Re: Was CJ really called to Army House?
Why do we have to discuss another issue... we are talking about the current affairs...right
yaar kaleem bhai, I am not being sarcastic but just trying to understand better.
assuming that ifti was massively corrupt and just doing all kinds of crap. how would a disiplinary action be taken against him, by whom, and how.
amaan yar…saaray pangay ki ABC pata nahi or logon ko entangle karnay aa gaye ho with ur tangents. ![]()
^ FOL:
‘A’ kaa tau pataa naheeN par bhai ko ‘BC’ zaroor maaloom hoti hai aisee baatoN kee ![]()
oh and by the way, did anyone ever think why, and why on earth was COS NOT in uniform? I mean it's 11a.m in the morning and it's not a holiday and COS who's already present at the Army House is NOT in the uniform... May be I am reading too much, folks, for that i apologize but still wondering, why only him?
Because it is not supposed to be an Army matter
Their job, like any Army in the world, is to guard the borders, not get involved in the hiring and firing judges, esp the CJ
yaar kaleem bhai, I am not being sarcastic but just trying to understand better. assuming that ifti was massively corrupt and just doing all kinds of crap. how would a disiplinary action be taken against him, by whom, and how.
Don't expect an answer any time soon, only diversions. :) The words, 'sand, head and bury' come to mind.
Bhaijan, if that was the case why did the CJ not mention that in his affidavit? Afterall the CJ makes many ‘allegations’ but not this one?
Bhaijan, it is not about playing games. Although I agree Pakistan politics is a sport where the baton is passed from one person to another depending on the mood of people taking part.
The point is, let’s try to be honest and impartial. If someone has done wrong let’s not hide or cover it it up. It is is called healthy debate which democratic and free countries have.
Let’s not say See ya, just say au revoir ![]()
well it just goes to show how iftis champions are so stuck in rhetoric that they have not been able to put a coherent explanation of how something like this should have been handled.
So, explain, how it should have been done, and then what the process would have been. Let get away from the tangents of pleasing US, shaukats alleged deals, war on terorr, missing people, etc etc.
thank u
PS: as far as entanglements go, lets leave what you heard..where you heard it.
PS2: aap ka naam bhi kaleem hai?
Bhaijan, if that was the case why did the CJ not mention that in his affidavit? Afterall the CJ makes many 'allegations' but not this one?
Bhaijan, cuz it may not be important enough or have any bearing on the issue? By ur own admission, to an impartial observer, it matters not. Now who was the affidavit's audience? An impartial (to my mind) SC or anonymous journalists? I rest my case. :)
The point is, let's try to be honest and impartial. If someone has done wrong let's not hide or cover it it up.
Define wrong. If meeting the president is wrong, then I dont see many CJP's in ur good books. If impartiality and honesty r the guiding light, by the same token, lets also criticise the Emperor who agreed to meet with the CJP. Clap with two hands my friend. Not that u cant clap with one, it just doesnt look dignifying.
It is is called healthy debate which **democratic **and free countries have.
Let's not say See ya, just say au revoir :)
Alright..lets instead say Bismillah or Jee ayaa nooon..better? :)
@PS2
so let me gettis clear 11 bajay bulaya, aur bhai sahab 11:30 par pohnchay?
desi qaum bhi aik number ki dheeli qaum hai, 10 minte ka rasta bhi adhay ghantay mein
shabaash.
yaar kaleem bhai, I am not being sarcastic but just trying to understand better. assuming that ifti was massively corrupt and just doing all kinds of crap. how would a disiplinary action be taken against him, by whom, and how.
Bhai, aap nay yea kiya likha hay? Its illogical. what logic have you raised? Sacking on corruption? How can one support that? If sacking starts on corruption than what would happen to life, and luxuries? When corrupt Pakistanis, who own Pakistan, considers that it is right to live on immoral earning, how can one allow CJ to get sacked on corruption? Corruption is good for health, wealth, and country. It provides luxuries, and many things that one cannot afford, don’t you know that? Dad makes family happy from corruption and mum can do that extra bit of shopping.
Just imagine that CJ getting sacked on nepotism, how sad, that should not happen. Musharraf is gone mad. This army wala could not understand life of civilians. If that would start happening than these ‘nangay bhookay Kammi Paki’ would be able to compete with incompetents just because of their hard work, but that would be injustice, don’t you think so? People have family background and that has to be preserved, by hook or crook. These ‘nangay bhookay kammi Paki’ are used to hard work. If hard work and merit get tolerated then it would be disaster, don’t you think so?
Waisay, I really could not understand what is wrong in using Mercedes on government expense? What all this entitlements and all this rubbish? This is Pakistan man, and in this country one should believe on, ‘jiss kee lathi uss kee bhains’, that is part of ‘Imaan’, don’t you know that? Akhir yea opportunity Allah hee nay tou diya hay. We support this principle ‘jiss kee lathi uss kee bhains’. It is 6th pillar of Islam. If it is not followed, many who deserve Mercedes would go to school on Suzuki, and that is no good, is it? Daddy is CJ and son going to school on Suzuki? It looks bad, Mercedes is good. You see, Suzuki can give pain to the buttocks, but Mercedes gives smooth ride, and if country is poor its bad luck of poor, not CJ, so who cares? CJ daddy needs Mercedes and whoever could not understand is their fault.
I protest that anyone should get sacked on charges of corruption, nepotism, and use of facilities more then entitlement, else that would be sad for Corrupts, and if that would be sad day for Corrupts, it would be sad day for the country, because country belongs to corrupts. As for son driving BMW, what is wrong even if dad salary could not afford BMW? Daddy is cleaver and knows the opportunity he has. Is it wrong to avail opportunity Allah gave to dad to earn some on the side? Position is money and earning money using position, however illegally, is name of the game and there is nothing wrong about that. What is wrong if one can buy BMW using illegal means? Pakistanis don’t see anything wrong in that. Those who say that it is wrong are jealous because they have no opportunity and that is their fault, that’s all, who cares? Pakistan should support CJ so please do not write something what you wrote again. Be a good Pakistani and support corruption, injustice, nepotism, bribery and misuse of power.
Corruption, nepotism, injustice, bribery, and power misuse Zindabaad. BB ZIndabaad, Mr 30 percent Zindabaad. NS Zindabaad. Musharraf and his ill-conceived ideas! Murdabaad. :D Long live CJ, long live corruption, long live Pakistan ;) Death to all who talks againg CJ and corruption :)
Blah, blah, the Mercedes was given to the CJ on the insistence of the PM, read about it ![]()
And of course u totally ignore the lifestyle and corruption of Mush govt ![]()
And yea, one should not worry about those ‘nangay bhookay Kammi Paki’ as they are not just ‘nangay bhookay Kammi Paki’, they are mentally retard too, and would do what corrupts would say, because they are born to get exploited and ruled. Allah nay unhain issie liya paida kiya hay. Kismet kismet kee baat hay :)
May kiya kah raha hoon? I agree with you. Haven’t you read my post? Whoever gave Mercedes to CJ, it was OK. CJ is CJ, his bum can get burned on something inferior than Mercedes, and that is unfair. CJ Zindabaad .. Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz Murdabaad ![]()
Yea reference waferance kiya cheese hay? Its all BS man, CJ is jeera blade. CJ Zindabaad
… Long live CJ ![]()
Re: 5 hours…4 days…never to be forgotten…
well the motives become clear by the actions Musharraf undertook post 9 march. the way the chief justice was treated on the fateful day, and at that time the reference hadn’t been launched as yet…two chief justices flown from karachi and lahore…the cj offered “accomodation” if he resigned…the CJ made non-functional/sent on forced leave…he wasent allowed to go to the supreme court…his cars lifted…and his contacts with the outer world severed…if the rules had been properly been followed there wouldnt have been this chaos…all this happened, and still no reference against the cj…
i was reading in today’s nawa e waqt…the way saeed uz zaman siddqui was retired…according to him the action that was carried out on him is being repeated on ch. iftikhar…he says that musharraf tried to convince him to accept LFO…but when he refused, General Mahmood and some other high ranking Army officials were sent to his house to convince him…who stayed from 9 PM to 2 AM, but when he refused…the next day police was deployed outside his house and was told that he had been fired…
the present case isnt the first since musharraf took over…the only difference is that this time someone has refused to resign…
why would the president violate the seniority for the promotion…as far as appointment of COAS is concerned…i think that has to be made by the prime minister according to pakistan’s constitution…if the president (whose legality itself is under question) can appoint/fire a CJ…then Nawaz Sharif who appointed Musharraf (against seniority) could also fire him…but that action of his backfired…there’s similarity in both cases…
What ever his happening now isnt new in Pakistani Politics…but the only thing is that we dont learn from our past follies…bhutto appointed zia against merit, and later he hanged the former…nawaz appointed musharraf, who booted out the former…in the present scenario i dont know whether musharraf will survive…but whatever has been done cannot be undone easily…if musharraf is able to get another term (i dont think so under the present situation) he would be a weaker leader…
well…the president even at this moment is un-constitutional…this is the point that fakhruddin g ibrahim raised yesterday…that there’s nothing in our constitution which says that someone can be a president as a result of a referendum…there’s a laid down procedure for that…
its funny how the government supporters try to give a constitutional colour to the non constitutional actions of musharraf…
well…the prime minister should be held responsible too in that regard…because his son was hired through his signatures…the cj cannot appoint his son…
Re: 5 hours…4 days…never to be forgotten…
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=8204
President enjoys no immunity, says Fakhruddin
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/images/shim.gif
Asks judges to rise and rectify their past mistakes; Gillani says SC can take up any mala fide act of president
By Muhammad Qasim
ISLAMABAD: Veteran lawyer Fakhruddin G Ebrahim, while defending Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry on behalf of the Balochistan High Court Bar Association, on Wednesday told a 13-member full court that the president had been elected unconstitutionally and, therefore, could not avail immunity given to a president under Articles 248 and 211 of the Constitution.
The counsel for the Pakistan Bar Council, Hamid Khan, submitted before the court that the advice of the prime minister in the case of chief justice should not be made without cabinet approval as the matter was of utmost significance.
The court headed by Justice Khalilur Rahman Ramday and comprising Justice Muhammad Nawaz Abbasi, Justice Faqir Muhammad Khokhar, Justice Mian Shakirullah Jan, Justice M Javed Buttar, Justice Tassadduq Hussain Jillani, Justice Saiyed Saeed Ashhad, Justice Nasirul Mulk, Justice Raja Fayyaz Ahmed, Justice Ch Ijaz Ahmed, Justice Syed Jamshed Ali, Justice Hamid Ali Mirza and Justice Ghulam Rabbani was hearing arguments on maintainability of the petition filed by the chief justice along with more than 20 other identical petitions already clubbed.
Fakhruddin G Ebrahim submitted that Article 41 of the Constitution, which relates to the election of the president, was changed through the 17th Amendment for the election of President General Pervez Musharraf and hence he was not a duly elected president. The president was allowed to be elected through a vote of confidence instead of secret balloting under the amended article. “This was a sheer violation of the democratic and electoral spirit. That is why the president is not a constitutional president and as such he cannot avail immunity given to him under Articles 248 and 211,” Ebrahim argued.
He also submitted that the judiciary in Pakistan has passed many controversial judgments that had inflicted great damage to the public in general and democracy in particular. Citing the cases of presidential referendum, the Legal Framework Order (LFO) and the 17th Amendment under which the measures of military rulers were validated in violation of constitutional spirit, he urged upon the judiciary to rise for its independence. “Time has come when the judges should rectify their mistakes of the past.”
He said the problem in our country is that a person is not made responsible for his wrongdoings if he is in power. “The wrongdoers have done a mockery of the Constitution but this trend should come to an end now.”
Counsel for another petitioner, Iftikhar Gillani, submitted that under Article 211 of the Constitution, the Supreme Court does not lose its jurisdiction and can take up any case involving mala fide act of the president.
Hamid Khan submitted that the advice of the prime minister on the subject of removal of chief justice should not be made without cabinet approval. He submitted that there were 16 articles where the advice of the prime minister was necessary. However, Article 209, which relates to the removal of a judge of the superior courts, does not require the PM’s advice alone. The full court adjourned the hearing of the case till today (Wednesday). Hamid Khan will continue his arguments when the Court resumes the hearing.
LOL
something like what? ![]()
if I were Musharraf I would stick as close to Constitution as possible
…I know..still. simply cuz never b4 has a CJ been tried and there were bound to be many constitutional questions that were going to crop up. The whole unnecessary drama has been good to the extent that it will result in a definitive ruling from the SC clearing up many ambiguities and the media focus might lead to more independent judiciary at the top.
If Mush had played by the constitution and quietly sent a reference to the SJC against the CJ and let it ponder over it, he might have averted such a huge backlash. As things stand, he had obviously been carried away by the firing of NS, Saeed UZ Zaman Siddiqui, Rafique Tarar, and. A.Q. Khan. He wasnt expecting a no, and as Kargil, he had no plan B. Simple as that. Just read the Cj’s testimony and u’ll figure it out urself.
Maybe
Re: 5 hours...4 days...never to be forgotten....
There are plenty of people saying it already.
I can also say that if yours is such a pricnipled stance why I dont see condemnations from you regarding ifti's pulling strings for his unqualified son, or harasssing journalists or forcing tv stations to broadast public apologies :)
Or we can say that we are just trying to shoe the opposte side of the coin.
PS: Lets focus on the issue at hand. and the issue is that ifti screwed up and its proven, his sorry ass needs to be fired.
PS2: so let me guess, no petition circulating for investigation of musharraf and aziz? start one, I will sign it
his case is b4 the SC..let them form a judgement and if they go against CJ, u'll hear me condemn it. I am interested in seeing the accountability of those who hold just about everyone else accountable in Pakistan but not themselves. Namely, the Army generals. specifically, General Musharraf.