Can you ever recover from being cheated on or having rishta breakdown?

I’d like feedback from a rishta breakdown that occurred to me a while ago I still have issues getting over. I am not sure what I did wrong in this relationship or why this girl who claimed to love me left me for another. Especially since the guy whose rishta
she left me for dd not match what she wanted in a husband.

**Summary so you don’t have to read whole thing. female friend was in rishta with this guy she didn’t like in beginning. He used to flirt with other girls, say bad things to her, they used to fight and argue over things. He was rich and herr parents liked him. He left her and she came to me, we got close, I was always there for her and her family. We told parents they made our rishta final. She said she loved me, I got her gifts, spent time with her when she was going through tough time with family. Then one day I found out she was also seeing the ex rishta. She told me she wanted to marry him even though he had reputation to flirt, did not want her to work but she wanted to and other issues. In end I told parents I wasn’t ready for marriage and rishta broke up because she didn’t want blame. She got marriedand my parents are happy for her.My question is why would she leave me for someone like him? He didn’t respect her or her future dreams. If she had to leave me couldn’t she find someone better? What did I do wrong? Should I change? How do I get over this?

This girl was a good friend of mine. We were family friends for a long time and I had always been there for her. When she wanted help with homework I would help her, if she needed printing for assignments i would travel far if my printer did not work, I would chat with her online when she was going through family issues, even dropping her at hospital and staying with her till late when her grandmother was ill.

Her parents did not think I was that worthy but her grandmother liked me. Her parents found her with this good looking guy with good job and family that her parents arranged. She told me she wasnt happy and her parents were pressuring her. Her parents were very happy but he was not faithful to her flirting with other girls, sometimes he was verbally abusive and I would say chauvinistic in his attitudes. He did not want her to work after marriage. So they had a disagreement and he flirted with this other girl. The rishta broke up. She came to me. I comforted her, we became closer friends and over some time I felt I was in love with her and she was with me. We told our parents who fixed the rishta. She told me she was in love with me and said I was the only one she loved in that way. I bought her gifts, flowers on special days, cooked for her and her family when they visited, she came to visit me whenever she wanted to chat and felt lonely.

Her parents had accepted but they werent that happy as i was not as successful. Then during engagement period but before marriage I found out she was still seeing her ex rishta. I confronted her and she told me she wanted to marry him, she could only be happy with him and her parents approved more than with our rishta. Obviously I was devastated. I was the only guy she had really been with. In the end I couldn’t stop them but because I loved her a lot I took blame and said I wasn’t ready for marriage so the rishta broke. She apologised to me but I knew I was just rebound rishta for her and she never loved me that way. It was all about physical affection. She is married now, also very religious and conservative, she doesn’t work and I am sure she looks down on me. He is very rich so he can give her all material comforts i could not. We never argued. She always used to talk about how she wanted to work and her ambitions. Now she does not even work.

I had known her for a long time and she always wanted someone who was caring, understanding, someone who would respect her freedom, Not abusive in any way, someone who would let her work and reach her ambitions. She said I met all those then how could she marry someone who she had fights with, who was known to not be faithful, who restricts her freedoms and someone who broke up a rishta before.
she is not meant to be a representative example and she may have changed as a person, become more conservative and realised we’re not compatible, maybe it was pressure and maybe she is not happy. Maybe she is happy but we had a rishta and she left me for someone who disrespects her. At least she could have found someone better if she had to leave. Why him?

What do you guys think? Where did I go wrong? Or was this never a two sided rishta? I feel like I was used as time pass but I’d like to think that I meant something to her.

it will take u a while to forget... maybe a year or maybe 2 years but u will get over it... make sure u dont have any regrets like " kash aise hota " " kash main aise karta" " maine aise kyun kaha" " yeh nahi kehna chahiye tha" etc.. of u jave any kind of regrets than justifiy them for urself n be clear abt everything every single incident...
Try to do something which is out of ruitine, it really helps... dont worry someone special will come n will stay... she never wanted to stay! Cheer up move on.. u think she is doing the same.. thinking abt u n feeling sad??!!! No is not doing the same.. she is enjoying life... dont do this to urself... u re nice guy n u ve been nice to her aswell... no regrets n no sadness coz she is the one who will get it back not u... jus be proud u helped her but she was a *****

Move on u deserve the best n someone who deserves u will come soon

Re: Can you ever recover from being cheated on or having rishta breakdown?

please short cut likha kryn jo easily phar lia jay itna prna thora mushkil lgta h

U meant something to her as long as she needed some shoulder to cry on n some one's sympathy ... she isnt 15 year girl in some pendu family to come under pressure... koi pressure nahi tha, usne apni marzi se kiya hai sab kuch. Let me tell u where u went wrong.... u ve been naive dats the only thing u did otherwise i think she used u n dats a fact accept it.. n u r nice dats y she used u n u didnt realize

Ya sorry it was long. I've cut out and made main part in bold. Hope you can help.

thanks miss malik it's been already more than a yr maybe 2 now. Hope you are right and I can move on. I have some regrets like why did I take blame, why I spent all that time and money on her when i was not earning much? Usk har nishaane pe nacha maine. Kya mere dil tak ponchna itna asan tha? Why she used me? Was what we had only physical affection? If i want to i could say bad thngs to people in real life about her and spread things but uske saath aisa nahi kar sakta. Dhoka hoga agar kiya aise. I'm trying to be clear in my mind. I might travel. Hope someone comes my way. Already had a few rishta rejections and I'm not ready to go and find someone on my own.

My parents blame me saying if I had become engineer and was earning better she never would have left me. Mujhe lag raha hai meri galti hai.
She is not doing same she is enjoying and having fun. Bahar se aisa lag raha hai sach kis ko pata. Her parents are family friends with mine and sometimes they visit and tell us all they are doing. Sometimes at events I see her and her husband they don't see them that close but she's happy I think. I try to avoid her. She has forgotten I exist and both her and her husband don't even greet me at events.

Yeh karva sach hai. I was her shoulder to cry on now I'm the one wo needs shoulder to cry on. I knew her for such a long time for long time I thought she can't use me like this. Maybe I did something wrong but you're right I was naive. Wish I could blame her family or something else but truth is she never loved me it was all lies and her own choice. She is very religious now and I can't understand how she can have relationship with me, say she loves me and then use me har tara se. Accept karna Mushkil hai kyon ki Woh aisi nahi hai main sochta tha. she really only loved that guy and he is very wealthy so she won't have any worries in life chalo acha hai. Like your friend i want to ask her these questions ..even if her husband has money will he ever have time to spend with her doing small things, will he be able to make romantic candlelight dinner for her, will he be able to write love letters for her, make her fav food for lunch and pack it for her when she goes to work, will he have time to play or sing her a song, will he be able to build her the house of her dreams like an architect can exactly like she wants and will he be there for her and only her when she or her family need extra support and listening ear rather than money? Will he sacrifice his goals and dreams for her? Or if all this gets too much will he let go and find an easier way?

ye kucch ziada hi hogya hei ...

It is very simple if you see it from human's psychology point of view. She was using you as rebound. Now if you dont know what 'rebound' means then google it. No need to ask question like why, what if , why me etc. from your self. Just move on. Ager brad pitt aapki jaga hota tu uskay sath bhi yahi hona tha. Rebound relationships always hurt at the end. Ask me, i am an official rebound guy :D

I read the entire thing. Look, you are a nice person. you shouldn't be regretting something which wasn't meant to be. It isn't ur loss at the end of the day...if u guys were still together n married, wud u be happy to learn it was a compromise on ur wife's behalf...she still dreams to partner up with her ex cuz he was the only guy she loved?
you are letting this situation rule over you and i can understand that as both of u were childhood friends..Shared up's & down's she might have been their for you for your tough times as well but at the end she opted for more materialistic stuff - Lifestyle ! Perhaps, She din treasure what she lost, so why are you sulking...get over it.
Their are plenty of female's out there who can look beyond the status and more of the character of a person.
Two years is a long time... and you have wasted them thinking about the same female? Certain people give up goals/ambitions just to get into something which they think they can change...like this girl of yours. She is married, happy or not isn't your concern anymore cuz she gave up/moved up and isn't even keen on keeping in touch with you

I suggest..clear off your mind, cut out the if's & but's as they lead you nowhere & keep your fingers-crossed. You may stumble upon someone who is much more better, kindhearted & generous like yourself.

** He was rich and herr parents liked him.**

writing on the wall

why waste so much bandwidth :(

I don't see how you did anything wrong.
The decision seems to have been hers'. You merely had to accept it.

i agree

Thanks for kind words. What you say is true.I guess I'm looking for answers
Why would she say she loves me if it wasn't true? We could have still bren friends. Why would she seek physical affection and comfort from me to leave me for someone else ? I could have saved all that for my wife but we were engaged and I thought we would marry. I didn't think I was time pass for her? Why use me emotionally and physically? It hurts for guys as well. Why invite me to help her parents cook for dawat when in the end all that would matter for them is my wealth and job? Even my parents agree with her decision because I'm not doctor or engineer like him.

I shouldn't think of ifs and buts unless they help me for next time. I just pray that inshallah I will get a good rishta because now I dont believe in love marriage now.

dude wasn't like I was poor but I had a stable job and now inshallah I am earning better. I'm not in a career I'm not passionate about.

I just wish she had been upfront with me. How can someone change views so quickly because of my job status?

some people are fickle like that money and status means more then the actual relationship. You seem like a nice guy move on. Focus on your own life now in the present not what happend in the past

Your words are true bellashabba. Sometimesits hard to move on from pain of rejection and heartbreak. Then my parents blame me because I'm not engineer or profession like doc she left me and my friends say i listened to her too much and I was too submissive. Is that true? Would girls look down on a guy like that like they say?

Bro im really sorry to tell you that she was planning this all along. She used you. Plain and simple. And im telling you this so that you approach with caution and keep your guard up before you let anyone else in and save yourself another heart ache. Go out and have fun. Re discover yourself. Theres more to life than marriage. Youll realise that soon

I agree with you bro. It's hard to accept. The one Pakistani girl who likes me back ends up that way. It's probably for the best. My parents are putting pressure on me to have arranged marriage and find a Pakistani girl. They don't understand I want time away from all this.