Re: Bridal dress markets/shops (karachi)
Yes if someone could do that it would be sooo helpful!
Ummm… ok I know a little; when I get more info I will post here InshAllah (if i remember :p)
-EBH sometimes has nice stuff but I find it too paindoo, aur waise bhi… everything in EBH and every other shoe shop has ilke 3 inches of heels, and the largest size u get is like a 7/8.
Gulf is good for shoes as well I guess… I bought a chappal from there; the kind u wear to someone’s house costed me Rs150!!! and that was about 1.5 years back ![]()
For good Karha’i/ kaam; Paapoush is a good place, also there is this place called KDA market near Gulshan! This place has the most amazing kaam! Handmade bead work, for example for really “naazuk” kaam on the gulla, aasteen and daamun costed about Rs. 900 around a year back. I am serious girls; this place has some really prettey stuff.
For ready-made clothing; Tariq Road (hands down). I HATE HYDERI!!!
We bought some really nice stuff from the shops there… material turned out to good (flowy type), zabardast bead work on the gulla, and aasteen. The best part is that most of these shops would alter the suit for you within 24 hours as long as u take a size with you! It was quoted from Rs 2300 but my bargaining helped me get it for Rs 15/1600 :YES!:
Capital Market in Sadar has gorgeous stuff… the kind of collection a bride needs for all those dawats post marriage! You can get jaw-dropping shalwar kamiz for any range… but about 4 years back; my cousin bought some for Rs 12000.
Rabi centre of Tariq Road also has some of the stuff that would go well in jeheiz! however, most of these are unstitched (which i guess is a good thing). Bought stuff that was Rs3800, but bought it for R2 2500 ![]()
ok, thats all i can think of right now… ab aur loug share kareiN… mujhe bhi advise chahye hai ![]()
My aunt got her designed by manish malhotra about a few years back and she paid like 3-4 lakh for just one shaadi ka dress :S
There's a boutique in Defense called Barka (run by Shahina auntie) -- spelling may be wrong. But all my jahez was made from there and some of my bari. Very nice pretty kaam and stitching, etc.
My wedding clothes were made by a Safia auntie. Not sure what her boutique is called.
^ Sahar; if u dont mind my asking; how much does a nicely worked shalwar kamiz cost from Barka?
yeah my mom has gotten stuff from barkha before and its really pretty… lucky girl, sahar! ![]()
Markets and Shopping Areas
Ashiana, Clifton
*This market—a bridal favorite—offers a gorgeous selection of fabrics for tailoring.
Empress Market, Saddar
*Karachi’s central business district is full of fabric, kaam and tailor shops.
Kahkashan Market, Clifton*
This is the place to go for any kind of kaam you can imagine. Bring a close-up picture from a magazine, and the artisans here will replicate it. An economical way to get beautiful bridal clothes without the designer markup. But take a local—dealing with the shopkeepers isn’t always easy.
The Forum Mall, Clifton*
A modern mall in upscale Clifton area of the city with a wide variety of shops including jewelry, handicrafts, clothing and shoes. You’ll find reasonably-priced bangles, costume jewelry and the like.
Gulf Towers, Clifton
*One-stop shopping for reasonably-priced bangles, dupattas, parandas and other mish-mash.
Park Towers Shopping Mall, Clifton
*Karachi’s premier shopping mall with up-market boutiques and jewelry stores.
Tariq Road*
Another popular shopping in area in Karachi, you’ll find several shopping centers including Dolmen Centre, Dolmen Mall, Shalimar Centre, Rabi Centre, Dubai Mall, Tariq Centre. Some stores carry ready-made ensembles, but you’ll find kaam karigars and tailors, also.
Bridal Wear
Bargello
*This gigantic store offers bridal and party wear that “borrows” from top designers. Order from anywhere in the world. *
28-C, 5th Commercial Street, Khayaban-e-Badadr, Phase V, Defence, Karachi, 75500, Pakistan
9221 534 1401, 02, 03 & 04
Body Focus Museum
What started as a casualwear line as involved into a boutique with denim casuals; pret a porter cottons; Knitwear; Hand block printed pure silks; Classic evening and occasional bridal wear
38-C-6 Off Main Shahrae-Faisal Karachi 75400 Pakistan
Tel: (92-21)452-5631 FAX: (92-21)4529870
The Designers *
This outlet carries bridal and partywear from high-end designers such as HSY, Karma and others. If you’re in Karachi and want access to Lahore’s designers, this is the place. Perfect also for those in a rush—you’ll find ready-made ensembles, as well.
Hilal Silk Palace
*The most beautiful fabrics you can find–but they come at a price.
Jabeen’s House of Wedding
*Mid-market bridal wear. *
Shop #1,Sasi Centre,Tariq RoadP.E.C.H.S
Ph:4389196
Men’s Wear
*MM Alam Road is the home of many designers, including for all menswear. *
Amir Adnan
*Designer synonymous with men’s wedding fashion. He is widely credited for re-introducing the sherwani into modern fashion. Famous clients include both Indian and Pakistani heads of state. *
Shop A-12, Park Towers Mall, Clifton
Tel: 9221 5832661
Shop G-100, Dolmen Mall, Tariq Road
Tel: 9221 4381613
Shop 14, Plot 14-D, Sky Garden Apartments
Tipu Sultan Road, KDA
Tel: 9221 4313056
Shop 2, 14-C, Zamzama Lane 5
Defense Phase-V
Tel: 9221 5861875
Shop 313, Block-Z, Commercial Area
Defense Housing Authority
Tel: 9242 5896441-42
Deepak Perwani
*Men’s and women’s designer best known for stylish groomswear. *
Shop 0-1, 16-C, Zamzama Commercial Lane #4
DHA, Karachi
92 21 587 7371
Gr 8a, Ground Floor
Park Towers
Clifton, Karachi
92 21 582 4625
Junaid Jamshed
*Former Vital Signs singer’s boutique known for men’s wear. *
16C, 2nd Zamzama Commercial Lane, Phase V, Defence
Ph: 5834904
Fine Jewelry
Aliel
*Formerly known as Sayegh and Co., these high-end jewelers carry the work of numerous talented designers. Feeling extra wealthy? Check out their “Nur” collection—each piece is completely unique and will never be replicated. *
Shop # 64 & 65
Regent Plaza Hotel
Shahrah-e-Faisal
Karachi.
92 21 5670752
92 21 5670763
[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
Meena Jewellers
*Reliable jewelers in Saddar. *
Parr Zaibunnisa Street, Saddar
Ph: 522305
Chhotani Jewellers
*One of Karachi’s oldest and most famous jewelers. They specialize in oriental gold ornaments, made to order.
Crescent Jewellers
*Very expensive but beautiful selection. Find everything you can imagine, from gaudy to elegant. *
31/34, Bliss Shopping Centre, Zaibunnisa Street,Saddar
Ph: 522785, 527750
Karat Jewellers
*They will copy anything you show them to a tee. They carry a line of traditional, ethnic, contemporary jewelry. *
Karachi Marriott
92 21 111 22 33 44
92 21 568 0111
Private Collection
*Exclusive, beautiful diamond jewelry imported from Italy. *
Karachi Marriott
568 0175
Bangles, Bindis, Henna and Other Miscellaneous Wedding Goods
Bori Bazar
Cave-like shops are stacked to their ceilings with excellent pieces of embroidery, hand prints and other goods.
Uzma Market
*An alternative to Bori if you don’t want to venture to the center of the city. *
DHA, Clifton
Also see this thread for a listing of designers and their info – http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=270617
There's a boutique in Defense called Barka (run by Shahina auntie) -- spelling may be wrong. But all my jahez was made from there and some of my bari. Very nice pretty kaam and stitching, etc.
My wedding clothes were made by a Safia auntie. Not sure what her boutique is called.
Safia auntie..in Lahore?? her boutique is called Kundan..
you can also try going to the Designers on main zamzama blvd. in clifton
I've heard the ready made stuff u get in lahore is alot more expensive in karachi. no doubt pretty things r made in karachi but i've only seen eh stuff.
Safia auntie..in Lahore?? her boutique is called Kundan..
Karachi.
Pinks -- honestly, I don't know. But I'll check and find out.
^ JAK in advance :)
I haven’t found the prices, but here’s the contact info for Barkha
BARKHA
Shahina Zubairi
3-C, Sunset Commercial Street #01,
Phase-IV, D.H.A, Karachi.
(# 5885743 Cell# 0300-8245912
Found here: http://64.233.169.104/search?q=cache:B4dap2iSJtwJ:bizpromobureau.com/Fashion%2520Boutiques.pdf+"barkha"+boutique+karachi+shahina&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=us&client=firefox-a
or: http://bizpromobureau.com/Fashion%20Boutiques.pdf
i always shop at tariq road, gulf, shamama ore ........i once went to zamzama and i didnt liked it .....i will say if u want cheap chappaæs and stuff go to gulf....and like nafees sandals its tariq road i bought some nice sandals with big nags and motis at metro once.....i juustt loov shopping in karachii
this thread is now the ultimate guide to shopping in karachi :AID:
Gluf, kehkaasha rock...
rabi centre is good as well and what is expensive in these two places can be a lot cheaper in rabi..
Rabi is good for unstich suits.. for bridal there r some good shops in tariq road like al-jaded n jabees.. n one is i guess makka shop.. its quite reasonable.. espically the girls in pakistan (majority) cant afford dresses more than 50k..so its really good for them..
^ Sahar; if u dont mind my asking; how much does a nicely worked shalwar kamiz cost from Barka?
$100-200 for party wear
ooh i remember makka shop...i bought some suit from them last i was in pk
$100-200 for party wear
Subhanallah; that does seem reasonable. JAK for letting me know :)
Anyone have contact info for Mrs. Kazmi in Karachi?