Bridal Dupatta Setting (Shaadi/Valima)

Re: Just came back from Pak withe the heaviest dupatta in the world - HELP!

Yup, don't change the dupatta. The makeup artist will know what to do. :)

hey wear your dupatta ... if you use another one woh baat nahi hogii... and 1 din ki to baat hai

Dear Guppans, thanks so much for the feedback, I think you're right I will stick to it. Any suggestions on how to wear a heavy dupatta? What should the pinning be like? Also, I reckon I might have to pin it to my brazier rather than the shirt as it makes it lopsided!

Like everyone said your make up artist will know what to do.. but if you want to try it at home....additional to pinning it on to your shoulders pin it to back of the blouse..it has to be slightly lifted when you pin it so that weight gets divided ..half of it is taken by your head and half by the pins on back...this way it also doesn't pull your hair down...this is normally done by makeup artists..

hope it makes sense..=D

Believe me, your MUA would know. You don’t have to pin it anywhere. Why don’t you go in for a trial and take your dupatta along to see whether the artist can handle it or not.

Look here, too:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/317532-taj-dupatta-setting.html

Wedding hair and dupatta setting

I’m really paranoid about not having my hair pulled back too tight. I’ve booked Bina Khan for my Shaadi and Valima… but she pulls back the hair too tightly. I emailed her asking if its possible for me to get some more volume in my hair, and she says it hard cuz the dupatta is too heavy and the hair doesn’t hold the weight.

My question is this. Is it really the case that you can’t have any real volume with bridal hair cuz of the dupatta? What was your experience like? Did you like your hair? Any ideas for bridal hair? Please post pics as well!

I’m posting pics of how I want my hair to look… this seems quite possible to me even with a heavy dupatta (regardless of what Bina Khan says). Tell me if you guys think such hair is possible on the wedding.

^well it does seem like all these pics of voluminous hairstyles are covered with light dupattas rather than heavy ones, so maybe she's right? depending on how heavy your dupatta actually is, I think they would squash any volume in your hair and make it lie flat anyhow...

Re: Wedding hair and dupatta setting

But can't she make the poof in the front and let the dupatta lie on/close to the bun at the back?

she should be able to give you volume, also sometimes they can put a piece in your hair for volume which i think it much better than teasing

^agree with whateverfloatsurboat
ask her if she can put a hair extension.. like fake hair... it workss
my cozn wanted volume and da stylist put fake hair.. and her hair was hardlyyy teased..
it was soo easy to take her duppata off afterwards..

thanks marvi.. I hope the girl at Bina's knows how to do this.

Any more ideas on hair and dupatta settings?

^ a gud hairstylist shud know all dis stuff.. iam not sure if bina khans salon has the hair extensions, fake hair.. or hair pieces and all.. u mite have to get it on ur own and den dey can put it in ur hair.. ask dem to make sure.. gud luk :) <3

Urgent Help please-- gharara prob, duppatta setting suggestions

Hey all, RAMADAN MUBARAK!!!
So I have a huge dilema! My gharara came yesterday however its really fitted from the thigh area (which I DID NOT want) at all. It's ruining the traditional look that I envisoned. Do yall have any suggestion on how to "set the duppata" so that I can perhaps cover the thigh area... I dont even know if that possible... but I am desperate here... Help!!!

Re: Urgent Help please-- gharara prob, duppatta setting suggestions

If it's a Bridal gharara, i really don't see how you could pin your dupatta to cover the thigh area. Even from the back, the dupatta usually only drapes over your back. even if you decide to drape your duppata so that it hangs at the front, straight down (this would kinda help with the thighs) but would still leave thee back exposed.

hmmm...i'm guessing the shirts quite short.

can't you go to a professional tailor and maybe get the gharara opened up a bit at the top? or maybe ...get a longer shirt made.

I hope it works out for you. must be so darn stressful :(

awww so sorry to hear that!
2 suggestions,
1. if the area above the "goth" is plain, get the gharara opened by the tailor and re-stitched according to your size with new plain cloth above the goth

1. these days long shirts are in fashion with ghararas, so you can add pattis of matching or contrasting shades to lengthen the shirt so it covers most of the thigh area

good luck, I hope something works out for you

Bridal dupatta setting for this wedding season (09)

For those of you who have been recently married or attended weddings, what dupatta style is "in" and common for brides
is the 'U' shaped front still in?
or the old dupatta over head, one pallu on the side and the other wrapped on the wrist still in vogue?

Any other style recommendations?

Re: Bridal dupatta setting for this wedding season (09)

Most of the brides here in America I've seen have been doing it the U shaped. But the duppatta with one side in front and the other wrapped on the wrist is sucha classic and my personal preference :)

Re: Bridal dupatta setting for this wedding season (09)

I agree hinah786, i think its a classic look and never out of fashion. Thats how i plan to have it when i get married inshaAllah.

can someone post a few pictures of different dupatta settings please? I am not familiar with the "u-shaped" setting and would like to see! Thanks!

the outfit in the deep pink is the style with the pallu on one side and the other wrapped on your wrist and I think the picture of the girl in yellow is an example of the u-shaped. am i right??