Case of Punjab...we refuse to be lesser citizens...

Being a resident of Punjab does not mean I am a lesser Pakistani. Already my vote means less in the election of President and senate. As individuals people of Punjab demand the country should be run on one man one vote like any other democracy in the world. For every 100 rupees spent on a resident of Sindh only 62 rupees are being spent for the well being of on an individual from Punjab..

Punjab gets a 47% share in the resources from the divisible pool for provinces for 62% of Pakistan’s population and furthur attempts to curtail it. With 15% of development funds being allocated to 62% population from Federal development fund and attempts to furthur curtail it. Already a big chunk of Punjab’s tax contibution are being given to Sindh as a service of collecting these taxes in their region as 47% of divisible pool is on the basis of tax collection. To give you an example all the major oil marketing companies who sell bulk of their fuels in Punjab deposit the taxes on these sales in Karachi. All the banks who generate bulk of their profits from their business activities in Punjab deposit all their taxes in Karachi. With Sindh insisting on dividing the provincial pool on the basis o tax collection I think Punjab has no choice left but to :

1. Seal our borders and start collecting taxes contributed by Punjab population within Punjab borders and disallow businesses who have their head quarters outside Punjab to do business in Punjab.

2. Demand total provincial autonomy by demanding income tax, custom taxs, sales tax and all type of fuel surcharges and other federal levies to be collected by provinces and should become provincial taxes.

3. Demad for royalty of passage given to Sindh share of water flowing throw Punjab lands as Sindh is collecting huge charges and royalties for the transit and port services.

4. Demand to undertake development projects such as Kalabagh dam on provincial basis as these projects are essential for well being of Punjab population which happens to be the majority of population of Pakistan..

Any furthur attempts to curtail Punjab’s share will force Punjab to demand these extreme measures

Poverty incidence highest in Punjab, NFC told

Saturday, August 29, 2009
Two committees to finalise vertical, horizontal resource distribution

By Khalid Mustafa

ISLAMABAD: On the second day of the meeting of the National Finance Commission (NFC), the participants were in for a rude shock when they were told by Punjab that it had the highest poverty incidence in the country, even more than Balochistan. The revelation came in the form of an exhaustive presentation made by the Punjab delegates here on Friday.

Arguably a well-researched document, the presentation successfully questioned the myth that Punjab was benefiting unfairly or excessively from the existing resource distribution formula based on population, arguing the province was getting just 47 per cent allocation from the divisible pool against its 57 per cent population.

The province of 80 million people, however, for the first time also asked for the net hydel profit of Mangla dam arguing its power house falls in the jurisdiction of Punjab.

“We have also placed the demand, seeking net hydel profit of Ghazi-Barotha hydropower project that has been worked out at Rs18 billion during the last six years,” Punjab Finance Minister Tanvir Ashraf Kaira told the media after the first break in the ongoing meeting.

“We have so far not worked out the volume of net hydel profit of Mangla dam, but we will claim the said dues as under the Constitution Punjab qualifies for hydel profit as the power house of Mangla falls in its jurisdiction,” he said.

“The two-day meeting of the National Finance Commission (NFC), which met under the chairmanship of Federal Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin ended with a decision to form two committees for vertical and horizontal distribution of resources amongst the four provinces,” Sindh Chief Minister Qaim Ali Shah told the media persons. The committees will consist of provincial finance secretaries headed by the federal finance secretary. They will recommend distribution of vertical resources.”

The first committee will thrash out the benchmark of expenditure of provinces and the centre also. Qaim said in the secretaries’ committee two lady secretaries have also been included.

The second committee, comprising all NFC members and headed by Shaukat Tarin, will take up matters relating to horizontal distribution of resources amongst the provinces. It will also submit recommendations on issues such as impact of war on terror in the NWFP and Balochistan, net hydel profit and GST on services. “The terms of reference for both the committees will be issued shortly.”

All the provinces were unanimous that GST on services should be handed over to the provinces from the NFC’s purview.

Qaim said the federal finance ministry made a presentation to the NFC members about the position of national economy and the federal government’s financial transfer formulas being followed in the past and at present. The provincial representatives also briefed the NFC members, through presentations, about the financial position and economic problems of their respective provinces.

“The next meeting of NFC would be held in Quetta on September 18-19, 2009, which will consider reports of both the committees. The two sub-committees will now meet on Sept 4-5.”

As far as poverty incidence in Sindh is concerned Qaim said according to the World Bank it stands at over 45 per cent and as per Rural Support Programme it ranges between 45 to 55 per cent. Qaim said Sindh advocates for horizontal distribution of financial resources.

Punjab Finance Minister Kaira said per capita financial resources distribution in Punjab stand at Rs3,073, Sindh (Rs4,826), NWFP (Rs4,032) and in Balochistan at Rs6,365.

**He said these figures have been acquired from the centre and according to them poverty incidence is highest in Punjab. When this scribe wanted to know if this meant that Balochistan was the most prosperous federating unit, Kaira said Balochistan has five per cent population and it gets five per cent from the divisible pool while Punjab is taking just 47 per cent allocation as against 57 per cent population.

He said if poverty is included as a factor for the basis of new mechanism of resource distribution mechanism, then Punjab and the NWFP would be the beneficiaries.

According to a copy of the presentation of Punjab available with The News, per capita development expenditures in Punjab stand at Rs1,531 while the figure for Balochistan is Rs3,590.

Balochistan is spending Rs4,976 per person on law and order where as Punjab is spending just Rs2,576. Punjab in its presentation stressed for distribution formula based on population, but subject to judicious vertical and horizontal resource distribution among the four federating units.**

Member (NWEP) Haji Adeel expressed sorrow over the presentation of Punjab and termed the facts and figures shown in the presentation as fictitious, saying the income of the masses living in the NWFP is much less, which is why the poverty incidence in the NWFP is too high.

Adeel disclosed that on the issue of net hydel profit of the NWFP, the experts’ team of his province will hold meeting on Saturday with Wapda officials in the ministry of finance, Q Block.

Finance Secretary Salman Siddique said the federation has projected the future revenue projection on the basis of MEFP (Memorandum of Economic and Financial Policies) that Pakistan has agreed with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

To a question he said for the current fiscal the volume of federal divisible pool stands at Rs1,270 billion out of which the share of provinces stands at Rs590 billion.

NWFP Finance Minister Humayun Khan said Wapda will brief the province on Saturday over net hydel profit issue in Islamabad.

Member (Balochistan) Dr Gulfraz Khan said per capita service and development cost is too high in Balochistan, which is why poverty in the province has increased manifold. “Now it is badly needed to bring Balochistan at par with other provinces in terms of economic equality.”

err great great. yaaawwwn, slow news day i guess.

another mockery of numbers.
for the sake of counter argument:
bottom line is sir amount of money sindh deposits in the pool it doesnt get its due share, i dont know what someone was trying to prove using the dividing total with each and every single individual but matter of fact is Punjab get huge share and other three get less one of them sindh deposits almost 50%+ of total revenue, natural resources etc, although they need more as much of development in punjab is already done.

firstly there arent much of the organizations left who do that kind but as there is other way around as well.
as to counter it what sindh can do is try to bring back industry that went to punjab in and after zia era when law order situation was created deliberately in sindh as state policy.

2) Demand total provincial autonomy by demanding income tax, custom taxs, sales tax and all type of fuel surcharges and other federal levies to be collected by provinces and should become provincial taxes.
do it and next year it wont have 50% of what it gets frankly.

3) Demad for royalty of passage given to Sindh share of water flowing throw Punjab lands as Sindh is collecting huge charges and royalties for the transit and port services.
would be considered an act of war.
you cant do that as based n international treaties ones at the tail of river has more right than one at the top that is why it is called indus river or daryae sindh.
by the water dont come and land in punjab directly, but through NWFP so what if they try to control the flow.

4) Demand to undertake development projects such as Kalabagh dam on provincial basis as these projects are essential for well being of Punjab population which happens to be the majority of population of Pakistan..

firstly no one would fund without sindhs permissions as it is sindh on tail also Punjab govt itself cant undertake such a project itself, selling wheat?

The basis for the creation of Pakistan was that because of the one man one vote system, if the English left, Hindus would be in the majority and muslims would never be able to elect their representatives because one man one vote would mean even if all the muslims voted for their candidate and only half of the hindus voted for their, they would still win. The muslim vote would become useless. Same is the case with the votes of Pashtoons, Sindhis and Balochis today. Qauid-e-Aazam demanded a seperate country so that muslims of sub-continent could take their political decisions themselves and elect their own leaders. This fruit, today is enjoyed only by the Punjab province because of its majority and the rest of the provinces have the same reservations against it as the Mulsims of India had.

If one man one vote was sooo important, why did we find it evil for the bengalis to think Bengali should be made the national language or their right to rule Pakistan? Why was one unit created? We should have simply accepted that they are in majority and the rest of the four provinces in sheer minority.

I am not against any Punjabi or Punjab. But this argument triggered my response. Every nation demands respect and freedom. Pakistan, though one country, is a country of many nations/ethnicities. Efforts should be made to safeguard the rights and interests of all of them otherwise they will start developing feelings of helplessness and would demand seperation on the same basis on which the Muslims of India seperated from the Hindus - POLITICAL DISPARITY.

Sindh does not deposit their money, this money is contributed by the consumers/people from all over the country...

Again the argument is based on collection. I don't know how much more Sindh wants to rob Punjab on this basis. Already a big chunk of divisible pool is being distributed on collection basis. With 85% of revenue generation in Pakistan depending on indirect taxes which are directly related to GDP the place where this tax is being collected is totally irrelevent. Actually people of Pakistan are contributing bulk of these taxes on their consumption patterns.

Collection and contribution are two different things. If this higway robbery on Punjab's share continues Punjab will have no choice but to seal the borders and start collecting these taxes in Punjab. Punjab gets 47% from divisible pool and these figures are authentic figures from the federal government data if you read the preceedings from NFC meeting. And let me tell you the news..the development of Punjab is far from over, infact place where 62% of Pakistanis live is as much under developed as anyother part of Pakistan!!!

And if you want to improve development in Sindh you have to do it with Rs 4800 per capita being given to you against Rs 3000 per capita being given to Punjab. Don't insist on getting Rs 6500 per capita by curtailing Punjab's share to Rs 1500 per capita. It will be no longer interesting for Punjab to stay in federation if that happens !!!

Re: Case of Punjab...we refuse to be lesser citizens...

So, we should move away from democracy? Can you suggest a solution to it all?

For your information Punjab contributes over 60% of Pakistan's GDP against 26% of Sindh. Tax contribution in 85% of tax kitty which come as indirect taxes is directly related to GDP. My friend your assumption will be proven totally wrong if that happens...

Tjhere is much more to wheat in Punjab economy which makes a total of over 60% of the total GDP of Pakistan...don't be too much worried !!!

With 60% of Pakistan's GDP Punjab can also raise 60% of total resources. You should not have sleepless nights about how Punjab will finance the development projects !!

Greater Provincial Autonomy..............Give more powers to the Provinces. Because that is the level at which we are all equal.

A politically strong center means all the important posts will always go to Punjabis because of their strength. If you have a very intelligent and capable Pashtoon leader and a very corrupt and dumb Punjabi leader (just in case), the Punjabi would always get elected to the top spot just because Punjabis are in majority.

Politically strong provinces would mean that the people of every province had a fair say in electing people to powerful posts (provincial assemblies).

Democracy, if it only means the rule of the majority, then we should not have seperated and should have lived under democracy in a united India and should have allowed the Bengalis to rule. Why are we shouting now in favor of the same system of political disparity against which we used to shout in India and against which we used to shout when the Bengalis would benefit from the same system? Is it not just because today, the same system benefits Punjab?

^ Given absolute autonomy to, for example, NWFP or Sindh, then most of the political power would be centered in Peshawar or Karachi because most of the people live there. Won't there be a problem when all the top slots (in autonomous provinces) would go to Peshawar or Karachi people and not to other capable people from lesser developed areas?

What's the problem if you get political representation according to your population...why do want to have other people's share or share more than you deserve !

This argument would have been valid if being a Punjabi I was getting Rs 4800 and being a Sindhi you would have been getting Rs 3000 per head !

in the past it never happened............ how in the future it will happen.

khan sahab thora sa share punjab ku bhi day dain atleast it has atleast 4 to 5 time more population than NWFP............lols

By the way u only mentioned Pustoon competency. What about the hinduko speaking population living predominently in Haripur and abbotabad. i know many of such families who are well educated and competent and very successful in every field of life. (dont be biased coz instead of sying ppl of NWFP u only mentioned pukhtoon........... khan sahib atleast province level pur tu itni dicscrimination na karain)

primariy we are all pakistanis. by the way i wud suggest u to see the list of pakistan premiers and CAOS and general. and u will find many pathans and other non punjabis.

by the way ppl here are talking about more financial autonomy. does ne one noticed that most of the provincial bugets are tax free. means no new tax is imposed on the provincial level. provided that we have lowest tax to GDP ratio in the region. instead identifying the sectors that are not in the ambit of tax provincial govts always begging from federal govt.

Cosider a scenario: There are four families living in one house.
System 1:They all earn and then share the money and distribute it according to the size of each family. The bigger family will always get a bigger share regardless of the work it has done or the money it has earned.
System 2:Give them all seperate rooms in the same home and ask them to earn for their own families. The one who works/earns more, gets more.

If some day the bigger family owes some money to any of the smaller families, it can't say i won't give u the money unless u tell me how are you gonna distributed it within ur family. Which family member will get how much of it? The only thing that the bigger family should do is to return the money without caring for how would the smaller family distribute it. Its their problem. They should resolve it among themselves.

I think the main problem is that we do not recognize the fact that there are four different families living in the house.

Why did u not accept your due share of political representation in a united India? You would have gotten wat you deserved there.

I did not in any way mean any ethnicity is superior to any other. That was just an example scenario.

primariy we are all pakistanis. by the way i wud suggest u to see the list of pakistan premiers and CAOS and general. and u will find many pathans and other non punjabis

That is because we never had any stable political system. Most of the times, when anyone else came into power, it was only possible because of Martial Law or any other military rule.

So what's the solution. Make 62 percent equivalent to 25 percent..

Why do you think I would agree on being 0.4 citizen of Pakistan.

Your argument about earning more or less is totally baseless...now suppose there are 4 brothers running a shop. One brother is sitting on cash counter. Now the brother refuses to recognize the effort of other brothers and says as he is collecting the cash therefore it is his income...

FYI Punjab contributes over 78 percent to the exports...over 75 in home remittances...major chunk in all the industrial fields, cotton, rice, leather, carpet, paper, household, fans, washing machines, engineering, automobiles, tractors, motor cycles, cycles, consumer items (nestle-lever), milk, meat, poultry and everything you can imagine with 62 percent contribution in GDP B

^Don't forget, a major contribution for Pakistan that is foreign exchange remittances sent by overseas Pakistanis, which is around 10 billion dollars, major share of which a year are also contributed by Punjabis.

Last years provincial budgets

Punjab Budget 490 billion (43%) Population 56%
Sindh Budget 327 billion (30%) Population 23%

NWFP Budget 215 billion (20%) Population 16%
Balochistan 80 billion ( 7%) Population 5%

I get your point, but the problem doesn't end there. The population concentration and economic development is also skewed within the provinces. If we go on with this, the poorest of the areas in Baluchistan will never get anything since the population and economic growth is minimal there. Districts withing each province would want the same principle applied and major share of resources within a province would go to the most developed district while we need to spend more on the poorer districts.