Budget wedding in Virginia/DC

i am from woodbridge, va also lived in springfield…

i saw on the previous posts alot of people are from va, am actually preparing for my wedding in august and would like to know if people know any good vendors around here, so if they’ve already gotten married here maybe they could give me good tips

Re: whose here from virginia

ask.

vendors? as in caterers? if i get an invitation i am willing to help warnaa, warnaaa, ummm acha nahi ho ga.

where in va r u..

Hey Meena, I'm from MD and I've been to a few wedding in VA - 2 of them were in Marriott around Tysons corner. I don't if the hotel allows outside catering now, but when I attend the shadi's the dinner was done by Ravi Kbab ... I'm sure you've had a taste of their food!! Are you looking for caterers or venues for ure shadi??

hey, am looking for a venue for my mehndi, catering will be done by ravi on both days anywayz, i just cant find a mehndi place its so annoying

i already have the barat and valima place down, am also looking to buy / get like the mehndi plates and the mehndi decor and stuff

Chutney's party halls are a fairly okay choice for mehndi, I attended a mehndi at some ramada inn in Triangle which is probably closer to you too. Its an ok place and im sure u can make it look good with decoration and stuff. \As for catering chutney's food has really improved, its really good, Shiney's in Annandale have great food too, stay away from abshar, they do poorly on large orders, kebab palace in arlington is awesome, ravi kebab is good too. I think its the hilton that doesn;t allow outside food, marriots do or maybe it differs between locations.

Femme, my bro got married at the hilton in your area and the food was catered from outside. abshaar at one point was owned by one of my pals dunno if he still owns it, but they had done catering for the mehndi, dunno what we had done for shadi and valima.

Okay, I attended a mehndi at Reston Community Center( 2310 Colts Neck Road, Reston, VA 20191) last april. Again the food was done by Ravi Kbab. The family decorated the hall and everything else (I think the center only provides the chairs and tables -everything else u have to do on your own) , they had a DJ, dhoki, dancing...but you have to out by a certain time. I think the event was over by 12 am - then the cleaning started.
I guess this type of place will work - if you have help, friends, cousins, aunts & uncles all willing and able to help - setup and clean up.

usually in community centres there is a limit on the number of people you can have, i think its 50 plus a time limit so that doesn't really work out for most people.

We had tried to rent a hilton around here for my sisters wedding but they said we couldn;t get outside catering so we had to cancel that. It probably depends on the management then or maybe rules have changed recently. Whenever I have had abshaar food at large gatherings its been nasty and these are not just isolated instances, everytime I have had their food its been the same. The management has changed over the past few years so maybe that has something to do with it.

we did my sisterz mehndi at chutney, it was okay... but my inlaws dont like that place plus we have some business problems with them so cant do it there, abshaar sucks, shiney's is too small, triangle is too far hahahah :)
and marriott is too expensive for mehndi :)

we're looking at other places ..... :)

triangle is less than 20 mins from woodbridge. You should use ur lawn or basement :D shiney's doesn;t even have a hall, that was just for food. invite only close people and have it at some community center hall.

yar we live in woodbridge, and everyone we know lives in springfield, both my inlaws and my parents want the mehndi to be in springfield :), too many restrictions ;)

I have two lousy places in springfield which you may be able to decorate and make em look a bit nicer, one is the american legion something soemthing building off of amherst road and springfield blvd is it? going north it is after the toyota dealership place to your left. The other is equally lousy, its this hall nextt o the firestation on backlick road right opposite the springfield-franconia parkway exit. That may actually work if u can get some rugs in there and decorate it very well, its a reasonable sized hall, apt for a mehndi gathering and they allow catering, parking won't be a problem either.

thnx, i called the fire dept place, thats not availabe, i'll call american legion tommorrow, keep the suggestions coming

thnx ;0

Help Planning a WEdding

Hello Ppl,

I am a resident of Virginia US and inshallah will be getting married in December this year. I have almost finalized the venue. But there is still so much more planning to do . 
        I havent been here for too long hence don't know much about the vendors. If any of you guys can recommend some decorators, photographers and Video ppl it would be greatly appreciated. 

I am also so out of touch with Pakistani fashion at the moment. Does any one know whats in for the bridal dresses in Pakistan these days. 

Oh man I am so anxious and have no idea how to do all this. All the help is greatly appreciated

Thank you

Re: Help Planning a WEdding

the 1st thing u need to do is to decide what you are going to wear and match that with the grooms outfit. Match your clothing with the stage and figure what u want from the menu. One of the most important things for the bride is her enterance and you can be carried in a doli or a maharani chair.
if you need more help u can go to my website at maliha123.8k.com and if u want more pics, ideas ,videos please send me a private message
thanks

wwwprint out this workbook and go through it- http://images.marthastewart.com/images/content/web/pdfs/pdf3/wedding_workbook.pdf
allot your budget accordingly and if something doesn’t apply, just cancel it off the workbook. its honestly one of the most useful tools to keep you organised and so you don’t lose your mind. planning a wedding can be seriously overwhelming, but so long as you keep on top of things, and remind yourself of the end result, it’ll be ok! :slight_smile:

i also have a notebook with me that i’ve jotted everything in- every time i go to meet with a vendor or research anything, i write it down in there and i carry it with me at all times. you wouldn’t believe how helpful it is!

i’d say start off with a color scheme and then fan out from there… centerpieces, favors, invitations, etc. can all be coordinated to match. since you already have your venue, you have your stepping stone- is it a hotel ballroom? a banquet hall? a private residence? your location will help to determine your colors, and your flowers will be determined by season.

don’t worry too much about your final outfit color because frankly, there are SO many gorgeous colors out there to choose from, don’t limit yourself right now!

here is a list of vendors in Virginia –
http://theknot.com/kl_VIRGINIA.shtml

the knot also has tons of ideas and pictures about everything from centerpieces to photographs. its a great resource, as is www.brides.com.

good luck! :slight_smile:

So where have you almost decided to get married?? :-)

heyy, okay first things first..are you planning on getting your outfit made in pakistan or here in VA? personally..if you're gonna get an outfit from pakistan..DONT get one from any well known designer. yeah they'll make it really nice but you'll end up paying sooooo much money. you should have in mind what kinda of dress you want to wear and then we'll take it from there..

somegroovychick has posted a link to vendors in VA, that should help you out! :)

People from Virginia…please help!!

Hi guys i live in Northern Virginia and am getting married in Decemeber inshaAllah. If you guys have attended any weddings here or know of any nice venue please help me!! I need a hall for mehndi and rukhsati and i don’t want to do it at Chutney! If you guys know prices of any hotel that would really help cuz im thinking Crowne plaza or Marriot would be really expensive?? Any ideas? Also i don’t want to get food from Aabshar, chutney, shineys or ravi!! any other place??? :bummer: