be higher. "

For unrelated couples, the absolute risk is 2%.

Again, risk increases with more than one generation practising cousin marriage. This is where the problem comes in because families where you usually find cousin marriage, it’s not a one off and the parents are probably somehow related too. But for a one off cousin marriage, the risk is not much higher (unless there is a known condition) than an unrelated couple.

For the record I am against cousin marriage (or even same ‘caste’ or whatever you want to call it) as the first or preferred choice. People should marry based on more personal factors such as compatibility. But there is no need for disinformation.