Re: Christian bakers refuse gay wedding cake - face legal action
@Mezhgan](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/members/mezhgan.html) I agree, but if this is the attitude of all secular people in west, then I’m afraid that the statement ‘people can exercise their religion freely in those countries’ is heavily flawed. How come I’m exercising my religion with freedom, if I don’t have a right to refuse to write a statement that is against clear cut teachings of my religion?
Today its ‘support gay marriages’, tomorrow it will be ‘pro incest’, day after it will be ‘support birth out of wed locks’, so should a religious person say yes to all these demands? If this is the case, I pity people living in west, who want to exercise their religion and follow basic rules without intervention of others.
Another shameful analogies used by the religious folks. Equating gay marriage with incest. Quite shameful to make this FALSE EQUIVALENCY. Again speaks tons abt what one has learned from religion.
And yes, a secular liberal person wouldn’t make such a dishonest, evil and false equivalency.
I read ur first sentence and had to stop. Cause the example u provided is RIDICULOUS. 99.72 pct of the days muslims can buybeef. And the other time? They simpky can but it previous day.
As for ur example of bakra eid, last 3 yrs it did not fall on Gandhi jayanthi. In other words 0 times out of 1995 days. Not good enough for u? And then there is a system where Ahmedis are criminalize for calling themselves Muslims. Is that live and let live?
I am not making the claim because discrimination occurred against muslims. I am refuting ur FALSE equivalency with numbers. Which u choose to ignore. Which is , to be kind, INTELECTUALLY DISHONEST.
What is irritating to me about this thread is not anyone’s opinion. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Personally though, I don’t believe anyone should be forced to accept anything that they are not comfortable with, provided that they do not harm anyone or affect the lives of others.
People have used ethnicity and interracial marriage as an example. Frankly, I do not believe that anyone should be forced to accept that either if they are not comfortable with it. Now, are people who reject others simply based on race missing out on the possibility of meeting great people? Yes, they are. Is it narrow minded, illogical and idiotic to hate people based on race? Yes, it is. However, even idiots have rights and as long as they respect and abide by the laws of the country they live in (i.e. refrain from discriminating or harming others and remain civil towards everyone), they should not be forced to “accept” anything. If anything, the only people they are harming are themselves by limiting themselves and viewing life through such a closed and narrow lens.
While I, personally, do not associate with people who hold racist, homophobic or extremist ideologies and would not want to spend time with such people, I do not believe my beliefs should be shoved down their throats either. I find it is best to give others the same courtesy you expect from them.
Oh my,m i getting this right,u are discriminating against the set of people who approve of incest?this is truly a discrimination.
As there is a set of people who approve of homosexuality and gay marraiges,there is also a set of people who approve of incest and as you advocate equality you shouldnt be discriminating against it .
And if discrimination on the basis of colorr and race and discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation can be equated then whats so shameful in the analogy between homosexuality and incest?
A religious person would not approve incest much like homosexuality. For them these acts are equivalent based on common denominator i.e. their religion.
This is what was said by Muqa bhai.
What is so wrong with that?
Calling names like hypocrites, dishonest or evil cannot change the fact that religious people have rights too.
You stated live and let live. Not I. Looks like ur version of live and let live is selective.
do you support Ahmedis calling themselves Muslims? Or do you support criminalization of this?
Do you support decriminalization of adultery?
Do you support Sharia law and it’s interference with what people do behind closed doors
Do you support decriminalization of alcohol consumption in places with sharia law?
Easy to say live and let live. Let’s see where u stand in each of these issues.
I know your post was to @gudiaali and I apologise for the intrusion but..
It really is easy to live and let live, even in the examples you stated. If alcohol consumption was decriminalised in countries with Sharia law, a person who is a devout Muslim is quite free to continue abstaining from alcohol. The same with adultery. After all, decriminalising an activity does not force people who are against it to engage in said activity. It simply allows those who are not against the activity in question to engage in it.
This. This is a rare time I have seen such a candid, honest and FAIR approach to living. This post embodies the spirit of live and let live.
What u r saying is what I have implied. Decriminalize the above. Then you can call it a free society. Then you have earned the moral right to comment on upholding the bakers or anyone else’s religious right and freedom.
you can’t on one hand be against the above freedoms. And on the other support religious freedom in this instance. Be consistent. That would be prudent.
Whatever u stated also applies to Ahmedis. The govt criminalizing the Ahmedis calling themselves Muslims makes little sense. How will this make non Ahmedi Muslims less of a Muslim?
But I won’t hold me breath wrt SOME of the posters advocating religious freedom coming out in support of decriminalization of this. And there lies the hypocrisy.
Southie, you and Bella are not religious…that’s fine. Nobody in THIS thread has bashed you both for not being religious. You have been persistently mocking the “religious” people on here, shaming them, calling them disgraceful, viewing them as sheep. This says a lot about you. You have been persistently telling members “This says a lot about you” “This says a lot about you religious folks” like it’s your tagline…now I say this to you…that your attitude speaks volumes about how you perceive US Muslims on this forum and religious people in general. We, on the other hand, questioned your ability to be fair and open-minded, but we haven’t ridiculed the whole of your character.
You often push for removal from religion from our views about various facets of life (government, science, marriage, etc). This is a majority Muslim forum and Islam is a way of life for many of us and will influence our opinions. This seems go be a constant frustration for you and rather than you telling us every now and then “Another shameful, disgraceful thing from you religious folks”…just leave…if you’re THAT disgusted by us “hypocritical sheep” …you have the choice to leave just like the customer and find yourself another forum or to stay here and make an effort toward less disgust/hatred toward religious people which comprise the majority of the forum.
Redvelvet my response was to guidali. You dont have to read it I just read first line of ur post. I have zero interest in reading the rest of ur looooooong post. Thank u.
Forgot to add - if ur post above was in agreement with my views on “Live and Let Live” then a sincere Thank You from me to you.
Its a private business, note the word private, which means they can refuse anyone service. On top of this this is a Christian place. Its like someone coming to a Muslim shop and being outraged if I don’t offer them bacon. If e.g. I see someone refusing me service in their private restaurant:
a) Would it be wrong to be discriminated? Undoubtedly
b) Would whining help? No.
oh baba ji. take a chill pill. you were not addressed in that post. as I don’t accept rational argument from biased person like you. your hatred against religious people is well exposed now. It was not equivalence, it was expected stages of shamelessness you are supporting to be tagged as human rights champion. keep your secular liberal tags with you, as you can be anything but not liberal, you are simply behaving like an imposing person at best.
Oh so mirchi iss cheez pe lagi hai ke aap ke mahaan India se example di gai. Okay, our country has issues like Ahmedi are crimilised, but secular India’s record is not good when it comes to minorities as well. You people elect out likes of Modis (the butcher of Gujarat) and then secular hone ki dhuai bhi dete ho. strange? I would not have come up with these statement , but you asked for that by bringing your favorite topic minority (ahmedi marginalization) in Pakistan. Those who live in glass houses, should not throw stones. righto sir ji?
It was not equivalence in absolute terms. I was telling you how Muslims are denied right to buy and sell meat on jayanti. Then you SHAMELESSLY said they should buy it one day in advance… Gays have rights to get fresh baked cake with their favorite slogan under secular system, but Muslims need to buy meat one day in advance in secular India. great.
BTW, no where I referred bakra Eid. It was just Eid and the report I posted was about choti Eid. FYI, Muslims just don’t sacrifice sheep and goat on Bakra Eid, its cow as well.
we believe what our religion teaches. sodomy is a sin as per our religion and we don’t have any guilt in accepting that. We got every right to call it sin and are not bound to give statements in favour of it to look cool and get tags of human champions of new world order.