Breaking news: Shooting at Illinois campus

Re: Breaking news: Shooting at Illinois campus

X2, you can't prevent CRIMINALS and MINDSET that intends to kill from getting a gun... gun control works the same as anti drug law does. It only helps the criminals because you are preventing good people from owning a firearm.

so then why have any gun laws at all? sell em at gas stations and in vending machines.
kewl, I am all for it.

Exactly!

The issue here is not about guns. Its about all the other factors that make people dangerous when carrying a gun. Those are the factors that need to be controlled.

It is really a sad news. May Allah bless the injured ones with health and the family of the dead with consolation

I read the article on yahoo where it mentions :

The shooting was the fourth at a U.S. school within a week. On Feb. 8, a woman shot two fellow students to death before committing suicide at Louisiana Technical College in Baton Rouge. In Memphis, Tenn., a 17-year-old is accused of shooting and critically wounding a fellow student Monday during a high school gym class, and the 15-year-old victim of a shooting at an Oxnard, Calif., junior high school has been declared brain dead.

I didn't read any name mentioned of the shooter. Can there be a possibility that the policemen are looking for a nice and fresh name of a muslim / paki to be connected to this incident, who can be sent to Guantanamo bay. I feel very sorry about the incident but USA should ALSO USE THE WORD "TERRORIST" IN SUCH INCIDENTS.

From all th past incidents of school and college which didn't involved ANY MUSLIMS, where are the journalists NOW who love to blame things of Muslim organizations?

HHL:
:hugz:
Thank God you’re safe. I was really concerned about you coz you’re at Chicago (If I’m not mistaken)!

How do you take guns away from the criminals? You can't... no matter how many laws you pass. You will only bully the LAW ABIDING citizens but criminals will still have the guns while the masses they target will be unarmed and unable to defend themselves.

Why didn't this SOB go to some gun show or police station to shoot up people... why college campus? Because he knew people will not be armed there.

I don't know about you anti-gun folks but if I am faced with this type of situation, I would love to have a gun on me rather than hiding behind doors and crawling under the desk.

When someone breaks into your home with a gun, are you going to hide under your bed rather than having a gun to shoot up the *******?

As far as panicky folks are concerned... they may not want to get a gun. Having a gun does not mean YOU GIVE IT TO EVERYBODY or REQUIRE that every single retard and nervous person gets one... those who can use them, would get them. Just look at all of the shootings in past 4 years and you will see that the killer opened fire at places where he knew the victims would be UNARMED and amazingly NO BODY at these shootings had a gun to defend themselves. How shameful.

Jaan Leva....

so i dont get your point....are you saying that we should not have stricter gun laws? that we should just let any Joe Shmoe get a gun? because according to you it wont make a difference either way. am i right in my assumption?

Strict gun laws only make it harder for people like you and me to own an arm for OUR PROTECTION not shoot up people. Of course, you and me would first acquire a license to own a firearm and not just go into pawn shops or black market to get a gun because that would be illegal and only a criminal would do that.

If that guy knew that his college campus allows people/students/faculty to carry guns and concealed firearms, would he have gone up there to shoot people? I don't think so.

7 reported dead so far... :(

wouldn't people also resort to solving their personal issues by the gun?

Don't be too naive bro...just because someone's eligible to have a gun doesn't mean HE/SHE SHOULD necessarily have one. It's one thing to be able to get one physically, it's another thing to be mentally fit for it.

There aren't that many cool headed ppl out there as it is...and u wanna put throw TNT in the fire and pretend it's gonna be okay? Trigger-Happy is not just a myth....there are people out there that live that mentality...but your rationale, they'd be the one popping shots and people that have nothing to do with violence get hurt for no reason (gun or no gun).

If you don't want to own a gun, you don't have to. No body is going to be REQUIRED to own guns, but it should be easier for people who want to own a gun for THEIR PROTECTION / SELF DEFENSE to own a gun because no matter what you do, criminals and those who want to kill people WILL GET the GUN one way or the other.

1. Would US have dropped bomb on Japan to end the WWII if japan had a nuclear bomb as well? I don't think so.
  2. Would you go into someone's home when you knew that owner has a gun? I don't think so.
  3. Would you go to a public place where you knew that people may have concealed weapons? I don't think so. *]Would you rather have a gun in this situation or would you run for you life, crawl under a desk or hide behind doors and get shot at in your back??? I wouldn't want that. These are changing times, and one must be armed for self defense and self preservation, otherwise, who knows, someone from us maybe the next victim.

So having a gun is gonna guarantee you'll be safe? Are you gona have ur finger on the trigger at all times? Because u know...u never know who around the corner might be "out to get you". What if u hear a firecracker and u start popping shots...would that be okay in self-defense?

Paranoia doesn't serve the purpose, my friend.
Times are where they are because there are too many loose guns out there in the first place, and you think fixing that is to make it easy for anyone else who's struggling to have a gun too? Perfect! :)

I think, we must stay away from sarcasm when looking at it... it really clouds your judgment and that is why you fail to see the need for guns for self defense and protection of your self and you family.

When you are being SHOT AT would you want to shoot back or run???

When your HOME is invaded by ARMED criminals and thugs, would you want to shoot them? Would you want to protect yourself and your family?

WOULD YOU GO INTO A PLACE TO KILL/SHOOT PEOPLE IF YOU KNEW THAT SUCH PLACE MIGHT HAVE PEOPLE WITH GUNS and CONCEALED WEAPONS???

Pakistan main tou hum sub phanay-khan bantey hain aur edhar aah ke kuch zeada hee rules aur regulation ke adi ho ghaye hain lagta hai....

And this is not even about Pakistanis. Most of the victims haven't probably lived in Pakistan, FYI.

C'mon now.....

personally...I dont need to own a gun to feel protected. You can own and carry all the guns you want it wont make much of a difference because in the end Allah (SWT) is our only protection.

Jaan Leva....what if you do own a gun...have been trained to use it and all...but panic at the last minute and used it incorrectly (ie you kill a person instead of shooting them in the leg or you aim for the wrong person)...then what? it happens you know.

Again, sarcasm nahi chaley ga, lets not run around the issue like a marry go around, because of such wimpy attitude we are where we are.

Answer my questions that I asked in my previous two posts... shall I repost?

1. Would US have dropped bomb on Japan to end the WWII if japan had a nuclear bomb as well? I don't think so.
  2. Would you go into someone's home when you knew that owner has a gun? I don't think so.
  3. Would you go to a public place where you knew that people may have concealed weapons? I don't think so.
  4. Would you rather have a gun in this situation or would you run for you life, crawl under a desk or hide behind doors and get shot at in your back??? I wouldn't want that.

Is SELF DEFENSE and OWNING A FIREARM for YOUR PROTECTION A CRIME??? WTF!

You're doing no different....You're spinning the same ball of yarn too.

You're thinking about yourself.

You seem to forget millions of other people live in USA that would have a gun bigger than yours.

What if someone just doesn't like you and pops you....calls it self-defense. What're you gona do?

Did you forget that racism and hatred exists? Not to mention Paranoia or itchy fingers, whatever you wanna term it.

If someone is SHOOTING at you, WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO SHOOT IN THEIR LEGS OR ARMS? YOU SHOOT TO KILL if someone is shooting at you. That is self defense and perfectly legal *motion *as far as law is concerned.

If you own a gun, you probably know how to use it. If you don't want to own a gun, you don't have to but lets not make it harder for others to take care of things when criminals decide to shoot up a study / lecture hall or library or high school cafeteria.

so where are you planning on keeping this gun? under your pillow? next to u in the night stand? because these are the only places where it will be readily available to you. what if you kids get a hold of it.....too many stats on kids taking guns to school and/or accidentally shooting people . Guns are meant to be locked up....that's what they tell you. If you have it locked up what good will it do?

Teggy,

3. Would you go to a public place where you knew that people may have concealed weapons? I don't think so. *]Would you rather have a gun in this situation or would you run for you life, crawl under a desk or hide behind doors and get shot at in your back??? I wouldn't want that. That is all