I am talking about ' Some ' - who always try to speak Urdu in an attempt to prove something while we all know the future of Urdu in India :)
But there's lots of muslims in Pakistan who speak just Pashto or Punjabi and not urdu. And India does have some great urdu still. You just have to look beyond the media and politics.
um what pal? is this one more of your attempts to validate the two nation theory? :D
I dont need to validate anything - existence of Pakistan is a living proof of it ... :)
But there's lots of muslims in Pakistan who speak just Pashto or Punjabi and not urdu. And India does have some great urdu still. You just have to look beyond the media and politics.
well allow me to have the liberty of quoting one of your fellow indian .... kindly read the bold part - translation would be ' a nation is known by its religion and language' ...
ek qaum/millat apne mazhab aur apnii zabaan se pahchaanii jaatii hai...agar yeh nahiiN to ham bhii nahiiN...oreos and coconuts will always be oreos and coconuts...they will never be accepted by those they are trying to imitate.
so in light of the bold statement , mentioned above - please elaborate the identification of an Indian to me :)
and please - India doesn't have great Urdu anymore !
how about the state supported attempts to kill urdu 's existence on Indian soil .... how many of fellow country men can actually read urdu ?
how many urdu magazine / newspaper are published in India over the circulation of 10,000 copies ?
why the language of your movies and dramas has changed into shud hindi from the version of urdu - which was quite popular in 70s and 80s ...
how many billboards are made in urdu language ? even in big cities - figure please ?
so when Hindi is one of your national languages - or the core national language - then Indian people whether Muslim or non muslim ] should feel proud in promoting it rather then clinging with the language which was created /nourished by Invaders :)
But if they still feel like associating with it - then again it is an another validation of ' Two nation theory ' and the ideology behind the creation of Pakistan ....
dude you are getting your knickers in a twist over nothing. i get it that as a hyderabadi shia mohajir who looks more indian than indians themselves, your identity in pakistan is vested greatly in the urdu card. it irks you each time you see indians who speak urdu because deep down inside it annoys you that you aren't able to claim this identity uniquely. you need to loosen up with the jealousy. these are your cultural brothers.
but sure, if it makes you happy, urdu definitely gets way more importance in pakistan than in india. in india, it is just another regional language that has the status of national language, but is never going to regain any of its elitist status - partly because of how life has changed in the urdu belt (the britishers broke the back of UP after 1857), and partly because urdu is no longer the language of progress and education. it is as important or unimportant as any of the other 19 or so regional language that gets taught as the optional second language in most govt schools in the state it is spoken.
It shames me to admit it but I can hardly write a paragraph in Urdu its sad really and the awful thing is that in my university I have to study a course in Urdu and clear a competency paper I have been avoiding picking up that course so far but I don't know what I will do because I'm gonna have to clear it some time and it really embarrasses me to get an Urdu tutor at this age. Its sad really.
i believe ur avataar was winking on your behalf when u made this statement ;) and winking BIG time, indeed! :)
Yes and big time no. ;)
What I see is 'Hindi' as Urdu language which has relatively more sansikrit words. That's all. Urdu is all open language by default so still should be called Urdu.
Official Hindustani/Indians just wanted to separate the from Urdu as it reminds them of being subdued for a very very long time. :(
DID I MENTION THAT?
that's what i asked because Punjabi script is not used by Pakistanis, muslims in particular. when u said u can read and write Punjabi, i got stunned :)
What I see is Hindi is Urdu language which has relatively more sansikrit words. That's all. Urdu is all open language by default so still should be called Urdu.
Official Hindustani/Indians just wanted to separate the from Urdu as it reminds them of being subdued for a very very long time. :(
you have your own world so i can NOT argue with that my friend :)
that's what i asked because Punjabi script is not used by Pakistanis, muslims in particular. when u said u can read and write Punjabi, i got stunned :)
No I didn't. So listen, Pakistanis don't use GURMUKHI script, they use SHAHMUKHI script.
oh ok...but what does that look like? urdu? can you plz show me an image of shahmukhi...thank you :)