Cost of weddings

Re: Cost of weddings

I didn't partake in anything because I was busy but I did make sure the wedding was outdoors and the cake was vanilla. Thats all I cared about. And no desi food!

I really don't care how much someone wants to spend on their wedding. Spend it all! Just don't do the 2 hour long speeches.

And congrats Reha!

35/head at a hotel?? That's honestly crazy. With food, that's like 50 bucks per person, and most people do not give 50 dollars in gift money.

How much do you think can be recovered in gifts?

That’s average believe it or not! I paid $55 per head and that was in 2010. Jaan nikal rahi thii check likhte huye. :mad:

35/head is actually on the lower end...

People generally do give 50 at least. Except for regifters that regift big Mikasa serving bowls. Nowadays its common to ask for "no gift boxes"

A friend was telling me she planned another girl's wedding for 5K total. They designed everything, I guess got stuff from Michael's on clearance, etc.

I guess you just have to forgo the Marriot or Hyatt with a waterview honeymoon suite. I'm sure the honeymoon suites will cost a crapload.

If you don't do it at a Hotel, or a Masjid, what are the in-between options? Chinese Buffets?

Sajal I agree with you. I’m not discounting anyone’s right to spend as much or as little as they please. My problem is with the notion set forward in this thread that high quality only comes from spending $$$$$$ and parents must buy there daughters security.

dude that’s nothing! You won’t believe how much The Fairmont, Anatole and other upper crest hotels charge :hayaa:

These days, $50-$100 is the expected gift amount.

Even the favorite go-to desi restaraunt/banquet room charges minimum $19/pp. The other banquet facility is closer to $25/pp.

Congratulations Reha on the wonderful news!

Yeah I know what you mean and my post wasn't directed at you, I was just talking in general.

I never used the word "rich" for myself... A person needs to be rich in character and values toh baat banti hai... Look, how this thread is transforming into discussing about extravagant weddings... People are discussing from their personal experiences how they end up paying $55 per head in 2010. We are talking about 2014 here people so please let the couple and their families choose the way they like it... Don't be hating on us if we don't like simple weddings for ourselves.

I am sorry but I do see a big difference in designer clothing that contains style, fashion, stitching, embroidery, and right process to do something..

Nobody is blindly paying people for crap! Yes, you can save money in certain things such as decorations but not all components of wedding.

Would you take an Italian leather bag or Indian leather bag? I’d take the Italian because it has long last quality and better texture.

Please take a look at this:
Как делают обувь Louis Vuitton. Каждую пару вручную - YouTube](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-QzkaIfQfok)

You make no sense to me!.. Everyone has a budget so if they are happy with it. Let them be!

Thank you for believing on this person like some people weren't believing me about the 200K.

Don't worry BSB, people are just jealous that they can't do the 200k wedding. To put it in Reha's words, I see lots of khatty angoor in this thread.

Ignore the ones who are always hating on your awesomeness.

BSB,

I won’t make sense to you at all. Trust me.

So I guess the issue is basically why is marriage the focal point for girls? Why do we place so much importance on something that might or might not work out in the future? Something that needs such a large investment with no guarantees? And the ones who are spending the big bucks have probably already spent money on the smart stuff like pre-marital counseling, right?

The importance and emphasis we are placing on weddings is insane. Why is a dream wedding a dream? Why isn’t it a dream to make a difference in the world? What do we teach our girls? Is this the fairy tale we want for them?

A few years ago…there was a family in Pakistan who we helped. They needed money to get their daughter’s jahaiz furniture so she could get married. :hmmm: We sent the money but I don’t understand HOW that is a need or a family that is in need?

Luxury weddings don’t really make much of a statement and despite the money being spent in an effort to look different…they end up looking exactly the same as everyone else. The same smokey eye, the same hair, etc. Centerpieces high enough to obstruct the view of the people seated. A couple dance so the audience can bear witness to the endless amounts of love oozing from your eyes like a private joke no one understands. The doli that makes no sense.

And BSB, the idea of coming in a Ferrari when you can come in a timeless car actually suggest one of two things:

Money does not always guarantee taste

You have neither one at your disposal

Cost of weddings

I got nikaah'fied in november 2012 wedding in jan 2013

Our costs were around 20k venue food mehndi clothes (i have mashallah 5 sisters 1 bro) etc

Valima- 14k for their day event which my father in law paid for. Plus clothes jewellery costs.

I reckon if you add all the small costs we easily combined spent over 40k sigh at the time it didnt seem like alot when ur spreading ur costs out but its alot of money. I was the first and him the last to marry in our family so it was a big affair.

If i had the chance to do it again i would downsize the event. My sister is due to get married next year inshallah and wev already decided wer not going to have suxh a large event!

Classic aunty thing to do: tell a story of a couple who did everything wrong, whose marriage ended in divorce (was obvious for everyone to see, even the good-for-nothing parents saw it coming and of course predicted by the said aunty) and then conclude it with an eye-roll at the "log kya kahengay" epidemic within our community. "You" are the *laug *here, FYI.

Reha, I know my taste very well so pshhhhhhh....

Good point

Cost of weddings

Yes, yes…I am an “Aunty”…break out the Geritol, I wear my status with pride :blush:

So I don't get, whats so offensive about BSB's 200,000 $ wedding?

a. Its too lavish
b. She is paindoo
c. Sour grapes