Country’s first autism centre, Braille printing press opened

A good start by Sindh Government. Such centers should be opened all over Pakistan. I think millions of kids un-diagnosed due lack of awareness in Pakistan suffer from Autisim and need immediate help.

**Country’s first autism centre, Braille printing press opened

KARACHI: The Sindh government on Tuesday opened the country’s first autism centre and Braille printing press at its special education complex.

Special Assistant to Sindh Chief Minister on Human Rights and Special Education Rehana Leghari inaugurated the twin establishments. She termed the autism centre as the country’s first such state-of-the-art government facility.

The two institutions were inaugurated at a formal event organised by the provincial special education department during which the officials spoke about the milestone Sindh has achieved.

Ms Leghari distributed hearing aids donated by the human rights department among hearing-impaired children and awarded certificates to the employees who received training regarding operating the Braille printing press.

She said by establishing the autism centre and installing the Braille printing press, the government made Sindh the first province which would provide education and training to children suffering from autism through modern means.

“It is heartening to see we have achieved something that no other province in the country had [done] so far. Now, we are able to offer modern means to our children who required them for long,” she said.

She added that books for special children would be affordable.

She referred to increasing noise pollution, which was amongst the major health and environmental issues in society.

She added that the menace was one of the chief causes behind loss of hearing ability.

She told the gathering that civilised societies provided and took better care of special people by imparting them good education and training for skill development to help them earn livelihoods.

“One such example showing good intent has been set today. Rest assured [it] is the priority of the Sindh government to make our society healthier.”

Re: Country’s first autism centre, Braille printing press opened

Really appreciated if it going to function properly. Autism is something that need lot of awareness in our society . I dont know the reason but it is spreading and our society need to be aware so as to handle it.

Atleast if our society can not reduce burden of the parents / kids having autism atleast not to increase it…

achay paisay mil jayen gy human rights k naam pe goron se. bohat he besharm hain priorities dekho haramkhoron ki.
Meanwhile in badin

I didnt get your point. Do you beleive that this step of having autism centre is wrong ???

funds khanay ka bahana hai bas, ye feudals itnay “enlightened” nahi hain.

I am not talking about the condition of education sector in sindh, we know that is in bad condition, but where is political will shown by so called “only hope” or so called energetic new chief minister, to fix the issues reported by media?

As soon as incumbent Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah took charge last July he declared an education emergency in the province to improve the quality of education and implement the Article 25-A to provide free and high-quality education to everyone till 16 years of age. To work seamlessly after the education emergency, the education and literacy department was bifurcated into the college and schools education departments with a separate secretary for each.
Despite such a huge change in the department, the fate of the many projects in the budget books has seen no changes.

Education system in Sindh remains broken due to lack of political will | News Lens Pakistan
In his paper on Post-Devolution Status of Education in Sindh, the Director of Pakistan Study Centre at Karachi University, Prof. Dr. Jaffar Ahmad, attributed the bad management of education sector to the lack of political will.

The Sindh government roughly spends 21 per cent of its budget on education. In 2013-14, it has kept Rs118 billion for education out of a Rs617 billion outlay. According to Sindh Education Information Management System’s 2011-12 data, there are 50,494 primary, elementary, secondary and higher secondary schools in 23 districts with a total enrolment of 4.33 million children. Of these schools, 91 per cent are primary schools claiming 73.6 per cent of the provincial education budget. This is the area where over 7,000 ghost and closed schools exist and teachers draw salaries without performing their duties.

khairat aor zakat to tumhari party ko bhi miltai hay, danga fasaad karanay ke liay. You did not get the message. Millions of Pakistani kids are suffering from this disease and private organizations are too expensive for poor people to send their kids for rehabilitation to these centers. It is federal government job to provide such facilities all over Pakistan for poor who can not afford.

dramaybazi

I am not deying u. funds to they are already eating … atleast naam ka idarah to bun gaayaaa. Allah karey koi imandaar incharge bun jayee. I dont know u r have idea of the suffering of Autism or not.
As I told earlier , awareness is very very important . Once ppl get awareness specially lower class . They will treat their kids . LAck of awareness makes these poor kids looks as if they are pagal. which is very very sad.
Early intervention is the key that can give exponential improved results compare to delayed work.

btw, how many grown autistic people do we see in our society, guess?

Are you a doctor and do you know what the signs of autism are?

Anti-corruption is one thing but tanqeed barai tanqeed is stupid.

lolz what a stupid question. Other two members already know it. Only me has to be doctor to understand symptoms of autism.
When you dont know what is autism shadyanay kis cheez k baja rhay ho?

You should read about autism if you are ‘literate’. Decade ago in Pakistan no one knew about this phenomenon. The way you are arguing here stupidly perhaps you yourself suffering from autism but don’t know about it. Get a medical help.

I asked because I know kids who have autism.

This is not usual topic for lahori chawwali.

Iss lahori Jamatiya ko sindh ki tarqi hazam nahi hogi… topic ko ayen baye shayen kar kay baqi tamam daram dikha dey ga…

^^ Last I heard, a larger part of sindh is devoid of clean drinking water and many kids and adults dying due to shortage or no water access to their areas. While if with good intention, the autism centre is not a bad idea but what about all the pakistanis living in sindh dying because of no drinking water because the sindh ministers and leaders cant be bothered to lift their eyes from their full plates to look at that suffering population & provide them access to clean drinking water. Considering the facts and ground realities of sindh and attitudes of the ministers and leaders of sindh towards those existing basic problems faced by the common people, centre for autism seems to be just another way of adding to the pockets of those incharge of this project from top to bottom.

Besides, I did not know there were so many austism cases in pakistan. Personally, I saw one single case during my life time where this kid of a Pakistani family was diagnosed. But this Pakistani family & their ancestors were based overseas. Only visited Pakistan every few years. I saw that kid during one of their trips to Pakistan. That kid was being treated abroad where the family lived (one of the wealthiest countries in the world) but died after a few years.

Shortage of food and drinking water is not limited to Sindh only. It is spread all over Pakistan. I don’t understand why you are objecting to a very genuine problem and its possible solution? The denial that only you have seen one family suffering is kind of stupid. I say hundreds and thousands of people particularly poor children are suffering from this disease with no awareness or denial like yours. A good start in this direction by the government should be appreciated as limited private centers are too expensive for people to access and afford it. Get acquaintance with the problem and see how it is serious.

350,000 children suffer from autism in Pakistan

altaf ghaddar k chamchay, keeranchi main ha to acha hi hoga.

Bachon ko peeenay ka saaf pani do na do, autism zaroor check karo. haramkhor policy.

You mean this kind of problem is spread all over Pakistan?

1.5 million Pakistanis have no drinking water while the sindh ministers and leaders enjoy their expensive imported hard drinks in and outside of Pakistan. Telling others to get acquainted with a problem when you yourself dont have a clue what no access to drinking water problem I was referring to. And where do you see me ‘denying’ or ‘objecting’ to autism centre? Did you care to read my post or the typical paki jahalat blinded you to make you jump to fire the gun in ignorance?

Are you by any chance related to someone involved in this project?