Case of Punjab...we refuse to be lesser citizens...

If you don't trust facts and figures, what will you trust????

And "Punjabi Nuclear Bomb"??????

That's not even funny. Dinosaur, why don't you go extinct like the rest of your species and save us from more baseless and ridiculous misinformation.

It should be less on per capita basis, because Sindh generates more revenue per capita. So where is the Case of Punjab? How can Punjabis be "lesser citizens" (referring to thread topic)?
Even this argument that Punjab gets less per capita is debatable. Just take a look at criterion for NFC award, which is population alone.

Cut this crap about revenue generation/collection now...the argument has been debunked a million times by me !!!

The revenue generation rants are the biggest fraud...if the provinces seal the boarders Sindh will not b e able to collect more than 25% of what they are collecting now !

Re: Case of Punjab...we refuse to be lesser citizens...

Punjab is the most propsperous province of Pakistan that controls all institutions in Pakeezstan, The rest is just twisting of figures and facts to suck more out of federal ketty.

All major corporations in Pakistan have headquarters in Karachi and tax collected from them is considered to be 'collected' and not 'generated' there. Income Tax/Sales Tax/Customs collected at Karachi port are not 'generated' but collected there.

I am for provincial autonomy and we are moving towards it but this 'generation of revenue' argument is pathetic.

[note] Let me make few things clear to posters who are promoting provincialism & ethnic/sectarian divide here. Stay within the forum rules. Sectarianism & hate posts are not allowed. [/note]

Twisting of figures??? Punjabi bomb ( :cb: :cb: :cb: ) is the only truth in the world eh??? rest is all twisted.

Let me tell you something, i left Pakistan at very early age and didn't know ANYTHING about MQM. Almost EVERYTHING i have learnt about MQM's ghatya pan is from my Sindhi friends(This is coming from a muslim in the month of Ramadan).They have told me what sort of problems they have encountered in Karachi, how they were threatened and harassed by MQM ghundas and hundreds of other stories (Forget Sindhis, some of these stories are from Mohajirs themselves) so my hatered is against MQM( not Sindhis or Mohajirs as you would like people to believe).

The whole Pakistan came on streets to support Azaad adliya and NOT punjabi or Sindhi, only sick minds think about who is Punjabi and Sindhi judge. For all NORMAL people, they were fighting for free judiciary.
Again only SICK people will call them PUNJABI goons, they were simply goons.
No one said that Mohajir GHUNDAYS were responsible for 3rd Novemeber incidents in Karachi, they were simply GHUNDAY belonging to certain party.

^Ditto.

Just shows this khoji guys hatred against punjabis. And its funny how he calls himself new Sindhi, while the new sindhis killed lot of old sindhis when sindhi language was promoted as official language of province.

Actually urdu speaking Pakistanis are the best Pakistani community and they can not be called MQM like you can not say Punjabis are from mafia league of N.$.Talking against MQM is as appriciateable as talking against N$.
Yeh donon Zia kay ha..mi bachay hain jo aapis main lar paray hain-

^ aur people's party walley kis key ha..mi bachey hain, zara yeh bhi batta?

He is a MQMer. They try to disguise themselves and to promote their provincial disharmony and anti-pakistani agenda, they claim all sorts of things. On the internet they pretend their sindhis and piss punjabis off, or claim they are pakhtuns and tick Sindhis off, to create rifts. Be wary of such people, this is a trait they share with quaid-e-fisaad altaf bhai.

In the end, no matter how hard these trouble makers try, they are yet to succeed in their plans, be it Jinnahpur or Altafpur.

Punjab
population= 95 million (spends $6 billion)

Sindh
population = 39 million (spends $4 billion)

NWFP
population = 34 million (spends $2.7 billion)

Balochistan
Population = 12 million (spends $1 billion).

Total provincial expenditure per year = $14 billion

Pakistan's total federal budget = $30 billion (that means $16 billion to take care of loan/interest payments, imports, military, federal expenses on government, medical, pensions etc.).

Now you guys tell me, What you think is the fare distribution of funds to replace the above figures.

Make sure you keep in $ billion.

Thank you.

Sorry the population figures were incorrect for NWFP and Balochistan.

Punjab
population= 95 million (spends $6 billion)

Sindh
population = 39 million (spends $4 billion)

NWFP
population = 27 million (spends $2.7 billion)

Balochistan
Population = 9 million (spends $1 billion).

Total provincial expenditure per year = $14 billion

Pakistan's total federal budget = $30 billion (that means $16 billion to take care of loan/interest payments, imports, military, federal expenses on government, medical, pensions etc.).

Now you guys tell me, What you think is the equitable distribution of funds to replace the above figures.

Make sure you keep in $ billion.

Thank you.

I would knock off another 500 million dollars from Punjab and distribute equally between the other three provinces to extend a gesture of goodwill and ensure a better provincial harmony...people demanding more to be knocked off Punjab budget need to go to Punjab public hospitals and schools to see the pathetic conditions there...really the poor people of Punjab can not sacrifice more just to keep the provincial harmony...!!! After all it is not Punjab to make the sacrifices all the time and others just make hate propaganda against Punjab...!!! Remember Punjab getting Rs 3000 per capita against other provinces getting Rs 4800 oer capita !!!

man ur response shows that u literally know nothing about it. ur comments is based on some reports or columns by some biased journalist.

many of my friends and few of my relatives lives in south punjab and they have appreciated the development initiatives taken by the pervaiz elahi.

i think u have no idea whats are the real factors that makes south Punjab different from north punjab. u have come to a wrong conclusion without having requisite knowledge of the whole issue.

See the following stats and then cry for Pakistan, and realize that in this thread people are fighting for crumbs “literally”.

With current provincial budgets, provincial share

$billion per year is:

Punjab 6.125
Sindh 4.088
NWFP 2.688
Balochistan 1.00

Per capita per YEAR spending ($):

Punjab 64.34
Sindh 104.54
NWFP 98.81
Balochistan 117.65

Per capita per DAY spending ($):
Punjab 0.18
Sindh 0.29
NWFP 0.27
Balochistan 0.32

That means an average man in Punjab gets 18 f’ing cents in government spending per day.

And the so-called richest province (according to you) i.e. Sindh gets 30 cents per day.

Now tell me why for few cents, even bother shouting at your Sindhi brothers?

hain.

Seriously this is the TIME to do introspection to figure out why the heck, Punjab is not earning at least $300 billion a year. Why as a nation we are failing to fully realize our potential.

Why Sindh is not producing $200 billion a year?

This is what we all need to think and plan for.

There is no need to fight on 20 cents/day. I hope you understand.

FYI. 15 million Mohajirs and 95 million Punjabis are the RULING ELITE of Pak, and both of these groups should be working together to figure out how to increase our budgets 100 times in the next 10 years.

Time to quit this bickering and infighting.

Basically I agree with you burqa bro..You have nailed the solution which is basically how to increase the cake..

But !!!

1) With present security situation it is almost impossible to increase the cake. We need to work seriously on religious extremism in the country...and for that we must start with adopting more secular approach in our govrnanace...People think America will take us back to stoneages but really any more dose of religious extremism will take us there, we seriously need to undo all this if we want to achieve anything on economic front !!!

Seriously at present if we buy some sophisticated equipment/machinery, even erectors don't come to Pakistan for security reasons, I know several plants are getting delayed for the erectors to come and install them...with this kind ground realities economic advancement seems wishful thinking !!!

2) May be for you and me a few cents mean nothing, but ask a man who goes for healthcare to Mayo hospital or Jinnah hospital or district hospital in Okara. after travelling hundreds of miles on broken roads from his village..and who sends his children to one of more than 100,000 government schools in Punjab, and a person who is getting atta at a subsidized rate after standing in line for three hours in heat and dust behind a vendor truck...these few cents are very important to him and if you want to knock off even that probably it will create a bigger security issue in the country for all the provinces. I think by now we should realize after NWFP situation and Balouchistan situation that if the law and order situation gets messed up anywhere in Pakistan we all get effected...

Are those figures correct? If they are then there is no real issue with the budgets then?

That leads me to one question - if the figures are correct then why is Punjab more developed than the rest? Is there more corruption elsewhere?

Seraikis are culturally quite different but one ofthe main reasons why so many vote PPP is that a lot of them dont have a choice. The area is very feudal - its weird - the so-called most democratic party of pakistan - the ppp - relies very heavily on more feudal areas to get votes.

As for the division of how money is spent within the province, its not fair just to make Punjab look like it is alone eating the Seraikis share. In fact other provinces have this regional distribution problem too - the north of NWFP especially Peshawar valley has had more money spent on it than the south ie D I Khan, Bannu.

Im sure places in Sindh such as Badin probably dont get as much as Larkana.

Based on my limited view, Punjab is more developed because their is less of a bickering and infighting between urban Punjab and rural Punjab.

Urban Punjab treats other ethnicities pretty much like their own. A typical Punjabi urban centers is open for business to Pashtuns, Sindhis, Mohajirs, or Balochis etc.

And perhaps those guys are more "capitalistic" and law abiding than the other provinces. Eventually the money grows better in Punjab.

Thus it is not simply "corruption" issue, it is how these guys live their lives with a bit less hostility to others.

See this is precisely why Sindh is less developed. Intellectuals like you are always looking at landed class as somehow "evil". That voting for landed aristocracy in your eyes is "terrible".

Remember! owning large tracts of land or big factories is not a crime. In fact large capital is one of the essential building blocks of a prosperous society.