Re: Can you rank the castes from highest to lowest
Now that you’ve put SID_NY in his place, give us the ranking.
Among people from rural Pakistan, there are plentiful of stereotypes and perceptions.
As for ranking, I know for sure that Jatt, Gujjar and derivations of these casts are considered superior to the working class, consisting of qaasbis, mochees, tailis and such. Some even call the latter “kuttay billay” (ie not worthy of being considered human beings). Caste system is a real cause for concern in rural Pakistan. Don’t know about the larger cities, but never heard my neighbors and acquaintances mention caste in Islamabad.
In any case, like so many times before, @Southie is the one making the most sense in a thread. All discrimination and bigotry is wrong.
If the “most of us” you refer to includes people who have to raise “two sides” to some obvious issues, I am glad I don’t see gray where there is none.
Assigning blame where it overwhelmingly belongs is not just liberal. It is honest.
Those who make excuses for abhorrent conduct by authorities by bringing up red herrings are part of the problem.
That makes liberals see red.
Cheers.
Sure OMYA. So, you can rest in peace eh?
I’ve heard that Brahmins are at the top of the ladder in the Indian caste hierarchy. I might have picked that up from various courses and movies. Do I believe it? Nope. I treat it like basic knowledge about a society’s general perception on a matter…no matter how warped it may be.
So my friend…or former friend rather…the one I was playfully sparring with one day about castes…is a Rajput. I am an Arain. So, it sparked a curiosity within me about caste perception and I googled it. Not much was to be found. I even tried to search on GS. My search yielded that rajputs seemed to be considered higher in the hierarchy and then I had also read somewhere that now the Arains have caught up so that the division between the two isn’t as marked. So based on that…I could say that society tends to rank the former higher than my own caste. But that doesn’t mean I agree with this ranking. In the end I was amused by the notion of it…I didn’t care. And before you assume that I am making jest if a serious social issue…I’m not. By amused…I mean that I find it silly.
Even in attempting to tackle and reform the warped perceptions of society…be it the caste system…or fair skin vs dark…one first has to get an idea of the general mental ranking that society has set up. And in learning about that ranking…even just for the sake of gaining knowledge…doesn’t automatically render the seeker of that knowledge a “follower” of the caste system.
^ Aryaputri
You talk like my sister. She can talk for half an hour non-stop, without really saying anything.
Now where did I hear that logic? Oh yeah. Rush in his radio show, every single day. He was just cribbing about something that was to his left, which is pretty much everything, except KKK.
You talk like my pardada Jee. Lakh samjhanay k baad bhi dheet banday ko kab samajh main aata hai? Just understand two things: 1) I don’t condone the caste system and whatever ranking society has set up. 2) A person who is curious about the ranking does not necessarily render them a proponent or follower of the caste system. If that’s too much for you…then just understand point # 2. Bas. Peace.
He said plenty, guess you just failed to understand any of it
and surely thats an oxymoron, talking without saying anything? or is she on silent
Thank you for the succinct reply. Still no ranking; so I am assuming you don’t know what it is.
Its your thread; as long as you understood it, am fine.
EXACTLY. love how everyone seems to be taking the moral high ground when it comes to a completly innocent discussion about castes
‘how dare you judge, castes are not part of Islam… now lets all go back to hating on Shias and Ahmadis’
oh this typical world we live in…
rather than sitting there feeling cocky how about you prove your arrogance to us and rank them for us then?
If you take pride in your succintness then at least give it some purpose.
No, I do not have a ranking for all the castes. I do not even know the names of all the castes. I have only heard comparison of rankings between 2 or 3 castes.
The fact that I don’t have complete knowledge of a breakdown of ALL the rakings doesn’t mean that there isn’t a general ranking based on stereotypes or whatever that is commonly known among society.
If you’re trying to point out to SID and others that "Look Rv is running her mouth as usual but she still hasn’t answered the OP’s question about what is the ranking"..…then here…I will admit that I don’t know. But tell me OMWYA…does pointing this out about me to people…make the assumption that OP follows the caste-system or that he endorses it more valid? No, it doesn’t.
Go back to my original post in this thread. I NEVER answered nor addressed the OP’s question about ranking. I ONLY addressed the matter of people chiding him for even asking such a question as though he is a proponent of the blasted system. For you to make a “show” of continuing to ask me “So where’s the ranking?” “No ranking from you yet RV”…does not make people’s assumptions and attitude about OP more logical.
thank you redvelvet, at least you were honest enough to admit that you do not know. nothing embarrassing about that at all. far more noble that what OYMWA is doing, attempting to be a know-it-all whilst failing to answer the question himself. as soon as we ask him to step up he conveniently runs away. can you hear that chicken clucking? bwuck bwuck ![]()
^Oh I am not embarrassed. And I don’t think OMYA is pretending to know. Nor do I care if he does know the ranking. I felt like he was slapping me on the wrist for “putting Sid in place” by asking me if can now actually bother to answer the original question of the thread. Perhaps OMWYA thought that my failure to provide the answer would somehow justify that even asking about a ranking is foolish or offensive. So, I wanted to clarify to him that my not knowing the complete ranking doesn’t validate the assumptions made about OP’s intentions. As Jolie said earlier…it’s good to know how the world around u works.
tbh I don’t know why ranking caste’s is getting everyone so worked up, when we have bigger issues, i.e. as someone mentioned above - Sunni v Shia which are causing far more problems than a simple caste system. It’s a part of our culture. Like it or lump it.
Ok someone’s got to educate this young lady obviously from a higher caste of Hindustan’s established caste system culture!
In Pakistan we have
**1. Shahheen on top of the World
Shah Baaz is next
Shikra is number three
Shutter Murg is fourth!
Sher Shah is fifth
Luggar Bagga is sixth
Geedar comes in last!
I hope all that is clear now!
The classic both sides are extreme response by the Moderates.
How about them Moderates! Not as bad as the rethugs is the best thing that comes to mind.
Am out of this discussion with you. Cheers.
Thank you for that.
Thank you also for that.
One more thanks for that.
Now here, he was not chided for his views on caste, but advised not to waste time trying to rank them. Because just last week we saw a thread about hyderabadis vs punjabis where a lot of silliness was spewed.
Personally I don’t care about all this caste business. But the way we made a spectacle of ourselves here, a Hindu, from among whom we inherited this non-sense, was able to come here and pretty much say that Islam is deficient in dealing with this. When Islam has clearly erased these boundaries, we still go about with it making excuses like, ’ the way the world works’, ‘hey my forefathers did it’ etc. I don’t mind us having an open discussion about castes, tribes, ethnicities etc, ( and we have a forum for it ) but trying to rank them is simply mischief.