Bridal Shopping in New York/New Jersey

hey ladies, its time for a contingency plan. i saw a pic/have a feeling that my bridal dress is hideous sob
the fiance and i might have to drive up to new york/new jersey as an alternative location to find a dress if toronto doesn’t pan out… new york/new jersey girls, help!! where can i go to find pretty bridal clothes? are there any shops/boutiques/ladies with clothes to sell? thanks much!
what are the desi areas in new york?

Re: bridal shopping in new york

Awww! :hugz:
That really sucks it dint work out to what you wante.d..
But why dont you post a pic of it and show us??
The most famous bridal dress places are in Jackson Heights, in Queens…ive always seen the most gorgeous outfits there, but they are very very expensive!
But from what I’ve heard, you can find lots of nice, Paki-style wedding dresses in Toronto…here, its mostly Indian style but some of the dresses are drop dead gorgeous..most shops will also do tailoring..

Let me know when ur coming tO NY, if I’m here, ill be happy to show ya around :slight_smile:

SGC, i definitely know a bunch of ladies here in the GTA (mississauga to be precise) who sell bridal clothes...
but if ure in for smthn real... u know the designer shaiyane malik?? of samanzar... she has an outlet in sauga! basically it's not a store.. she has a representative here and you can literally go in there, give in ur size, choose from her collection and hav it custom made.. typical paki-designer-beautiful-bridal-clothes!!! and shaiyanne herself keeps on comin n goin so it's not like ure totally lost from what her current collection is ...

2ndly my cousin recently had her in-laws buy 3 of her jorras from nomi ansari's website! he also has an outlet somehwere in texas.. and honestly, they came out amazing mashAllah! sometimes ure skeptical over ordering clothes online on how they'd turn out... and ours was a first experience with her,, n everything came out perfect!

my personal suggestion would be to give these designers a shot.. it's ur wedding, if u can afford the perks, then u should do it with all ur heart! also i think if you go around tryin to find nice bridal jorras in north america.. ull pay an arm n a leg n it'd still be a rip-off for what u get outta paying that much!

oh where is shaiyanne malik's outlet? can you let me know asap? i'm in a bind cos the wedding is in less than 3 months.

the only thing is, with all the stress i've gone thru waiting for this outfit to get made and get here, i need to buy something readymade now. i simply can't deal with the tension of waiting for another outfit to arrive.

sara: i love you! thank you so much for offering. i will keep you posted on what happens.

just pm'd it to u :)

n try visiting her.. im sure she'll hav stuff on hand to show u which u can buy... and i guess u cud also ask her on how soon she can provide u with a custom designed outfit. ill try to get u the contact of this lady who also sells bridal clothes.. ive to fone a friend n ask her!

Dude, my sister in law visited last November and we went ot Jackson Heights to look at some bridal dresses so she could get an idea of what I liked…i saw the most beautiful dress..it was a maroon, heavily embroidered mermaid/fishtail lengha..just gorgeous…:hayaa: If you’re willing to shell out upto 3K for it…ull deff find gorg stuff

ok yeah 3 grand for a dress?? i think not :P

bhenjee, thats not the right number... i just called and some woman with a crying baby didn't sound too pleased! ack!

can you please phone your friend and let me know?
before i go to new york, i have to check around miss/toronto/brampton etc. to make sure theres nothing here.

this is the batwa to match my wedding lehenga... i dont know what the lehenga looks like- all i know is i hate the batwa and its supposed to match the lehenga so probably the lehenga looks like this too... ugh. its so paindoo!! my beautiful champagne lehenga with olive green and ivory kaam has turned into this thing.

sara is right i have checked the prices recently .. mayb NJ would b just a shade cheaper.. around 1500 for a nice looking dress and around 3k for a drop dead gorgeous dress..

hmm sorry to kno u dont like the one made.. i guess the batwa isnt all that grt.. but too hard to judge from a lil piece

yeah $1200-$1500 is what i was thinking...

do you know any boutique names i could look up online?

sgc u can deff find something less than 2K!

And that purse si gorgeous! Maybe its not exactly what you imagined but its still beautiful..wats hte problem w/ it?

SGC, whats wrong with the batwa? I think its gorgeous!!! Perhaps not what you had in mind but it looks pretty! Btw, i am sure you wont make decisions by looking at the batwa only. Mine looks kinda hideous too but the dress looks much different and better than the purse thing.

thats the thing, its not what i wanted at all.... i guess if its beautiful, its beautiful, right? i dunno... the clothes are here- i just got the call, i'm going to see them tonight, i'll let you know later on tonight what happened....

^oh how exciting, hope it turns out ok
ps-- the batwa is not bad at all

It doenst matter if its not exactly what you wanted, if it beautiful its beautiful! I know I was kinda :( when I first saw my dress..but i slowly warmed up to it..i'm in love wiht it now.. im sure the dress is beautiful, but not xactly what you wanted...and tis very frustrating that someone dint follow directions but hey wat can ya do :)

yell at them till i feel better than cry in a corner? :P

yeah, no, if its beautiful then im gonna be nice and polite to her and make her knock some money off for making what she wanted instead of what i requested.

sgc i honestly dont find anything TOO wrong with ur batwa.. no matter how hideous u find ur dress, trust me with all the jewellry n the makeup n the lighting n ur heart on the 7th sky, ull find it to be the most beautiful dress ever and ud feel great abt it!
well im pm'ing u the number i got off my friend!
n well that's the contact i hav for shaiyanne's outlet.. i havnt been there for over a yr now.. but i'll see what i can do and get back to u!

thanks lady!! i appreciate all your help :)

Sounds like a perfect plan :k:

On one hand I really really really hate when ppl dont follow directiosn and just do things their own way…my dad did that :cb: all the darzis ive ever coem across do that :mad: every relative whos ever made clothes for me does that…i dont get what is it abt desis,w hy do their own thing…why cant they follow directions…

But on the other hand, when that thing comes out absolutely beautiful…once u get over hte shock of it not being what you wanted, you tend to forget abt it…

i don't need new york- my clothes are GORGEOUS!!!! honestly, girls, i shouldn't have stressed... i should have reminded myself why i went to this particular lady in the first place... she's done a fantastic job! honestly, the dress sparkles like nobody's business. and it is SOOOOO exquisitely made! the kaam on it i makes me want to cry! the colors are perfect, she did more than what i wanted and i swear to you, nobody has a dress like this and nobody ever will! :D the mehendi ka gharara is so stunning too... oooh, i didn't wanna take it off. its MA everything i could have asked for and more!

relieved

toronto girls, trust me, ladies, abda aunty came thru for me with bells on. and i saw her newest collection and hello! she has some really stunning lehengas.... if you're lookin' to shop, call her.... you will not regret it!
the pics i saw were a) of the unfinished mehendi gharara. d'oh! and b) from a really ****ty cam.

i tell you, i feel like an idiot. but she is worth every single penny. and the best part is, i didn't even pay as much as she could have charged me! her work is worth so much more.