Calling out ur husband by name

Re: Calling out ur husband by name

How about "Sirtaj", or Piya Ji

groovy chick yeh baat nahee,,mai tou bachoun ko bhee app kehtee hoon,u can call him tum tu,,its up to u..:)

Man, if I tried to call my hubby by name, my mama would kick me badly....lol
Its not our tradition. I used to call mine: Barfi, jigar, jaanjee or Jaan-e hayaat.
I ended up calling him Jalaybhi....lol

^ :halo:

Well in conversation/referring to him, call him "woh" - meaning him and when speaking to him say "oyeeeeeeeeeeee"!!....Haahahaahahahaha.....just call him by name! My Fiance is also my cousin and all my life, me and my family have been calling him Imran and its only recently that i found out that his actual real name is Aqil! One day, he was like - BTW, my 1st name isnt Imran!! I was like whattttttttt!!! He said that every other family member, apart from me and my immediate family (mom, dad etc etc) called him by his first name. Imran is his second name "England walle mujhe Imran pokharte hein" - meaning me and family (he is in Pak.)

I am really surprised that there are people who still don’t call their husbands by their names. I honestly thought that everyone calls their husband by his first name. Everyone in my family address their respective husbands by name, except for my nani and dadi who used to do the whole [insert child’s name] key abba. I thought this sort of thing was only prevalent among the older generations. :confused: Its good to know that in some families it would still be considered disrespectful to call your husband by his first name because I honestly didn’t know.

agere doctor seye shadi ho, tow itneye ehtemam seye doctor saheb kaho, inn ko apna naam seye bhee ziyada acha lageye.
masoomiyet ko chalaki janteye heien wohh log, jo piyar seye pukarna nahee janteye.

Giving nicknames and considering it wrong to say someone's name are two different things. There are no rules regarding whether or not to say your spouse's name. Yes, the Prophet (Sallalahu Alaihi Wa Aalihi Wa Sallim) did give Aisha R.A. Humaira as a nickname, but:
" Narrated 'Aisha: The Prophet in his ailment in which he died, used to say, "O 'Aisha! I still feel the pain caused by the food I ate at Khaibar ..."
in Sahih Bukhari -

[go to usc dot edu 's website - the msa has this hadith under their online bukhari listing - as * Volume 5, Book 59, Number 713]

• The Arabs generally had a tradition of calling each other by their laqab or kunya - Abu (father of) son's name or Umme (mother of) -child's name. That is why the Prophet (PBUH) is also known as Abu(l)-Qasim. And his wives weren't the only calling him Allah's Apostle, the companions did as well.
    This of course doesn't mean we need to call each other by Abu- or Umme- as there is no recommendation made that we do that. There are lots of things that are recommended though - those are different.

This is according to what I know - if anyone is truly interested, they can look it up. Wallahu 'Alam bis-Sawaab.

I'll be calling mine by his name inshaAllah. I think his mother calls his father by his name too. He calls me by my name. I'm not quite sure how 'aray suntai ho' can qualify as effective or practical - especially if you're on a subway somewhere with 400 other people or if you're lost in a crowd and all you can say is 'aray suntai ho' or 'woh' or 'hello'. That would make for an excellent sitcom though. Hmm.

I call my hubby by his name,but now avoid infront of others,in a gathering I called him by his name,there was a buzurg khatoon,she said,“haaaaaa hayeee tu odha naam lanee ayen”,lol after then I became carefull,and he calles me …begum sahiba :cb:

when u were dating him what did u call him?? im sure u used his name =/

i have so many names for my hubby that he sometimes say ... yaaar koi cheeze to baksh diya kero .. hehe ... :D

:slight_smile:

well said:)

i call him by his name....i mean commonnn whats wrong with tht...

aaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwww that is shhhhhooo shhhweeet and hilarious!!!

I believe that Hazrat Mohd’s examples can be used as Sunnah but the REAL reason why his wifes, brothers and cousins use to show him that much respect was that he was THE rasool of Allah. so he deserved that respect. I was reading a book yesterday and it said that his friends used to call him AAQA…that does not mean that this will turn into a Sunnah and now we’ll start callign our friends “AAQA” That specail respect was bestowed upon him coz he was HAzrat mohammad Mustafa SAWW…

I call my husband Zulfi just like everybody else but I never call him tum, I call him aap, I even call my 15 yr old sister aap!
but on the other hand my name is KAnwal and he calls me KAy and says tum, coz he’s BAtaameez like that :blush:

well my dad always used to say to my mum to call him by his name in front of her friends etc. and when like in the house and with us it always used to be ____ kay papa :smack: :cb:

oh god the title of this thread sounds so HORRIBLE PLEASE CHANGE it. it sounds like ur saying "i call out my husbands name each night"

I wont call hubby by his first name. I have another name in mind.

And to strangers I'd refer to him as my hubby or by his first name or something like that.

In my family its also similar to how it is in Muzna's family.

My dadi used to call dada shah ji. I found it adorable, they had a vast age gap and she just wasn't comfortable early on calling him by his name and later it stuck on. The cuter thing is my dada never called her by name either although she was way younger than him, he always referred to her as tusi.meaning aap in urdu. or it was like he was talking in air to get her attention! :D

I call my husband by name though its never been a problem. It depends on the mindset you are dealing with.