Cost of weddings

Re: Cost of weddings

They surely are competing hard for your medals Sweetmoi :rolleyes: It’s a tight race - needless to say absurd. Jaise zyada ya kaam kharch karne se in ke liye jannat ke darwaze is wajah se hi kholne wale hain :hehe:

I knew it was coming up.

@Reha. You should’ve said airbus 380. :cb:

I don't remember the exact amount but not much, there was no jahez neither my parents gave nor my inlaws asked n in 5 years kabhi koi tana nhi mila, very limited clothes n shoes mum n mil said "bazar bhi yahin han tum bhi yahin ho jasay jasay zarort ho gi le lena".

there was a mehndi wth just immediate friends n family and one reception hosted by my parents n in laws combined no separate barat and valima ,I got copy of karma dress for my reception hardly 20k at tht time though I was sad at tht time wth all these things but now I think it was good there was no burden on both families.

my dadi used to say to mum " bhaly waqt mei shadi kr de"

Maybe not jannat, but GS fantasy is open. Drive thru with Ferrari :smiley:

if possible plz share pics of any previous wedding from your family if not bride n groom , share décor I want to see professionally organized wedding

sirf degree nhi sahee education :cb:

so whats wrong with having a lowcost wedding unless someone is lying about it. i don’t recall anyone pushing others to follow suit

If a guppy guppan get’s married, we’ll use that plane to travel with baraat.

with the sponsor of BSB.

Get him to do something like this

Volvo Trucks - The Epic Split feat. Van Damme (Live Test 6) - YouTube

This is a very typical desi thing to say and I can just hear it coming out of a very overweight uncle with a huge moonch.

They’re high horses…so high you can’t touch and proud of it.

One day, when you have four daughters and people start to make unreasonable demands on your finances out of pure greed, you might get it. Until then, you cannot understand why spending less can make someone proud.

Aur jab larki walay saadgi pe insist karte hein…I can see why and even expect it. But to find a guy’s family who is also on the same page like proto’s…its beautiful to me. Her brother is probably really proud that he didn’t burden his wife’s family. Mashallah.

And that's a very typical response from you as always.

You may spend less or more on your wedding, I could care less. The money is not coming from my pocket after all. It's one thing to be proud of something and another when that proudness develops into a "holier than thou" attitude that isn't helping anyone much in this thread.

I'm not saying one should spend over their capibility but if someone wants to have an extravagant wedding - there's no need to look down upon them as if they're infecting the society or something and vice versa (in regards to spending less.)

In regards to your last comment about proto's brother - I've seen engagements fall apart because the guy's family insisted on saadgi and at the same time I've seen the long list for bari items, not forgetting all the threads we have on GS, about how extravagant and elaborate the bari needs to be.

Everything is not so black and white.

Yes, they are not giving jahaiz to my bhabi which is completely OK. Our family did not ask for it. However, parents who can afford do end up giving it in my family and extended family with their own happiness…

Arzi, I am just shocked at the fact that following a low cost wedding ritual is being made into a desi thing ! And if someone is trying to explain the benefits of it, they are being labelled with a "holier than thou" attitude !

Surely , if someone has a good face and calls themselves hot , no one likes it. Similarly if someone has the money and flaunts it the wrong way, it cant be right or even moral , in my view.

People who are doing something for the betterment of society and for bigger masses, should be applauded for being part of the right trend. They are doing the right thing and for that , they cant be judged against for being holier.

Chill Out people.

I haven't called a low cost wedding a desi thing. I called it a desi thing to not let people do what they want regardless of how much they want to spend. Yes I know BSB is up in everyone's face with her numbers but if that's what she wants, then let it be. If she wants to believe she can afford it, then what's the problem? Why is it more right to have a low cost wedding compared to an extravagant? I do feel it becomes a holier than thou attitude when people think what they're doing is right and what everyone else is doing is wrong. If someone wants to carry the financial burden of an extravagant wedding that should be their headache. Or is it because everyone must compete with each other hence we must all follow the same trend?

BSB was your brothers wedding in Pakistan? Because if it was in the US...the 200K really isn't soo outrages. I decent hotel without decorations and food charges $35 per person...times that 500-600 guest (a big family, and inviting everybody your parents knowns, girls knows, guys side etc...) that $17500 just for the ballroom. Add another 10K for food, 10-15k for decorations ...that arounds to almost 50K...now this is a breakdown for one event. Then their is mehndi, house function, gift, gold, clothes ...list goes on.

Okay l see some misunderstandings perhaps because of my joke :/ ..

Reha believes everyone should have low cost weddings. That way there will be low social pressure etc. on a new couple and girls families. (if i understood well)

Arzi believes everyone should have the wedding they think they can afford without being mocked whether its low cost or extravagant. (Yes Desi likes to compete. excusing ur lacking desi interaction.:P)

You're both right. :)

No , not pointing at any member. I spoke about a concept that didnt fare very well with many members here and compared it with another concept .

Anyways, I think the problem begins when the burden of an extravagent wedding doesnt stay confined to the ones that want it and do it and the fall back of it starts spilling into the general society and then it starts becoming a trend and ending up as a requirement and a norm of the society.

For example, dowry, while it should very much be a personal decision of the parents how much to give or even not going down that route. Its no longer a decision in desi society , that parents of the girl make. Its a decision that either "log kia sochain gai" mind set makes or the grooms family makes! Therefore , when those who stand up and say , we will not accept dowry , are seen with immense respect because they are standing up against a wrong norm.

I take extravagance of wedding functions in the same light. Its no different actually. For some who can afford it, why should it become a huge headache for many others who see people struggling in their lives to meet the standards set by a bunch of show offs?

And that's where we fail as a society unfortunately. Why do gorey people not have this problem? Because they understand 'each to his own' - Everyone does their own thing for their weddings without pointing fingers at anyone else. You would never hear anyone of them saying "oh no did you hear they only had 54 guest" or "did you hear they had 600 guests, such show offs"..

I do understand what you're saying, Chicken Biryani. But for me comparing dowry and extravagant weddings is like comparing apples and oranges. Dowry is a greedful act while the 'desire' for an extravagant wedding isn't, IMO.