Corps Commanders rejected Gen Musharraf's desire to leave his both posts.

A report by Kamran Khan (of Jang-group), one of the Journalists who was very upset about emergency and got affected a lot because of GEO ban. This report on the front page of Jang newspaper, the largest circulating newspaper of Pakistan and owner of GEO television, tells a lot about what is happening behind the doors.

According to newspaper, army was very unhappy about ‘NRO’ and was against BB getting blanket pardon. The statements of BB after she came back to Pakistan, calling USA to ban military and other aids to Pakistan, handing over AQ khan for interrogation by west, allowing USA to enter Pakistan to crush Taliban, made army more upset with her.

Senior Army and Pakistan intelligence officers also thinks that lawyer movement and Pakistan media reporting in CJ case were all a conspiracy by international powers to destroy Pakistan armed forces as institution.

Report by Kamran Khan also mentions that, according to most reliable recorded minutes of that meeting, coming from most reliable sources, at the end of October and beginning of November, in meeting with core commanders and principal staff officers, President Musharraf showed desire to leave his both offices, so that military and civilian balance can be obtained, but corps commanders rejected this desire of President. In the end it was decided that if everything goes well, army would stop meeting anyone from civil society other than there relatives and old friends.

http://www.jang.net/jm/11-23-2007/pic.asp?picname=1328.gif

Re: Core commanders rejected Musharraf desire to leave his both posts.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=270322

wow.

Interesting, does that indicate why BB+Musharraf marriage fell apart before beginning? It is good to hear that some military heads think right, does it also indicate that Musharraf does not take core commanders in confidence when making such decisions (NRO)?

Senior Army and Pakistan intelligence officers also thinks that lawyer movement and Pakistan media reporting in CJ case were all a conspiracy by international powers to destroy Pakistan armed forces as institution.

Yea yeah, conspiracy to destroy army... and army sticking to rule is not a conspiracy against Pakistan?

President Musharraf showed desire to leave his both offices, so that military and civilian balance can be obtained, but core commanders rejected this desire of President. In the end it was decided that if everything goes well, army would stop meeting anyone from civil society other than there relatives and old friends.
Is that when the emergency was decided by Musharraf (not necessarily in the meeting but seeing the approval/support from core-commanders for his actions and against civil society?

Oh, and nepotism does not exist in army.

Brother, my fault is that I only translated a few lines from that report for those who may not be able to read Urdu, else I could have just posted the site with that report :).

If you do not agree with that report and think that Kamran Khan has written wrong, than I think its best to write to Karmran Khan. His email address (as it was before GEO got banned) is: [EMAIL="[email protected]"][email protected] :)

And why would n’t Corps commanders oppose Musharraf giving up his army post?..haram ka jo mil raha hai itna. An average Major Gen. owns land worth Rs 20-25 crores and Lieutenant Gen. worth Rs30-35 crores these days…khoob guzray gee jab mil beth k khayingay hum sab, iss corruption k humaam mein sab hee nangay hein. The top brass of the military is equally corrupt. As long as they are having their ayaashi they are quite happy with Musharraf being at the helm. No wonder Mush was quick to ban Dr. Ayesha Siddiqa-Agha’s (a former civil servant who has a Ph.D from King’s College, London) book titled Military Inc.: Inside Pakistan’s Military Economy in Pakistan in which she reveals that a Pakistani General is worth Rs 500 million…apna pol jo khul raha tha.

Amazon.co.uk](Amazon.co.uk)
ie=UTF8&tag=microp-21&linkCode=as2&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=0745325459](Amazon.co.uk)
(the same publisher that published Musharraf’s ‘In the line of fire’)

You don’t have to take her findings word for word but remember the common adage, ‘there is never a smoke without a fire’

And she makes some very good recommendations re. stamping out corruption (which should btw apply to both corrupt Civilians and Generals)
Start a movement to oust the ARMY from political power.
Create a method to elect an honest leadership both in PPP, Muslim League, MQM, and other parties.
Have proper elections.
Control the asset distribution by the ARMY Mafia. A proper regulated system should be devised.
Control the Assets of the Fauji Foundation and open the books to proper audit.
Perks such as land, plot gifts should be controlled or perhaps banned.
Make laws of severe punishment for the Generals to stop them from taking political power and that their prime duty should be Defense ALONE.
Start investigations into the lootings by the Army Generals especially the Corps Commanders (including the millionaire Corps Commander Lahore who has benefited most recently).

online interview
(*(http://www.despardes.com/oscartango/080605.html) can’t unfortunately post the forum link)

A full General is worth Rs 500 million+
Dr. Ayesha Siddiqa is a scholar of Pakistan’s military and security affairs and a regular contributor to several Pakistani and internationally renowned opinion journals. Currently she is a fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC where she is busy writing her latest book “Military Inc, The Politics of Military’s Economy in Pakistan”. In it, she analyzes Pakistan military’s vast commercial interests and its economic predation since 1953.

Ayesha Siddiqa also writes on Pakistan’s military affairs for Jane’s Information Group. She was asked to work as the Director of Naval Research with the Navy making her the first civilian and woman to work at that position in the Pakistan defense establishment. She has a doctorate in War Studies from King’s College, London in 1996.

despardes.com’s Editor-in-Chief Irshad Salim conducted a two-part online interview with her on the subject of her upcoming book, Pakistan affairs and post 9/11 scenario.

irshadsalim28: So what is this book about?

asidd66: This book is about military business operations with a case study of Pakistan.

irshadsalim28: What about Bangladesh and India?

asidd66: Bangladesh has it too but not India

irshadsalim28: So what prompted you to write this book?

asidd66: I was a civil servant. During the course of my work I had to deal with numbers of military spending and doing that one slowly realized that a lot was hidden. It is the search for numbers that took me in this direction. The other thing is that it is essential to understand the dynamics of the institution that virtually controls Pakistan’s past, present and future.

irshadsalim28: Ok so who did you work for as a civil servant?

asidd66: I joined the civil service in 1988 and left in 2001. Served in military accounts, defense audit and later the navy.

irshadsalim28: Going back to Pak army biz, what are your findings?

asidd66: Several. First, the military has become predatory engaging in political and economic predation. Second, political predation is not complete without economic predation. Third, military has mutated into a separate class that shares interests with other members of the ruling elite. Finally, because the military protects its vested interests, it leads to alienation of the masses.

irshadsalim28: When did all this start?

asidd66: It dates back to the early 1950s. The business ventures were started with the establishing of the first foundation called the Fauji Foundation in 1953. This was established with the war veteran’s rehabilitation fund of Rs. 18 million.

irshadsalim28: Why do u consider forming Fauji Foundation a predatory step by the army?

asidd66: Listen you have to understand the concept. A politically strong entity that engages in political predation needs to feel economically or financially autonomous. This completes the picture of predation. The generals thought that they wanted to establish independent means of providing for their welfare and not depending on the civilians like it happened in India. The financial autonomy gradually created the logic for greater interest in political control.

irshadsalim28: Give me one or two instances when the 1953 move swirled into predation.

asidd66: It started right then with Ayub Khan and his cabal getting agricultural land and establishing independent means for themselves.
Look at Ayub Khan. He not only got several squares of agricultural land in Sindh, he also established his sons into business. Look at the entire lot of generals at the moment. a Major General has a legal worth of about Rs. 300 million. These are conservative estimates.

irshadsalim28: Going back to Pak army’s economic superpower…What percentage of the GDP and GNP is it?

asidd66: This is difficult to calculate but their own estimates are about 4 % of GDP. I would say that their share in private sector assets is about 7-10 percent of private sector assets. This is a large number for any single group.

irshadsalim28: Can you translate that into crores?

asidd66: 7-10 percent of private sector assets cannot be translated but I can give you another figure: They are worth about Rs. 200 billion. It is just the business. If you put in real estate then we are talking about a Rs 1 trillion plus economy.

irshadsalim28: You mean Pak army’s side economy?

asidd66: Yes. This includes real estate, businesses done by subsidiaries, organizations and individuals. You have to understand that this economy is predatory by nature because it does not accept any form of civilian control over it. It is independent in terms of planning, appropriation of funds, etc.

irshadsalim28: If Pak army’s assets total Rs 1 trillion can they fund Pakistan’s annual budget wholly or partially if they have to?

asidd66: This would, converting these resources into liquid assets and then it would be possible to pay. A lot of these resources are state resources that could provide for military expenditure and more. It is difficult to say that this money would fund the entire budget. Of course, it can but over what period? These assets were acquired over time and their value should be added to the annual defense budget.

irshadsalim28: What was the defense budget for the year 2001?

asidd66: 131 billion. If u add these numbers the budget would escalate to over Rs. 400 billion

irshadsalim28: When u left in 2001 how many generals, etc were there who form the command structure of Pak forces?

asidd66: Brigadier and up would be a few hundred.

irshadsalim28: So if we assume 100 then 100 times 300 million = 30 billion is the legal worth of army’s command structure correct?

asidd66: it is more but don’t get into these fancy numbers.. plus the higher you go the more pricy you become. A full general is worth Rs 500 million plus

irshadsalim28: Have you in the process of writing your book researched the worth of those generals who “wrote history” of Pakistan

asidd66: Which ones are you referring to?

irshadsalim28: Ayub, Yayha, Zia, Musa, Tikka, et al

asidd66: I do not intend writing a sensational thriller

irshadsalim28: How much land does the forces own in each province?

asidd66: Difficult to bifurcate but to give you a taste - they own about 7-9 million acres in Punjab alone

irshadsalim28: What percentage is it of whole of Punjab?

asidd66: I am still trying to figure this out. It is not an issue of what percentage is this of Punjab but that a major portion of state land is appropriated by one group

irshadsalim28: What about Sindh?

asidd66: My sense is that it is less in Sindh

irshadsalim28: Why is that?

asidd66: Most of the land is around the 2 barrages constructed after independence. Because they didn’t make new barrages.

irshadsalim28: What is their modus ope***** in getting these lands allotment

asidd66: 10 % of land, according to the colonization of land Act 1912, is allotted to the military

irshadsalim28: 10% everywhere?

asidd66: Yes it would be everywhere land is found. Colonization of land refers to each land reclaimed due to creation of water channels and other irrigation projects. However, they tend to get more in Punjab

irshadsalim28: Does India have this act too?

asidd66: No. They got rid of such acts when they did land reforms. Remember India is a state moving towards capitalism. A capitalist state would not create means for institutionalizing feudalism

irshadsalim28: Are you saying Pak army has institutionalized feudalism?

asidd66: I am saying that it is a feudal institution as well

irshadsalim28: So in that case their interests converge with feudal system correct?

asidd66: Yes

irshadsalim28: Do u think they resisted land reform along with the feudal?

asidd66: I wouldn’t say that they resisted but they had sufficient stakes not to pursue a policy that had a negative impact on their benefits. For example, who buys the land the Faujis sell? The local feudal or the new rural capitalist class that is equally feudal in nature. Why should the officers then try to destroy the class that bails them out financially. After 1999, generals have started to keep their lands

irshadsalim28: What happened after 1999

asidd66: Since the value of land has gone up, especially after 9/11, generals now keep lands and have turned into absentee land lords

irshadsalim28: Why did the value of land in Pak go up after 9/11

asidd66: Because of the money that started to flow in from Pakistani expats plus other Muslim countries

irshadsalim28: What is their modus ope***** in getting these lands allotted to generals individually and to their housing societies collectively?

asidd66: The provincial governments allot the land to the Ministry of Defense who then gives the land to the three services for further dispersal. The land is also given to the Jawans but the quantity is lesser than what is given to the senior officers. Plus, the generals get greater facilities in making the land cultivable.

irshadsalim28: All this is based on 1912 colonization of land act that India got rid of and Pak still has?

asidd66: Yes, but they have done alterations as well. For instance, the act does not say that land meant for operational purpose be appropriated for personal use. It is against the law

irshadsalim28: Are you saying that land meant for operational purposes are or have been appropriated to the generals for personal use or to the housing societies?

asidd66: Of course. All land in the cities is military land turned into housing colonies

irshadsalim28: Why did u resign?

asidd66: I thought I could do much more with my time by writing and joining academia. Had gone on secondment from the civil service. Refused to take uniform.

irshadsalim28: Were you forced to resign or ever asked to resign due to your findings, etc?

asidd66: I wasn’t forced but things were looking unpleasant when I left. There was a lot of arm twisting and it was getting unpleasant

irshadsalim28: Is it true that you were one of the whistle blowers who started to bring to light financial dealings in the forces?

asidd66: I am not sure if that is the right term but i was trying my best to put things in perspective such as analyzing and opposing weapons procurement deals that would not benefit the navy.

irshadsalim28: Is it true that more than once you had unpleasant analytical discussions with your superiors in such matters that led to arm twisting, etc

asidd66: We often had unpleasant discussions and arm twisting as well

irshadsalim28: What is the conclusion of your book?

asidd66: Simple: The political leadership in Pakistan has to negotiate the military’s gradual withdrawal from the economy if they want democratic institutions to grow

irshadsalim28: Benazir Bhutto and the World Bank have voiced similar views, do you concur with them then?

asidd66: Of course

irshadsalim28: In the light of the post 9/11 scenario where the West have given a cart blanche to Pak army on all matters, where do your findings stand?

asidd66: The military always had the carte blanche from the West. They need to see that the alienation of society is one of the consequences of military’s predation. Where does the poor man go in Pakistan, Turkey and Indonesia if not to God. There is no other means of transferring power except alternative ideologies, especially when the military has turned into a class and protects its interests along with other elite groups

irshadsalim28: Isn’t the West party to Pak army’s predatory growth as an economic institution?

asidd66: It benefits too

irshadsalim28: Specially during the Afghan war the west looked the other way, no?

asidd66: They have always looked the other way. They ignored Ayub, Yahya as well..

irshadsalim28: In that case why is the World Bank crying foul now? Is it because their interests are colliding now?

asidd66: It is making nice noises not crying foul. It will raise objections but what have they done about it. The man who once was part of the World Bank is now Governor State Bank of Pakistan

irshadsalim28: At what value does the army buy land?

asidd66: Between Rs. 30-60 per acre. In some cases they pay more. This refers to the private housing schemes

irshadsalim28: You mean in Defense society in Karachi, the army gets land from the provincial govt for 30 to 60 rupees an acre only?

asidd66: There are 2 methods for getting land. All the military land converted for personal use is given at the ridiculous price I quoted. Then there are other schemes where they pay a little more. For instance, the Cantt board distributed plots of 500 yards each by appropriating part of the parking lot of the Karachi stadium. Each plot was for about Rs 600,000

irshadsalim28: What was the fair market value of each plot at that time?

asidd66: One and a half crore

irshadsalim28: Who got these plots?

asidd66: Generals. The bulk goes to generals. This was done by General Tauqeer Zia. As Chairman Cricket Control Board he authorized himself to return this land that once belonged to the Cantt board for further distribution

irshadsalim28: Any more instances of such land grabbing?

asidd66: The entire Lahore Cantt was turned into housing schemes. In fact, except for Defense phase I & II (Lahore), the rest of the land does not even belong to the military

irshadsalim28: How many acres is Lahore Cantt if u know?

asidd66: About 8000 to 10,000

irshadsalim28: What is its fair market worth now

asidd66: Runs into billions. It should be around Rs. 700 billion

irshadsalim28: What was the “grabbing price”

asidd66: As I said, Rs. 30-60. This is the rate that officers pay

irshadsalim28: Thanks for your candid responses

asidd66: Thanks. Will catch up with you tomorrow…*

^ thora idhar bhi day dain, kuch burhapa he acha guzar jai :teary2:

Now, at this stage after having served and particularly met people from different backgrounds, I have not only lost interest in politics but feel that this is all a big tamasha/drama. Bibi vs Mush, Army action in Swat and northern areas etc etc.
But our military (read:ISI) minds are shrewed. They may have made an underhand deal with BB but they will hit where it hurt most. Nawaz is being called to counter her or worst still slash her vote bank. Howr hawawan ich uray…

Brother, when someone creates a thread/makes a post it is for "discussion", or did you want to "report only"?

Yaar, may mazaak ker raha tha, aap bura maan gayea ... sorry :).

Bad little core commanders, bad bad bad... BB, NS, 10%, abaji, all good good good..

Bus, atna hee ... Just 25 crores for Major generals :) Waisay believe me, I have seen children of Major Generals and Lt Generals, working in lowly jobs while studying in UK. How sad as with that type of money, they would not need to work :) Many are sending money back home too.

Phir bhie, let say you are right. Major generals are worth around 25 crores. Now, do you know the estimate of BB and NS worth?

According to some, estimated worth of BB is over 12,500 crores (over 2 billion dollars) ... or worth of 500 Major generals. Similarly, some estimated worth of NS is around 10,000 crores (around 1.5 billion dollars) or worth of 400 Major generals.

It is estimated that NS so-called 'All party conference' in London cost NS more than several million pounds, that included the cost of air fairs for many from Pakistan and their stay in London, plus other related expenses (if it was 2 million pounds, that comes to over 25 crores) ... here goes worth of one Major general :)

its not Core Commanders

Its Corps Commanders

you pronounce it like Core

^ okay, thanks.

Brother sorry, you are right. ... Well, I just translated it from Kamran Khan report in Urdu, where he wrote core ... and without realising I translated as it is. I am sorry, I did not realised that I was spelling the word wrong. Anyhow, as you pointed out ... I request if any moderator correct the spelling :)

to bhai ehtasab kar lo na... "accords" ko kewn support kartay ho?... saath saath "army" ka bhi ehtesaab kar ke dekh lo.

It is estimated that NS so-called 'All party conference' in London cost NS more than several million pounds, that included the cost of air fairs for many from Pakistan and their stay in London, plus other related expenses (if it was 2 million pounds, that comes to over 25 crores) ... here goes worth of one Major general :)

I don't think this information is as relevant, unless they did it at govt expense.

I am sure its Corps Commanders and not Core Commanders. I wouldn't expect any of them to ask Mushy to go if they valued their jobs.

Nawaz returning to Pakistan may lead to widening the fissure between Q and N leagues, further dividing the PML vote bank, thus indirectly helping BB led PPP win more constituencies. She is ‘hawawan ich urdi pai’ because the West seems to be firmly behind her, not realizing that she’s ill-suited to single-handedly lead the country’s war against extremism.

I thought BB was the only US$ billionaire from Pakistan (although most of her wealth is looted treasury money). Where did you get the figures for NS? Any link shink...

Well, some estimate that NS has robbed around 1.5 billion dollars (if not exactly, than after interest it should be 1.5 billion dollars today) :). Anyhow, the difference between NS and BB is like if one is 9 (NS) than other is 10 (BB). Anyhow, not everything is on net, still I believe if you do lot of search on net, you may find some article claiming NS corruption worth around 1.5 billion dollars.

Cowasjee is very responsible journalist and he does not write anything as propaganda, but most of what he writes has some truth behind it. Here is an article by Cowasjee written in Dec 2000, where he believes that BB is guilty of doing corruption worth 1.5 billion dollars and NS is guilty of doing corruption worth 1 billion dollars. So, if that article has any truth, after 7 to 8 years, NS corruption money must be worth more than 1.5 billion dollars today. Here is the article by Ardeshir Cowasjee on NS.

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/20001217.htm

Nawaz speaks
By Ardeshir Cowasjee
17th Dec 2000

My fellow Pakistanis, that Sunday columnist of the Dawn newspaper, the Parsi, whose writings were printed on Fridays before I reconverted our weekly holiday to Sunday, for which act he said he would present me with a rusted brass medal, is completely incapable of understanding the Muslim mind. He has often repeated himself by writing and rewriting the same two paragraphs :

"Every citizen of this country who can read, write and think, can say without any fear of contradiction that it is, and always has been, the intent of all our leaders (barring the first), to enforce their will, to tailor the Constitution and all of the laws of the land and to interpret them to suit their own special needs so that they may remain in power for ever. During the early years, the leaders did make some sort of effort to pretend that they had the interests of the country and its people at heart, bogus though it may have been, but since 1971 even pretence has been discarded. Now, it is total blatant glasnost ; machinations, schemes and scams are publicly, fearlessly and contemptuously aired.

"The whole wise world knows that whatsoever be the foundation of a democratic government, whether it be the Magna Carta, the Declaration of Independence, Liberte, Egalite, Fraternite, the Objectives Resolution, or whatever, the democratic grundnorm is firmly based on the belief expostulated by Jefferson: “that all men are created equal and independent, that from that equal creation they derive rights inherent and inalienable, among which are the preservation of life and liberty and the pursuit of happiness”.

Cowasjee has consistently maintained that Mohammad Ali Jinnah was our sole statesman and every leader who has followed him has been a good-for-nothing selfish uneducated man, a robber and a crook. One cannot deny him his right to his opinion.

On the last of our Friday holidays , on February 21 1997, he wrote :
"As for the new ringmaster, Nawaz, by now he must find himself walking a slack rope without either a pole to balance him or anyone handy to take up the slack. The ordinary citizen cannot afford the luxury of being a party to what he is likely to do, but he could write for Nawaz the speech he might give at the inaugural session of our latest National Assembly :

" 'My dear countrymen, my fellow travellers, my brothers, my sisters, my supporters, my opponents : I stand before you as your leader. My aim is to save this country, bankrupted by the excesses of the last three democratic governments - two of Benazir and one of mine. The president said that Benazir and her husband have robbed you , the people, of $1.5 billion, of which there is no proof. I must declare that my family, my friends and myself have been accused of robbing you, the people, of the lesser sum of $1 billion, of which there is also no proof.

" 'However, I have vowed that my new government will not victimize anyone, friend or enemy, but, at the same time, will continue the process of accountability, barely started, and will spare no one, not even the president or my talented brother, Shahbaz. Cases in court against us and the Chaudhrys which have been adjourned for good reason will not be withdrawn.

" 'The president has committed a gross indiscretion. Knowing how broke we are, just before Eid this month, he chose to fly in a 200-seater Boeing 707 to perform Umra at your expense. Had he felt that it was below his dignity to travel by PIA, or Saudia as I did, he could have arranged to charter a Tiger Moth. Vain pomp and glory we can no longer afford. I hold him accountable and will be asking him to make good our loss. In the interests of open government I will make the issue public.

" 'Following Mr Jinnah, who said in his inaugural speech that his first priority was to maintain law and order, my government will ensure the safety of life and property and will take action against those responsible for political extra-judicial killings. The culprits will be found and punished, as will the killers of Editor Salahuddin, whose heirs suspect that it was the MQM that had him murdered, of Lawyer Nizam Ahmed and his son who it is suspected were murdered by the PPP, and the killers of Mir Murtaza the beloved brother of our former prime minister.

" 'Congratulating me in the assembly on February 17, Benazir seemingly said that the goose that lays the golden eggs is now on a life-support system, the eggs broken and scrambled. Let us now unscramble them. The task is onerous but with help I can succeed. To work is a basic human need, which maxim we must heed and work harder.

" 'Whatever I will do on the economic front will of necessity be harsh, stringent and incisive. The bitter pill will have to be swallowed for many a long year.

" ‘Not wishing to emulate Churchill, I offer you nothing but sweat, toil and tears. Again, not wishing to emulate Garibaldi, I say to anyone who loves his country - Follow me’."

Now today I speak to you from heaven on earth, the Kingdom of my Brothers of Saudi Arabia. I am at peace with the world and the world I now know is at peace with me.

I will soon be accommodated in my temporarily permanent abode, close to that of my Brother Field Marshal for Life Idi Amin Dada, VC, Iron Cross, Croix de Guerre, Purple Heart, who is in good health, well-fed and enjoying the company of his nineteen wives. Now, read on, and forgive me if you can.

I was happily spending my life as the son of a blacksmith when in 1981 I was picked up by none other than the Doon School educated General Ghulam Jilani, army dictator-general Zia-ul-Haq’s chief spymaster, and installed as the finance minister of Punjab. In 1985 I was made chief minister of my province and in 1990 prime minister of my country. Because of a silly misunderstanding I was removed from that position in 1993, but brought back again by the army in 1996. During each of my terms in office I made as much money as possible and to the best of my ability helped my family and friends follow suit.

After all, of what use was it being in power if I could not use it to my advantage ? Some termed this corruption, but most of my fellow travellers in Pakistan voiced no objections.

By picking me up in 1981 the army did not do anything which by their standards was unique. In the 1950s, President Colonel Iskander Mirza and Commander-in-Chief of the Pakistan Army General Ayub Khan picked up a stray named Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. How much did he rob and plunder? And did he not lose half our country before he was hanged by General Zia-ul-Haq ? His legacy persists, and the present army is quite capable of making peace with his daughter, the incompetent and corrupt Benazir, and of installing her yet again as prime minister, of pardoning and freeing her husband and allowing her to have him by her side as her minister of plunder.

The third army pick-up was Altaf Hussain of the terrorist party, the MQM. How many people have suffered at its hands, how many has it killed and maimed, how much did it rob ?

Now, having been deprived of a lucrative job, arrested, tried, and imprisoned by the same army which picked me up, I have managed to extricate myself from my dire predicament. I have been sold by the generals for more than my weight in gold. The country will benefit from the gift of free oil from my Saudi brothers, oil which costs millions of dollars a day, which gift will continue to flow for as long as I am at liberty.

My brothers have also sent Ali Reza of HUBCO to strike a settlement of that ongoing bitter dispute. As you all know, apart from Benazir and a few Egyptians of the World Bank, I was also involved in the shady deal made between the government of Pakistan and HUBCO. However, now I will indirectly be the saviour in the matter.

I have aided in the destruction of my country, I have robbed the national till, but all has now been made good.

The moral of the story, my brothers and sisters, is that success and luck lies in the choice of one9s friends. Can Benazir, Asif or Altaf Bhai boast of friends who will pay billions to rescue them ? My friends from the Holy Land, God bless them, have prevailed upon General Pervez Musharraf to maintain my honour and not speak out about terms of the ransom agreed. As payment is being made by the day, I am worth more to my country alive than dead.

If Allah should will it, as said Colonel Douglas MacDonald of Kentucky Fried Chicken in 1942 when he was forced to leave Corregidor, “I shall return”. Until then, Pakistan Paindabad.

How abt Crore commanders :halo: