thanks guys :-) .. i will definately check out siama and laaj.. n i already checked shehzad make up i liked it but he won't be here the month i m getting married .. he recommended someone but i dunno if they will be as good as him ... n i checked out raheela's .. as someone said here its either a hit or miss .. i have seen some brides got ready from there .. they looked really nice ..
my cousin got her makeup done for both shaadi and valima from raheela's.. while the shaadi makeup was so-so, her valima look was gorgeous. she wore this really shimmery dull gold dress and her makeup was like a bronze/maroon type.. looked amazing. raheela herself did it so i guess thats why it looked so good. but i agree that bad customer service totally kills it :(
does anyone have pics of shahzad's makeup? a friend of mine got married last summer and booked some shahzad guy who apparently is a MUA in pakistan and travels to ny every summer and you can book him for makeup during those times. he charged her A THOUSAND bucks for each day meaning they paid him 2000 altogether for shaadi and valima. now i got all excited when i herd that thinking he must be REALLY good since he was trained from pakistan and charging so much money. you wont believe it, BOTH days her makeup SUCKED. it was something so ordinary that she could have gotten done at a makeup counter.. infact even mac does better makeup than that.
I agree with what everyone else is saying and don't go to Raheela's. Their customer service is well below terrible and they make you feel as if their doing a gigantic favor for you. She did my engagement makeup and it came out alright. That day she told me to come in at 5 and wasn't able to get to me till 8! My lipstick and dupatta setting was done by another worker there. Ugh so frustrating.
Anyway, I got married in Hicksville at the Sterling and I had a pakistani makeup artist come and do my makeup in the suite itself. She travels from Lodon to Pakistan to USA and has worked on a numer of Pakistani models and actresses. Trust me she knows her stuff. Expensive, yes but well worth the most important day of my life.
I had tried other salons in the Hicksville area but they just didn't seem to match up to the look I wanted nor did they give me athe attention a bride deserves so I lift it at that and I was so happy with my final choice Alhamdullilah.
my cousin got her makeup done for both shaadi and valima from raheela's.. while the shaadi makeup was so-so, her valima look was gorgeous. she wore this really shimmery dull gold dress and her makeup was like a bronze/maroon type.. looked amazing. raheela herself did it so i guess thats why it looked so good. but i agree that bad customer service totally kills it :(
does anyone have pics of shahzad's makeup? a friend of mine got married last summer and booked some shahzad guy who apparently is a MUA in pakistan and travels to ny every summer and you can book him for makeup during those times. he charged her A THOUSAND bucks for each day meaning they paid him 2000 altogether for shaadi and valima. now i got all excited when i herd that thinking he must be REALLY good since he was trained from pakistan and charging so much money. you wont believe it, BOTH days her makeup SUCKED. it was something so ordinary that she could have gotten done at a makeup counter.. infact even mac does better makeup than that.
I would totally use Shahzad that is in Jackson Heights at Bollywood Salon...
....I am the bride Shay is referring to in this post. I need to clarify a few things:
1. He is very reasonable. I did not pay $2000 for make up during the wedding weekend.
2. I think Shahzad did a great job with my makeup on both days and many many many others told me the same. Shay was not at my valima and not did not come close to me on my wedding day. I'm not sure where she is getting her impression from.
3. I would totally suggest Shahzad. He is very different from other make up artists I saw because he really discusses what look would suit your look and your features. He is very thoughtful and very attentive. He focused totally on me only on my wedding day, and more importantly, made me feel special and beautiful.
I was a very happy bride on my wedding day. If you work with him, its all about if your style and his style match.
....I am the bride Shay is referring to in this post. I need to clarify a few things:
1. He is very reasonable. I did not pay $2000 for make up during the wedding weekend.
2. I think Shahzad did a great job with my makeup on both days and many many many others told me the same. Shay was not at my valima and not did not come close to me on my wedding day. I'm not sure where she is getting her impression from.
3. I would totally suggest Shahzad. He is very different from other make up artists I saw because he really discusses what look would suit your look and your features. He is very thoughtful and very attentive. He focused totally on me only on my wedding day, and more importantly, made me feel special and beautiful.
I was a very happy bride on my wedding day. If you work with him, its all about if your style and his style match.
Actually you're not the bride I was referring to but thanks for clearing that up :) Yours was not the only wedding I attended, you know?
I attended both of her events and he did a terrible job both days which is quite sad because like I said, even a makeup counter could have done a better job on her.
Actually you're not the bride I was referring to but thanks for clearing that up :) Yours was not the only wedding I attended, you know?
I attended both of her events and he did a terrible job both days which is quite sad because like I said, even a makeup counter could have done a better job on her.
ohh, your talking about henna right?!?!
omgosh yeaaaa it was horrible her sisters and mother were showing off their hiddious makeup like it was beautiful. I thought that 2000 dollars payment for the makeup was a rumor cause her mother and sister kept bragging about it.
lol anyone have pics? we could settle this with a survey ;)
haha its difficult to compare makeup here and in Pakistan, anyone agree? I saw a bride once who had a valima in Pakistan and in the US, so she wore the same outfit and everything, only the makeup was different. it was unbelieveable how much better she looked in Pakistan. I guess you have to do more research here on the MUA? i dunno....
desigirl can i please get the name and contact info for that lady n i m also getting married at the sterling :).. also can you please post your pics? :-)
omgosh yeaaaa it was horrible her sisters and mother were showing off their hiddious makeup like it was beautiful. I thought that 2000 dollars payment for the makeup was a rumor cause her mother and sister kept bragging about it.
lol i know who u guys are talking about :) shes a family friend
Yep, why didn't you go? I went with my mother in law, we thought you were going too. We ran into your sister at the valima.
really !!! i didnt know u were going if not id definately have gone. lol…
anyways, shahzad who did the brdies makeup is the one from ather shahzad duo. I think thats why he charged so much for everything. It sucks cause it wasnt even worth a penny she paid. Im sure she could have done better herself
OMG dont go to raheela's please-- my sister got her makeup done from tehre -- it looked sooo ewww-- she made her face SOOO WHITEE!!!! it looked like chalk smeared and her arms and neck were her normal color - and after my sister i was suppose to get my light makeup done and im like OMG no way- so i had my aunt do it and it was wayy better than raheela's-- definately check out some places in hicksville- go see their albums and do a test makeup and see which u like best- but i def dont suggest raheela sorry..
p.s. my sister left her GOLD jhoomer their in a little purse and she had put it on the side table and forgot to get it- when she went back a few days later there like no we dont know! so it musta got stolen =( -- so fyi ladies- remember its a stressful hectic day- its ur wedding day- BUT kee ur eyes on ur jewelry!!!! =)
I understand Shay you've probably gone to so many weddings this past summer, since there were ALOT of them, including your own mashAllah:) which I was so happy to attend. Though, I was the only person in our community to use him this summer so that probably is the confusion I had when I was reading that.
I think its ok for clarification though. So many girls get criticized on this forum, so what if that person spoke back? If it was me... like I thought it was, I wouldn't just sit there and say nothing! This is a public forum, after all and the whole world can see it!
Marwah, I'm sorry, I'm a private person online and I don't feel comfortable sharing pictures here. I can and will only speak to my experience!
Angel327 can't get him anyway, (so this really doesn't help her!) but since other people read this for advice like I did for my own wedding, I thought it was good to have my 2 cents since I used his services. Initially I came on this thread to advise him, and then was shocked when I read Shay's post.
Probably the other confusion, as MiamisweetheartX points out, is that Shahzad from NY is not the same as the one from the athershahzad duo out of Pakistan. I've heard that the make up done from the athershahzad duo isn't that great, but I haven't seen anyone in person to have any strong opinion about it.
Sorry such a long post! Good luck Angel327 to you on finding a makeup artist and congratulations on your wedding.
$2k for makeup??? wth?????????? Why would you even want to fork out so much money on only makeup? If I had that kinda dough, I'd use it on my dress. I've seen another brides photos and she used this Shahzad Raza (of Ather/Shahzad). She got married in NYC. ANyway her makeup didn't look all that either. There is such a big fuss about him and his partner because of the fashion makeup they do (for photo shoots) but unfortunately he doesn't deliver when it comes to real brides (at least from what I saw). Ah well, what can you do?
Do you guys know of good bridal makeup artists in NJ? They could be desi or goray.
I've heard about laaj, new look, saima, raheela and ayesha from LI...not really very impressed with any of them. Have you guys tried anyone from MAC, chanel, etc that you liked? Any specific names?
Also, has anyone heard of Naushaba in NJ? Does she do a good job?
I know there are other threads about this topic but they're old and they all keep on repeating the same old names...i need someone new!! Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!!
I think there was a thread on this topic but i cant seem to locate it in the 1st few pages but anyway **AAM **I live in NJ and am going through the same dilemma dont really know who to go to but eveyone i know goes to Naushaba and she has done a great job on all the ppl i know but the thing with her is tht she wont allow you to get a trial before the wedding and also on the day of the event when she does ur makeup she doesnt allow u look in the mirror until after shes done with everthing which to me is kind of wierd. but her final presentation is quite unique and nice but just bc one bride looks good doesnt mean eveyone who gets makeup done from her will have positive results as well.
Since she doesnt do trial makeup i thought i would get ready from her on my engagement which is in a few weeks so i can have some kind of picture of how i would look if i were to book her for my wedding.