Cost of weddings

Re: Cost of weddings

Around $40K in 2012 (and this includes hubby renting a Rolls Royce for the end of the day for us to leave in and wearing an Italian suit. No designer dresses for me though...my clothes were actually bought by my mom, I didn't even see it. just told her what I wanted. I don't care for bridal designers, they are all too flashy for me). We cut down on a lot of other details though, and it was mostly because of the number of guests that the cost was high. Husband and I both fought hard to cut down on the guest list but parents were being parents. We only had 2 events though, even our valima was just a small dinner with close family and I did my own makeup and wore just a simple sari.

But I did want the reception to be nice. Not extravagant, no tall centerpieces or too decked up stage. But still wanted it to be like a wedding. I actually did my own centerpieces and they were cost effective AND adorable. My bff did my mehndi and makeup and hair on mehndi day. So I did save up a lot in other areas and in the end most of the money did go away because of the # of guests. Oh well.

Anyway, I personally feel there should be a happy medium. $1500 is too low and $100K is too high imo.

Oh and, congratulations Reha!! :)

What is paindo? A person from village?

$15,000 in 2011 (including mayoon, mehendi, nikkah, waalima, clothes, jewelry, etc)… it was not lavish but it was decent and we did not get broke as a result of it. Everything was perfect other than decor and our wedding video/album. We got ripped off in those two areas. Ohhh and I sort of wish I had gotten my makeup done for the wedding b/c I did it myself and it was too stressful.

Yes...we can all see your taste...but do you actually know your taste?

THANK YOU. jeez. some people like nice weddings. like some people like nice houses or nice cars or nice watches or nice vacations

or maybe they just want a nice reception with nice clothes and food…and…yea…

like when you go to go to work you wanna be well put together

or when you’re invited to some event and need to dress up…

for some people the actual event is a really memorable thing…so when they look back 2-30 years later…maybe they wanan see a nice visual representation of the feelings and emotions everyone was sharing.

there is nothing wrong with looking good and nice and spending :rolleyes:

Don't tell me, even the people who born outside Pakistan knows what it is.

jesus christ, it's ok for a prom to be a big deal...BUT BIG DESI WEDDINGS...the world comes to an end

splurge on sephora makeup and you're so cool and hip

love shoes..and you're so damn sexy

accessorize well...and you're so creative

have a good taste in clothes...you're so elegant

have a taste for good food/eating out...you're adventurous

but wanting to put all that together on your wedding day....you must be crazy

c'mon, how old are you?? you do realize there is world outside yours? and people with varying views exist????

I really don't know. Please tell me!

I just don't understand why are people making a big deal if you spend money with an open heart in your wedding? That day comes once in your lifetime. You completely make sense to me philosophy!

stop trynna troll me.

do not take my posts as a defense for you.

yes, people compliment and ask for my suggestions on clothes and jewelry all the time. I was asked to open up my own clothing line in my company but I refused! Honestly, I don't care about what you virtual people think about my taste. I am comfortable with it.

Ok, against my better judgement, I'm going to try to make some sense out this ridiculous thread:

On page 1, post 9, mzprincess88 made this post:

Our wedding is in about a month InshAllah but costs look something like this:

• our Nikkah cost about $6-$7k.

• from my parents side, costs will be about $50,000. That includes my parents furnishing our new home here.

• from hubby's side, costs are through the roof. His family has gone to great lengths to ensure a perfect wedding with them even arranging accommodation for guests on my side of the family at a 5 star hotel. That alone is $10,000 for the duration of the wedding. Then there are my dresses (all high end designer including my wedding dresses from HSY which are in the vicinity of 12-13 lakh). My jewellery is (typically) huge and over the top (as is common in desis) and one set alone was $12,000.00. There are multiple sets and bangles.

The reception is for 500 plus people so I can't even begin adding up how much that will cost along with the mehndi.

Not one single person here quoted her, laughed at her, scolded her or even commented on the post because she was answering the question as stated, is well known in the wedding forum, has been sharing details and asking for tips, advice and help for months now. It's her wedding, her family's money, their choice. No one here seems to have a problem with it.

BSB, you and the other hand, burst back on the scene after 2 years, with one outlandish, exaggerated and crazy thread after another. And you seem to be perpetuating the stereotypes that extravagance and buying things are the only way to secure happiness or a future for daughters. That is that some of us all are reacting too, plain and simple.

It's not personal..no one is making voodoo dolls (i hope!) with your nick or nazar lagaying your plans. Allah SWT tumko aur dain. Ameen.

, !

Yeah I kinda agree with you hear, the reason why people may be attacking her could be because of the way she first posts problems and then when people are giving her a solution or opinion she turns on them saying how can you say my fiancee is like that and what not. Then everyone's reaction ends up being "huh, wait a minute you just asked me for advice because that your husband wants you to wear certain clothes that you're not comfortable with and when we tell you that he shouldn't force and then she ends up telling us off for it"

Regarding the cost of weddings, like I said before it shouldn't matter what anyone spends as long as they don't go into debt. We shouldn't judge those who spend less or those who spend more.

well said. Just because you can afford to waste doesn't mean you should. Post of the thread, IMO.

Lesson learnt to make everyone happy

1-Have an extravagant wedding
2-Have a simple nikah at masjid with family and close pals
3-Have a moderate well planned wedding with friends and family attending.
4- Have a destination wedding

Any ladies looking for a dude for a destination wedding? (And obviously paying for it...)Possibly machu pichu or Great Wall of China?

I am 75% single.

Love

X2

PS: by paying for it I meant the destination wedding not the dude

PS2: in a second thought, how much were you thinking of paying for the dude..

I need to become liberal in few matters so I am being flexible about it. How is it going to impact me since my beliefs are different? Here is an example: What if a guy wants to change your dressing style? What if he wants you to wear clothes with more exposure? Is he is trying to show you off or what? I thought men don't want their women to be looked at.... lol

Where did I say that he is forcing me? I just wanted to know his point of view if it is normal to expect that from your wife since he is liberal. He does love my dressing and style which he has told me many times. Don't try to manipulate my words.