How much did your wedding cost?

Re: Cost of weddings

0 $

Cost of weddings

Appx $25,000....in 1998

$1500, in 1996

Do u mean just the wedding party or the whole shabang? (jewelery,clothes, jahez)

$1200 two weeks ago

mashallah mubarik ho...reha

Oh wow, really. Congrats!

Our wedding is in about a month InshAllah but costs look something like this:

• our Nikkah cost about $6-$7k.

• from my parents side, costs will be about $50,000. That includes my parents furnishing our new home here.

• from hubby's side, costs are through the roof. His family has gone to great lengths to ensure a perfect wedding with them even arranging accommodation for guests on my side of the family at a 5 star hotel. That alone is $10,000 for the duration of the wedding. Then there are my dresses (all high end designer including my wedding dresses from HSY which are in the vicinity of 12-13 lakh). My jewellery is (typically) huge and over the top (as is common in desis) and one set alone was $12,000.00. There are multiple sets and bangles.

The reception is for 500 plus people so I can't even begin adding up how much that will cost along with the mehndi.

Mubarkan Reha.

Around $ 32000 in 2011

Thank you guys :blush:

Still paying for my third one.

Hence,

scared of doing fourth time. :(

:flowers:

Nice. Congratulations Reha on the wedding! :k:

Cost of weddings

Lol I just asked my mom and she was surprised I'm asking this but she said between $40,000-$70,000

Thanks guys! :hugz:

I smell khattay angoor in this thread…:cb:

Cost of weddings

It all depends on how much you want or have to spend on the wedding. You can spend an unlimited amount, if you want and the list of items that you could buy is endless but on the other hand you can stick to a budget that suits you and your family. I have been to very lavish weddings and also weddings that have been done in mosques, Mashallah. Neither of these marriages are less or more worthy then the other.

It depends on the choices you and your families make. The venue, food, outfit, jewellery, gifts can all be done on all budgets. The most important factor is the couple getting married and their happiness. You can spend $$$$€€£££ but what it boils down to is the nikkha and the understanding of the couple. All the best. Xx

I did not want an extravagant wedding and we didn't, phir bhi manhoos $40k lag Gaye. Weddings are such a waste of money.

This is true.

I have memorized the "humari izzat khaak mein mil jayegi tumhari saadgi ke chakkar mein" lecture...(and they're not wrong...its hard to explain to desi people) it took about 3 weeks of convincing and sticking to the guns but it happened Alhumdulillah. The most important thing is what the couple wants and how they feel happy doing things...weddings are beautiful on any scale but its important to identify what you want versus what is being expected from you.