Cisco certs

Hi, I wanted to find out who on here is into Cisco certs? I’ve been configuring routers, switches and firewalls for a good amount of time and recently decided to get certified. Its still so hard. Please put in ur comments for n00bs on best practices for taking exams and such.

Re: Cisco certs

Read the material offocurse, go through the vidoes if possible atleast once and practice simulations. Most importantly, spend as much time as you can on test examples.

For me the hardest bit was getting used to the way questions were presented.

I have some material in PDF format for CCNA and CCNP and a good simulator. PM if you are interested.

I have some ebooks as well, but alas, just having them doesn’t do any good. :hehe:
Which simulator do u have? I have Bosun and i just bought the Sybex (Todd Lamel) book which came with a sim as well, haven’t opened it yet. I also discovered that the Cisco site has prep section with videos and stuff. All those years on that site and I never noticed.

Yeah, tell me about it - finding that motivation to do the readings is perty difficult sometimes.

I Have Boson Netsim too.

I am an EX CCIE and ahev not recertified since 2000.... Cisco certification is worth it... There are labs out there you can rent time for practice.

KS, do u have Bosun for CCNA or do u have more labs? BTW, I have that sybex book in E format as well.

Abdali, u must be all set in that niche to not have to renew.

Tofi:
with your networking experience, you shouldn't have much trouble with CCNA and CCNP. You can learn the theoretical content from a text (tons out there). Like Abdali said, practice is key and the only thing I had some trouble with was to learn three or four different ways of doing the same thing.

When you're in the field, you develop a certain way of doing things and some commands may become second nature to you, but for the exams, sometimes you need to know the other commands/procedures to accomplish the same thing.

Way back when I did the CCNP, I found the Sybex set of texts the easiest to follow.

I do mid range servers but since they are networked too I just got a CCNA for the heck of it.. passed with over 95% .. and believe me when I say this, I haven't ever even logged on to a router!!

Prepare for the CCNP stuff.. the first step is a piece of cake and useful for a morale booster only..

Actually I switched jobs from networking professional to Lab manager.

Todd Lamle's books are good if you just wanna pass CCNA for the heck of it. Most ppl I know pased it with just reading this book w/o taking any crash courses. Anything further, CCNP/CCDP etc, you are better off with Cisco Press books.

^^ Yeah, that's what I heard too. My problem is that I'm more used to PIX and Cisco is not consistent with commands between PIX and the routers. I find that so annoying. I just got an 871 router which has a modded IOS so its going to be interesting.

there is no other way to remeber the commands than practice, practice and practice. i have a couple of lab simulators besides the boson netsim

Tofi,
I got my CCNA and NP in 99. Did CCDA & DP and recently cleared the CCIE security written exam.
You can find a lot of good books for all the cisco exams.... I live by Cisco Press books, however, the most invaluable source is cisco.com itself.
For CCNA these are the topics you should know:
TCP/IP ... I am not talking microsoft kind of subnetting. You better understand the binary conversion.
OSI model... must know which layer has bits, which layer has fragments, which layer has packets etc.
some switching concepts
very minimal router commands
Need any other help ...drop me a PM

Thanks a lot for all the info guys. According to what I gather for NA mostly what I need is book knowledge. Wish there was a way to interface all the ebooks directly into my brain (Matrix eshtyle) and run with it. I guess I have to read up.

Topi tu kehta hai na heeng lagay na phatkari aur CCNA bhi ho jaye, aisa to nahin hota na bachoo

Ok here is a test for you tofi......no cheating.
What is the wild card mask for /28.

240 ofcourse :p
ab itna bhi jahil nahin hoon

^ :D

Wrong.... I asked for wild card mask it will be as follows:

Need to study some more bud. :)

dohh, see what i mean abut the PIX