Can a girl and a guy just be friends?

and I mean “Just Friends” nothing more.

Personally, I believe it’s not possible especially if it’s a long term friendship and they’re best buddies. If so, there are always some feelings involved either from the girl’s side or the guy’s side that keeps the friendship going. Or no guy would help his female friend do her assignments, give her a ride when she wants, does her favours just for the sake of friendship.

what do you think?

Re: Can a girl and a guy just be friends?

My thinking and your thinking is not important. Our belief's thinking is important. In other words our creator's thinking is important, which is very clear to us.

Allah (s.w.t) knows BEST!

Maverick, there are about one million nine hundred eight-nine thousand threads on this topic. Please search for those keywords and you will find a lot of replies related to this topic :)

no offense and I even agree with you. but if that's what you truly believe what r u doing on GS? I thought we were here to share our thoughts and get others opinions...????

and Mr. Shikri thank you I will do that :)

Also, Shikri

If the threads are are on GS that's fiine but R u suggesting me to do a random search? if so, then shouldn't eveyone here just do a random search on all topics instead of turning to GS? you're are making a lot sense :)

I apologize if my comments were taken as an offense by sister, but my intentions were only to share the truth how I sincerely feel about it. If my way of conveying was wrong, I regret it and inshaAllah would be more careful in future. I am not on GS to make female friends. That is why I use the word "Sister" in my comments as all the female members on this forum are like my own sister except my wife.

I have discussed the matter with few scholars because I myself was very confused on this subject (sharing views on an online forum with both genders) and how does Islam address this Issue. I even left forums for sometime to first clear my understanding on this issue.

The reply I got was that Quran call muslim brothers and sisters as each other's helpers, and there is no problem in sharing good knowledge for everyone to read, as long as one is not exceeding boundaries. (avoiding personal chit chat (by the grace and mercy of Allah (s.w.t)

If anyone kindly show me a hadith or Quranic verse that proves that one can not share knowledge on an online forum with mixed genders, I would inshaAllah try my best to never return to this forum.

May Allah (s.w.t) guide us all towards the right path. Amen.

I think there's some kind of misunderstanding because we're both saying the same thing. I simply asked a question to get others views and shared my thoughts about it but you replied saying it doesn't matter what you or others think and so on. Anyways I'll take this as a misunderstanding and leave it right here. :)

Yes, the threads on gupshup. I am not saying do a search on Internet. Search within gupshup. That way people won’t be ignoring your threads because they’ve already replied on the same topic somewhere else. When a topic has already been beaten to death, then there’s really no point of discussing the same topic again and again and again.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/175859-guys-girls-can-not-friends.html?highlight=friendship
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/167700-boy-girl-friendship-can-you-stay-true-friends-does-become-love.html?highlight=friendship
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/154750-drawing-lines-between-friendship-romance.html?highlight=friendship

I am sure there can be a few more. And don’t do random search, as I said, use keywords. Kuch aqal bhi istemaal karo :smiley:

there we go!!! See Noww you make sense and see where you were coming from. And as far as threads being ignored, I think it’s normal and I’ve also seen many topics being repeated and people still replying.

Right, people may or may not reply. I'll give you an example. If you open a topic that I have already participated in, chances are that most likely I won't bother replying to it again (depending on the topic). So you lost my reply (to give an example). Similarly, if a few others think like I do, they may not reply as well. So you would have less replies. It may be okay to you but this is my reason why I sometimes search before asking questions to see if it has already been discussed. Hope I made sense (I always do but people fail to get my message) :p

Have fun reading those threads. I am out - taking my wife for shopping.

yes they could but if u feel that ur starting to like her/him more then a friendship way then itz love lol :wub:

Well some people are not into research as much and who wants to waist time researching a topic before asking a qeustion?? and plus I’m nice so I wanna give the newbies a chance too :halo:they may not be aware of previous threads you know!! :snooty: Anyways I’m out as well - off to my friend’s Menhdi :smiley:

simply no feelings get in the way!

If people are religious minded, then why would they want to be any kind of friend with a member of the opposite sex if it is not for any purpose such as work or something else purposeful?

The hadith, "When there is a (non-mahram) male and female alone together in a room, the third person is the Shaitaan."

This is probably why I believe that a boy and a girl can never just b friends.

yes..no..maybe :)

True, the interaction is only allowed when a person is working in a place where the interaction takes place because of the nature of the job, without discussing anything other than business.

ofcourse they can, i have many friends who are boys and i like them just as friends. some are good looking and attractive but i dont have feeling for them in THAT way. it really wears down to the way you have been brought up...

Answer is simple yes Guys and girls can be just friends nothing else...I am one of thoes plp

way to throw religion on everything, great contribution towards the thread as well, just like this post is :P

WTF

just by negating half the humans from friendship you might be missing out on a lot of great friends

as sumbody already said it boils down to the way you've brought up
if you grew up in a guys high school in pakistan with very little exposure to the opposite sex then obviously everytime you come close to one the radar in your pants goes ballistic

but if you grow up in conditions where you play and chill with girls since childhood then u can definitely be friends with them.

theres tonnes of guys and girls out there who are friends and justttt friends