Bunto Kazmi's Designs

Re: Bunto Kazmi's Designs

all said and done, i think the argument here is or rather the discussion is the fact that 'BUNTO is the MOST over rated designer in pakistan today!'

It's not that her work is ugly fugly, but the fact that people consider her the holy grail of couture in pakistan is totally ridiculous! Even Chanel has to come up with new techniques and styles EVERY season!

creativity is in keeping to your signature style, good service, making the bride feel special BUT innovate, prove your a creative genius now n then.

^but what most people have been complaining about recently with Bunto is that they are TOO heavy, so I think a 3 lakh jora would still look more decent than the 5-6 lakh joras we've been seeing recently...a friend of mine paid 3.5 lakhs (which isnt an arm and a leg more than 3) and her Bunto jora was still heavy. Besides, the beauty of any outfit, no matter who the designer, is a balance of kaam...not having a fully worked lehnga AND dupatta AND kameez.

youre right about the makeup and jewelery bit, but those girls are often so rich..if they're paying several lakhs for polki sets and Tariq Amin makeup, they'd obviously go for a 6 lakh Bunto as opposed to a 3 lakh Bunto.

^ yup proportion is important... but as long as pakistani bridal wear goes... i think its really upto choice, there is a much too prevalent and old and intrinsic tradition of very heavy jodas... so its uto to your own taste...

so again... to judge a designer is good - they are out there in the public eye , making them avaulable to a bride as a potential choice for her bridal... but to judge someones choice is not our job..

its imp for girls to be informed and aware enough THEMSELVES to handle designers, jewellers and their own parents most of all lol... go bride zillaaaa!!!

ehh....I dont think its just customers, she has the reputation because even other designers consider her the holy grail (i'm pretty sure I remember Faraz Mannan saying shes the best in PK in a Sunday Daily Times interview) I dont see the argument here being that she is over-rated, she's definitely come out with beautiful pieces. I saw the argument being more about price for value...like you said earlier, some of the pieces arent awe-worthy and I dont think it makes sense to pay so much just to say you got a Bunto.

Plus its hard to compare her to Chanel or her fellow Pakistani designers because she's probably had one fashion show to date and she doesn't do any advertising. Chanel, Prada, even HSY, Sana Safinaz and Karma all do that so its easier for us as consumers to know what 'new techniques and styles' they've come out with for the season. The only way we're able to judge Bunto is through the wedding pics posted here and that's definitely not all she does.

^Fasaadi, I was talking to Umar Sayeed's brother the other day about my wedding clothes, and he told me, there are only two designers I will recommend: one, Bunto, and two, my brother Umar. I guess since he's a fashion critic and probably has seen way more bridals by her since years now, he would have better judgement as opposed to us here who have seen very limited designs by her, and the same kinds too.

The thing is I have seen more than 5 bunto bridal, different colors and all price bracket 5 lacs and above. I have seen plenty of US, karma, Hsy and others worn within my fam so I've had a good look. So my personal experience says she is definitely not innovative.

Secondly part of why I said she is over rates is because people DO recommend her but why? it escapes me totally!

And all I am saying is that your joda should curtail more than JUST the fact that it has a bunto label on it.

I think she's being trashed unfairly by some. If you mean innovative in the modern sense, then no, I don't think she caters to that. She is however innovative in the traditional sense in employing old world techniques against the use of foreign fabrics, her use of swarovskis for example on traditionally cut outfits - who would have thought that would work on a farshi jhora???

I can tell you that the lady does her research - the number of books she had on heritage from different corners of the world was amazing. These were ideas she was incorporating into her work from what I saw, like her amazing kashmiri shawls and this one coat which was designed depicting an amazing Muriel for a really high-end client that seemed to be a print, but all hand stitched!

If we're really talking cuts, then HSY should receive the same amount of criticism; the man churns out the same lengha cut in more or less every wedding outfit I've seen from him, but I guess that's his signature cut, just like Sana Safinaz who pair up long shirts with ghararas...

I also heard the same things from Mohsin Sayeed and Faraz Manan who claimed their admiration for the lady.

I totally agree with him, pareezay... I can't think of another designer who doesn't have a signature style but Umar Sayeed. I never know what to expect from him but you always know it'll be stunning and different.

Sabeen your being awfully critical of a designer, who btw you've only seen 5 bridal of, that doesn't really make your an expert, in fact your way off dear. every designer, whether it be Bunto or Channel, have a signature. I understand you don't like her work, but Im getting this feeling that this is more personal then about her work. Sorry if i'm wrong, but I'd like to point out that this thread was opened regarding Bunto Designs, but your flooding it with your spiteful remarks and honestly dear this particular thread has been opened for ppl who LIKE her work, so if you don't, which is fine. Just stop flooding please. I mean you're being a tad bit annoying with your criticism. If you don't like her work, then just don't look at it, stop annoying us with what you think is good and what you think isn't. Thank you :) and honestly. I don't mean that don't give your opinion, obviously freedom of speech, but leave the woman alone. She is one of the best designers in Pakistan and HSY and his likes are not innovative in the least. Umar Sayyed is another one who is great, Sana Safina are very creative and so is Nilofar Shahid. Fashion isn't about what YOU like, all the time. Every body has different tastes, some people have horrible taste, but stop trashing the woman please. Whatever you reasons for personal hatred, keep them to your self or tell somebody who wants to hear you rant. ALOT of us here, don't want too. Ziggy and Pareezay put it very kindly.

Oh and since your talking about innovative. How is KARMA innovative? They have the SAME style of kam. The SAME on every outfit. You can tell its a karma from a distance! that's how similar it is. Karma and Amna kardar, its the same thing.

if u saw it in real u wont be saying that! u guys gotta understand art, shes using extremely traditonal designs and works from taspisteris and old British, colonial motifs!

im not being stuck up im being realistic, 3 lak for bunto is just STARTING! dont expect a stunning new creation with that amount and for people who go to bunto 3 lak is nothing to them, thats how it is, only the elite of the elite can afford her...

you guys probably dont know any knowledge about bunto hence your un justified statements, they can end up being that expeisnve because she uses real god taar and kora on her work, and she gets her fabrics from france and italy, each fabric would cost something liek 500 $ per yard!

and sabeen my dear, you obviously havent dont your homework because karmas best bridals are 4-6 laks, and hsy starts at 4! and sana safinas is the same, elan is just a start up name hence hwy its cheap but if u go for wel known designers its a while new ball park...

im talking from experience, its because we know her personally, as a very dear family freind…

why do you think she doesnt do fashion shows, adds and advertising? think about it for a second... its because she dfirstly doesnt want others designers to copy her work, secndly she wants to remain EXCLUSIVE! she only wants to cater towards word of mouth through her clients, n guess what her clients are only high society of pakistan and she doesnt want to become a common house hodl name , she wants to stay an exclusive house hold name for the elite! shes a very veryyyyyyyyy smart business woman guys, dont underestimate her how else do u think she because os suscessful, with out any advertising, its next ti impossible to do that! but she achieved it, n has been doing it for the past 30 years!

STANDING APPLAUSE CLAP CLAP CLAP i agree with you thank you, and sabeen your comments are becoming very irritating in all yur threads not just here!

^honey, everyone thinks YOURE being annoying for calling every non-Bunto jora paindu and insulting other brides' outfits and decor on the bridal pics thread. Grow up...you and your family are not big shots just cause you're supposedly family friends with Bunto.

that was my point abut her not doing fashion shows and advertising anyways, that she's successful enough that she doesnt need the press.

Most of the "elite of the elite" are people who are coming from abroad to buy from her. And her own relatives, Sughra Kazmi and Dr. Haroon, sell the SAME STUFF for less of a price. Dr Haroon's fabrics are from France as well, his kaam is as bareek and even the most senior guppies here can't tell his stuff apart from Bunto's...as of late, the quality has even been better than Bunto and he makes amazing joras at less than this starting price. If she's such a good businesswoman, a customer should be pleased and the outfit should look beautiful whether they are paying her "starting" price or whether they are paying thousands of dollars and your idea that someone should have to pay $7000 just to get something good out of her is ridiculous...good luck trying to convince every other girl on gupshup that you have to pay Bunto 6 lakhs for a good outfit. And more than likely, if you really are family friends with her, your sister probably got a 6 lakh jora at 1 lakh so really you shouldnt even be discussing pricing here.

^U go girl!

I feel like the big ol' aunty butting in but seriously--Bunto's stuff is gorgeous, but to say that 3Lakh will get you nothing spectacular, is really quite silly.
I hate how some people think a non-designer is somehow beneath them.

Poddy, you are the same person who received some very good pieces of mind from quite a lot of people when you called one of the posters paindu in the bridal pics thread because she posts in urdu, aren't you?

Yes, we did get the point that you are an ardent fan and a family friend of Bunto Kazmi, but that doesn't mean that others who don't share the same views as you do are downright dumb-arses. They have equal rights to share their thoughts as you do so stop acting like a spoiled brat and being an unpaid ( or paid, may be?) advocate.

Even Bunto Kazmi herself doesn't have this stuckup and big-headed attitude or else those who are not zillionaires wouldn't think of even contacting and consulting her. I don't see a reason or point that you should have it. Kapeesh?