Consensus & The Dam

Re: Consensus & The Dam

Altaf bhai is trying to change that, and on this issue no one in Sindh wants to give Punjab total control over Sindh's water.

I am from Karachi, urdu speaking.

^^ So the terrorist thug murderer (of mohajirs as well) is a brother?

What kind of mouhajir are you?

no question about that. right now they are the B-team of the current govt. but that said PPP historically has been against KBD because it will affect their base, sindh! as for you billy silly i will look up if n e 1 has archives, of her statements while she was in power, lilke i said internet news wasnt like it is now, i doubt n e site will have it, but i will check. but you attitude kalabagh is very naiive, it isnt as small as issue as u think. but what do you have to say about ANP, they were aganist kbd even when they were in power!

One who hasn’t sold his soul. Go and ask the poor mohajirs and they will all tell you who their brother is.

hey silly how about this? he is in ruling PML mind you

http://www.onlinenews.com.pk/details.php?id=90451

KARACHI: The Chief Minister of Sindh Arbab Ghulam Rahim has expressed his strong resolution of remaining committed to his previous anti-Kalabagh stance.

He said that he still stands by his previously thrice rejected resolutions about the Kalabagh Dam.

Addressing a press conference on Monday, held in the Sindh Provincial assembly, he said that realizing his responsibility as the Chief Executive of the Sindh Provincial Government he has informed (the Federal government) Islamabad about Sindh’s reservations and objections about the controversial multi-mega project.

He said that PPP and PML (N) have dual and separate motives, in reference to Punjab and Sindh.

He informed the gathering that the first ever allocation for the dam was initiated in the PPP tenure, and all the tenders for construction were passed in favor of party elements.

Mr. Arbab Rahim said that an all-parties conference would be summoned in near future to deal with the issue.

He also blamed PPP’s un-democratic stance, as being responsible for no legislation ever in the Sindh Assembly.

=)
=)

Mohajirs come in all shapes, sizes and ethnicities (diversity is a plus for them but in situations a negative factor as well) so who cares if jahil bao biharis watching indian movies think about altaf?

Though many people I know (inc family) don’t like mqm for it tarnished image of muhajirs, i believe the org can still be rescued but altaf is a big no no!!!
May I ask where you live in karachi?

everything is up for sale.
sab bikri ka maal hai.
infrastrucutre and development, bas yeh doa lafz lehra loa, thora paisai ki bakwas bich mai daal doa.
dam ban gaya.
wah ji wah.

tsk,tsk…deja vu of 1971!

Besides,we don’t know what they can do, they have never fully revolted…leaders like BB and Pir Pagara can cause hell if they wanted… i wouldn’t want to test it

Do you even know the eighties insurgency and the bigger RAW role in stoking it?

I believe it would be a disgrace to compare lazy people with more politically conscious bengalis (however small and corrupt their country is another issue).

TRD, I agree we as Pakistanis (or one of the ethnicities) should avoid at all costs stereotyping anyone including Sindhis. As you stated, we should all learn some lesson from 1971, and I mean “all”.

Back in 1971, minorities from the West didn’t give a hoot about the majority in the East.

Bengalis dominated the population so they should have been allowed to dominate the political landscape.

However minorities form the West including Balochis, Sindhis, Punjabis, and Pushtoons didn’t allow Awami League to get any seat. So the majority was locked out of minority domains.

We now are committing the same mistake. We are trying to lockout Punjabis from the minority domains. Majority Bengalis used force to get their majority rights. By locking out Punjabis from our smaller provinces, we all will force Punjab to use force just like what Bengalis did.

So! Yes 1971 was a black mark on the “minorities” of the West Pakistan.

Best regards

Wtf was all that? :confused:

Right now, all non-punjab elements are considered "federal subjects’ (use of force / army to achieve them is allowed) while Punjab subjects (like for example, blocking wheat to other provinces when it desires) is considered normal by federal government.

And OBL, don’t bet for the day that all non-punjabi minorities band together against Punjab as that will truly bring a revolution that will sweep Punjabistan as well!

The only disgrace here is you

The MRD movement was just that, a movement to restore democracy, supported by PPP members, not an national insurgency :rolleyes:

There is a HUGE difference

You don’t know anything about it (GM Syed and nationalists) so you can go to hell! :slight_smile:

And yes i still maintian they are a disgrace and you are as well for making such asumptions! :smiley:

Dear BK! You didn’t have to use expletives in your reply. Everyone talks about minorities. But Bengalis were majority, and we have to see the things from majority point of view.

Look! everyone gets afraid when there is a 600 pound gorilla in the room. West Pakistani Baloch, Pushtoons, Sindhis and Punjabis were afraid of the majority Bengalis. While Bengalis wanted to dominate politically, but they were not allowed to win seats in the West.

Why to talk about old stuff. Here we have Urban Sindhis aka Muhajirs worried about dominance by Sindhi waderas. Balochis are worried about Pushtoon dominance, and just across the border we have seen bitter fight between by minorities like Uzbeks, Tajiks and Hazaras against none other but majority Pushtoons.

These petty conflicts have to end. Majorities need to treat minorities gently, while minorities have to accept that fact that majority groups will dominate. That’s just natural.

Best regards

Not unless a federal structure on the forms of US is made in Pakistan!

Those are big words Medha Saain!

Federal system may have few things better than the Parliamentary system. And it may be worthwhile to bring some aspects of Federal system to Pakistan.

However the civil war happened within the federal structure. Southern minority didn’t want to accept the rules handed down by the Northern majority. They rebelled, and then got defeated. But in that $tupid war, out of toal population of 31 million, 650,000 young men perished. Ask some old Georgia families and they will tell you how Gen. Sherman towards the end of the war, beat the crap out of the rebel army.

Bottom line is that Federal or Parliamentary system doesn’t guarantee peace between smaller states and their larger cousins. At some level, we have to settle down; otherwise the war will never end.

Best regards

Anti-OBL, I don't believe that 1971 was 'minorities' vs majority simply, it was Punjabi vs majority/Bengali.

Kaptaan Ji, That may be true. However if you do believe in this theory (and I respect that), then how do you explain the complete route and utter failure of Sheikh Mujib’s Awami League in the elections from Sindh, Balochistan, and Frontier?

Punjabis may be the fall guys, but Awami League was never accepted by any other province in the West.

Best regards

I’m not bihari, but your hatred towards biharis, sindhis is noted. Shows your character more than anything else.

Look at my name and take a guess which part of Karachi I’m from.

Glaring display of Punjabi chauvinism!

Punjab is not inevitable. One day other nationalities may decide that Pakistan minus Punjab would be a proper Pakistan. And what a poor analogy! In 1971, it was Punjab versus the rest (Bangalis+Sindhis+Baluchis+Urdu-speakers+Pashtuns) and today it is Punjab again versus the rest.