Can you ever recover from being cheated on or having rishta breakdown?

Re: Can you ever recover from being cheated on or having rishta breakdown?

PC...does it not read like a case of jerk wins over the nice-guy?

Read your story and you'll find more than enough examples of you bending over backwards for this girl (helping with homework, driving to great lengths for her errands, cooking for her family, etc etc). You words were supported by your actions. There's nothing in your post indicating that she reciprocated to your extent or was as emotionally vested as you. If that were the case, you'd mention all the umpteen things she's done for you...all the times that she supported/encouraged you or was there for you. She may have said she loves you...but it seems the words were not supported by consistent actions (as was the case with you).

I'm not suggesting that you act like an a$$; that's off-putting. You should always have consideration for the feelings of others (family, friends, SO, etc). But don't rush to bend over backwards doing xyz for someone....see if the other person reciprocates with consistency and with more than just their words.

I think that sums it up perfectly . I loved her more than she ever loved me.
how do you know when your bending over backwards for someone. In a relationship I just believe. In giving rather than think what I'm taking.

I think you can feel it at various points along the way...but we overlook/squash that realization for various reasons....such as we enjoy talking to the person, or we're used to them, or we hope that things will get better/stronger with time, or we give more importance to their words and not actions. Try jogging your memory...you may have experienced fleeting moments of doubt about her level of reciprocation that you banished from your mind for some reason or the other.

You are right. There were moments like that however she was very physically affectionate and whenever we met she would be like that so it was hard to think of anything like that. I had never met a pakistani girl who liked me that much. I was the first one she was like that with and we were engaged. I thought no desi girl would be so affectionate with a guy she didnt intend to marry. I made assumptions but I am much stronger now.

Ya sound like nice chap..I don't think there is anything right now that will make you feel better. Right now, you are going through a screwed up situation. So i pray that may Allah heal you. You see..as i see from this situation that the consolation is that this is temporary. At some point the pain will recede into the background. My belief is..if you have got good intentions..good stuff will fall into your place. Another..fact of life is that what happens in life often cannot be controlled by you and that ambiguity is something you must live with. If and when you can 'let go', then you will be in a better position both emotionally and intellectually to make the best choice for you.

Remember too that life will have many 'ups' for you and I can guarantee that you will feel happy again because that is how the dice lands.

Give the stupid lady some break. Let her go back to the ex until she gets another kick from him, she would come back to you for sure, & I say, you finally ditch her too. She's probably not the one you deserve my Bro. She just used you for emotional stability.

thanks for advice.
Woh to nazar Bhi nahi milati Shaadi ke baad. Laut ke to nahi aayegi. Kya pata. She is very religious now .Inshallah I will find another girl who likes me if not akele rahunga apne cats ke saath. And I will foster adopt some kids who have poor family.

thanks for good advice bro and for the prayers. Need to think ahead about life and not get emotional. Hopefully it works out. I feel used emotionally and physically. I thought if you are engaged to a girl and she wants to be emotionally and physically involved with you she is serious enough to get married. I can't say some parts of our relationship didn't go into haram territory they did. I don't get it I remember she initiated things and I'd want to have a conversation on life, children and our marriage but she'd distract me and we'd get up to other things. Or we would talk about her, her family and their expectations.

oops sorry.. thought you summarized in bold paragraph and I only read that... probably you forgot to mention there that she was married :(

Haan sorry for reh Gaya Batana :( I'll change it now. My parents are happy she married him because he is better rishta.

I'm having flashbacks of the past. SOmetimes when something negative like heartbreak happens we forget the positives of the relationship. SHe did say she loves me, she called me often and sometimes every day, she did get me small things. Plus she appreciated me emotionally etc.

All those are sign that a girl loves you, right ? Redvelvet maybe she didn't reciprocate to the same extent but she did love me. I do believe she did otherwise she wouldn't say it or spare time for me or reciprocate those actions. Mutual friends tell me before she did get married and after our break up she used to listen to songs that both of us shared. Songs that i had sung and recorded for her. It wasn't to same extent two sided love but i am sure it wasn't one sided. She could have done more for actions. Maybe at the end the influence of society and parents. More than that she was my friend before that and we shared lot of moments. We could have still been friends if she hadnt insisted our relationship take this turn.

anyway sorry im rambling on about this.

have to move on from this...if only there was an easier way

Tujhe Bhool jana nahi mumkin
mat kar is ka takaza,,,
Aankhen Andhi bhi ho jayn to Aansu
bahana Nhi Chorti

I guess it will follow you around for some time. I mean being cheated on by the person you love kind of sucks. So you will probably be more reversed next time I think or at least until you know better.

how long does it usually take to get over this? Is there an average amount of time that if it goes beyond that it is unusual?

I cannot say. I guess it waries. How good are you at getting over her? Does she cross your mind every day? I would say the more you think about her, the harder it will be to move on and 'recover'

well it's not so long ago technically that she really moved on. I guess thoughts of moving on make me think of the past. Or if we had special days where we used to do things or if i think of places where we hung out thoughts of her cross my mind. I guess i'm hoping to get it out of my system by discussing it so i can think of moving on. I don't know if you can ever totally forget your past especially if you had some big shock happen. cheating is one of those things.

You are probably right. It will always stay with you in some form. I guess you just have to make up your mind how much you want this incidens to influence the rest of your life. I know it is probably easier said than done. Good luck, though.

**Ever **is a very long time and answer is yes, you eventually do.