Re: Case of Punjab...we refuse to be lesser citizens...
Come on people, let's just use these facts and figures to eradicate misconceptions. We still belong to ONE nation and as Pakistanis, we should not be using this thread to insult people from other ethnic background.
Let's have a healthy debate as it helps people learn more about others.
The figures mentioned above are concoction in face of the glaring and absolute monopoly Punjab is having over all sphere of "national" life in Pakistan. When lies, corruption, etc. go into the esence and foundation of the entire entity, you can expect such disinformation and distortion of facts.
Tommorrow they may claim, Punjabis don't even exist.
Some correction here.
Punjabis form only 44% of the Pakistani population. Why you count Siraikis who are a different nationality.
The military and civil bureaucracy is Punjabi...Due to this, Punjab takes the lion's share of the national resouces.
Political institutions are dominated by Punjabis.
Most of the industrial empires in Pakistan are owned by Punjabis and are located in Punjab.
Punjab has the most developed road network and infrastructure.
The natural resources e.g. water, hydroelectric power, natural gas of other provinces are exploited by Punjab for the benefit of the Punjabi population.
Punjab has competative advantage in one thing i.e. agriculture , which is provincial subject. Other things in which other provinces have competative advantage are federal subject. So in this way other provinces have been denied benefit of things in which they have competative advantage.
Even the nulear bomb that Punjab has is now-a-days being called "Punjabi Nuclear Bomb".
Lagta hai brainwashing sirf Madrasso’n main hi nahi hoti.
Brother, would you tell me where do you learn this bull $hit from??? I have NEVER heard of this “punjabi nuclear bomb” thing.
As for the rest of your points, i wouldn’t believe in any of that crap until you post factual based information.
Instead of that “Punjab is Paris” crap, let’s start with these figures
Punjab Budget 490 billion (43%) Population 56% Sindh Budget 327 billion (30%) Population 23%
NWFP Budget 215 billion (20%) Population 16% Balochistan 80 billion ( 7%) Population 5%
Why does Punjab get 43% when it’s population is 56%??? Why does Sindhet 30% with population of 23%???
*How easy was it for you to mention that Saraikis aren’t Punjabis and populatin of Punjabis is only 44% but Saraikis also share this budget (no seperate allocation) so your there goes your argument out of the window. *
While we are on this topic, can you tell me if everyone from NWFP is Pashtoon??? Not everyone from Sindh is Sindhi and similarly Balochistan has huge non Baloch population as well. So how does that help your argument???
In the end, if Punjab still has better roads and infrastructure with this budget then don’t you think it’s something to be really proud of???
^ Another one of those no substance emotional babble. I wish I lived in Punjab if it were all true!!!!
If you think Saraikis are different, then there is no 'nation' called Punjabi. There are diverse ethnicities living in the province Punjab.
Punjabi Nuclear Bomb :D thats what they sometimes get having had too many parathas and beans.
Punjab BOMB!!!!!!! hahahhahahahahah These guys are unbelieveable, with this type of brainwashing, you can understand their hatered towards Punjab and Punjabis.
This is not a brainwashing....this is a hard fact you are trying to hide behind the facade of Pakistani nationalism. Punjab is effectively manning, controlling, and housing the nuclear installations and assets. The command and control structure that deployes the nuclear weapons comprises entirely of Punjabis. Even the actual assets are being gaurded by elite Punjabi troops (with loyalty of Mahajars, Pashtuns, etc. in question to do so). Most of the Punjabis are aware and conscious their power and proud of it but try to conceal it.
The irony is they are dumping the nuclear waste in Dera Ismail Khan and Baluchistan.
Re: Case of Punjab…we refuse to be lesser citizens…
^^ LOAD Pai , few months ago , you were saying on GS that a** Nuclear Peepa **is carried on **Khoti Rairi **by rogue Paki Nuke Svientists with **24 V Exide battery ** to explode this **Peepa **in US .Have they not yet smuggled it to NYC coast and if not why
If you think Saraikis are different, then there is no 'nation' called Punjabi. There are diverse ethnicities living in the province Punjab.
Whether others think Saraikis are Punjabis or not does not matter, Saraikis themselves think they are not Punjabis.
This is why PPP usually wins in Saraiki areas, while Nawaz's Punjabi League wins in Punjabi areas.
Most development in Punjab is concentrated in Punjabi areas. This may explain why some Punjabis think they are loosing on per capita basis. Punjab's per capita might be lower due to Punjabi-speaking people neglecting Saraiki areas.
Whether others think Saraikis are Punjabis or not does not matter, Saraikis themselves think they are not Punjabis.
This is why PPP usually wins in Saraiki areas, while Nawaz's Punjabi League wins in Punjabi areas.
Most development in Punjab is concentrated in Punjabi areas. This may explain why some Punjabis think they are loosing on per capita basis. Punjab's per capita might be lower due to Punjabi-speaking people neglecting Saraiki areas.
Just like Karachi neglecting rest of Sindh?????
Doesn't that mean Mohajirs are neglecting real Sindhis??
At least Saraikis have much more in common with Punjabis than Mohajirs have with Sindhis.
What new Sindhis/old Sindhis/Pashtuns are doing may or may not be right. That is another discussion. Punjabis can not exonerate themselves by citing injustices done by others.
Point is that Punjabis cry foul on getting less money per capita, but do not say that whatever money they get based on WHOLE population of Punjab province, is used unjustly only in Punjabi speaking areas of Punjab.
What new Sindhis/old Sindhis/Pashtuns are doing may or may not be right. That is another discussion. Punjabis can not exonerate themselves by citing injustices done by others.
Point is that Punjabis cry foul on getting less money per capita, but do not say that whatever money they get based on WHOLE population of Punjab province, is used unjustly only in Punjabi speaking areas of Punjab.
I am sure you guys really care about Saraikis, now even if we don't spend a single dollar on Sarikis, we still get less than our population (44% population recieves 43%). Compare that with Sindh which gets 8% more than their population and same for other two provinces as well. But all we hear is Punjabis stealing money from others???
Punjab Budget 490 billion (43%) Population 56%
Sindh Budget 327 billion (30%) Population 23%
NWFP Budget 215 billion (20%) Population 16% Balochistan 80 billion ( 7%) Population 5%
This is not a brainwashing....this is a hard fact you are trying to hide behind the facade of Pakistani nationalism. Punjab is effectively manning, controlling, and housing the nuclear installations and assets. The command and control structure that deployes the nuclear weapons comprises entirely of Punjabis. Even the actual assets are being gaurded by elite Punjabi troops (with loyalty of Mahajars, Pashtuns, etc. in question to do so). Most of the Punjabis are aware and conscious their power and proud of it but try to conceal it.
The irony is they are dumping the nuclear waste in Dera Ismail Khan and Baluchistan.
More emotional babble without any substance. More like what they teach in madrassas or show in hollywood action movies.
P.S. Nuclear waste is produces when you actually use nuclear energy (to produce electricity e.g.) which Karachi has been using since 1972 at KANUPP.
But all we hear is Punjabis stealing money from others???
Punjab Budget 490 billion (43%) Population 56%
Sindh Budget 327 billion (30%) Population 23%
If we look at the NFC award distribution, we see that Punjab has allowed to use population as the only sole criterion. Thus it gets most from the federal government, without regard to who generates most revenue and what are the most under-developed areas of the country.
As Shadan said earlier, if Sindhis are depriving Punjabis of money then Punjabis should be the ones supporting provincial autonomy, not Sindhis.
You guys have a problem with ethnic Punjabis or the province of Punjab?
If it is ethnicity (read, racism), what's the next step? Divide Karachi into 10 financially and politically autonomous areas?
I think most ethnic Punjabis have problem with non-Punjaibs (read, racism).
To name some examples:
Many Punjabis abuse ALL new Sindhi people in the guise of abusing MQM.
Many Punjabis were on the streets to support a Punjabi judge but were silent when a Sindhi judge was attacked by Punjabi goons of Nawaz League.
What is 'New Sindhi people'? No one 'abuses' MQM. Facts speak for themselves.
No one said anything about the judges belonging to any ethnicity. I detest PML attacking supreme court. I detest NS for Shariah Bill. Most people in Punjab support or reject politicians on issues rather than their race.
If all Punjabis had an agenda and were united, they won't be PML-Q in existence. There won't be so much diversity in Punjab Assembly. There would have been banners and posters of NS atleast 10% of the number we see for Altaf bhai in Karachi.
Half of my family and friends are Urdu speaking and I do not tolerate anyone abusing the race. But I do detest MQM for its violence. Many of my Punjabi friends loved and still love Musharraf.
No need to be emotional and stay within ethnic bounds all the time.
Problem is not with abusing MQM. Problem is with many Punjabis abusing new Sindhis in the guise of abusing MQM.
No one said anything about the judges belonging to any ethnicity. I detest PML attacking supreme court. I detest NS for Shariah Bill.
Then I am not talking about you.
If all Punjabis had an agenda and were united, they won't be PML-Q in existence. ... There would have been banners and posters of NS atleast 10% of the number we see for Altaf bhai in Karachi.
Are you saying that new Sindhi/muhajir/Urduspeaking people have an agenda against others since they are relatively more united?
Half of my family and friends are Urdu speaking and I do not tolerate anyone abusing the race.
Well, MOST of MY friends are Punjabis. And I also do not tolerate anyone abusing a whole people, including mine.
Many of my Punjabi friends loved and still love Musharraf.
So you think Musharraf the dictator is the hero of all new Sindhi/Urdu speaking people?
But as far as your friends loving Musharraf, I have yet to meet any of them myself.
No need to be emotional and stay within ethnic bounds all the time.
Amen to that. Stop abusing other people (not necessarily you yourself) in the guise of abusing the political party and there will be no such discussion.
If we look at the NFC award distribution, we see that Punjab has allowed to use population as the only sole criterion. Thus it gets most from the federal government, without regard to who generates most revenue and what are the most under-developed areas of the country.
As Shadan said earlier, if Sindhis are depriving Punjabis of money then Punjabis should be the ones supporting provincial autonomy, not Sindhis.
Whatever it gets from federal budget is still less on per capita basis than other provinces, figures speak for themselves.