… speak, read & write your mother tongue and how important is it to you?
Re: Can you…
Indeed I Can … ![]()
paR yea bi sochta hooN k Kis k GhaR ja’ay ga saylaB-e-bala mere baad …
Re: Can you...
yes, yes, yes and very important
Ji, ji, ji aur bahot zaroori
yes, yes and yes, although I'm not too great with speed and spelling when it comes to reading/writing.
^ ditto.
Very important. My Urdu as far as speaking is concerned is perfect. Reading and writing isn't the best though. I grew up in Saudi Arabia where I only studied Arabic as a kid and did not start Urdu until the 6th grade, my dad made me take it because he felt it was important for us to be able to read and write in our mother tongue. While I do have the ability to read and write clearly, reading an Urdu newspaper too long gives me a headache and writing is a chore. It just doesn't come naturally like English.
urdu hai jiskaa naam hamiiN jaante haiN, "DaaGh!"
saare jahaaN meN dhoom hamaarii zabaan kii hai!**
ek qaum/millat apne mazhab aur apnii zabaan se pahchaanii jaatii hai...agar yeh nahiiN to ham bhii nahiiN...oreos and coconuts will always be oreos and coconuts...they will never be accepted by those they are trying to imitate. **
^ You don't really have to stick your head up a language's ass to prove you can read, write and speak it.
Good points.
Well I can speak my Mother tongue but I dont think our original language however since writing is unknown in Chagatai, Naiman and Jochidee I dont think there any hope of it surviving for much longer… ![]()
As for Urdu and Potowari which is simmilar to Punjabi I can speak read and write… Allah ka shukar. ![]()
**oh…i didn’t know about ur mother tongue NOT being urdu.
yeah, it’s sad that certain languages with no script and literature are lost. i never heard of ChuGHtai language b4 and it’s great to know. i know a few people whose last name is ChuGhtaaii…do they speak ChuGhtaaii language?
great to know that you can read/write/speak the great language of Urdu. keep it up :)**
I can speak it, but not 100% perfect in it, and sadly its only a dialect so no way of being able ot read or write it.
I can speak it perfectly fine, can read it at a very slow pace and I don't even attempt to write it. I wish I was able to read and write just as well as I speak it though :( Speaking it is very important for me.
My mother tongue is Punjabi. I can read and speak it but I've never tried writing it. And yes its important to me.
mother tounge as in madre zuban or the zuban that my amman speaks?
My mother tongue is Punjabi. I can read and speak it but I've never tried writing it. And yes its important to me.
i believe in Pakistan they write Punjabi in urdu script...right? GurmuKhi [the Punjabi script] is mostly NOT used in Pakistan, i guess.
Read and speak back of my hand, as for writing I can manage but each year its getting worse ![]()
Mother/Father tongue would be Punjabi.......can't read or write it easily since the 'Shahmukhi'script does not properly work....... although i speak thetest punjabi and it is very very important to me....
i can read and write urdu quite ok too.....can't speak it in the proper 'accent' though..
my mother tongue is punjabi and i cant do any of it.
though my urdu is very “shaista”. :halo:
I can speak it at a decent level but anything advanced I can't use in conversation. I can't read or write as it is a dialect so was never taught it in class.
I used to be able to write a little in urdu but that was high school days. Now, I can just about write my name in Urdu.