BREAKING NEWS: Shoaib and Asif OUT of WC

Re: BREAKING NEWS: Shoaib and Asif OUT of WC

^Thanks Shear luck Holmes for your great insight..:smack:

I was thinking the same thing. I would have thought that since Shahid Nazir was part of the 5 reserves that he would be included. Pace bowlers for Pace bowlers…Yasir Arafat wasnt even part of the 5 reserves that the PCB announced and had tested for dope? Did I miss something or what?

Is this the world cup of all rounders?

1. Hafeez
  2. Malik
  3. Afridi
  4. Azhar
  5. Rana
  6. Arafat

Sami is there to give more runs away to the opposition. One end Umar Gul will contain and the other end Sami will undo whatever good Umar Gul did from his end. Doesnt the PCB ever learn? Now only if Kamran Akmal can get injured - lol

This is the umpteenth time I am praying, Oh Allah, please, accept my prayer :teary1:

dartaY dartaY posting:

I hope Sami make all of you eat your words (tauntful or otherwise) :naraz:

Guys recall WI, IND and SL series, pakistan played without Akhtar and Asif, and relied on Sami, Rana and Gul (all were much less experience at that time). Now compare a bowling attack of Sami, Rana, Gul supported by Azhar/Yasir along with spin of Afridi, Malik and Hafeez; and then look at teams for example India with bowling resources of Agarkar, Patel, Zahir, Sreesanth and Tendulkar, Gangully and Sehwag. I think even Pakistan depleted bowling resources are much better than indian front line pace attack. Key will be batting, and then compare again:
In form: Younis, Yousaf, Inzi, Afridi, Akmal, Nazir, Malik and Hafeez with Gangully, Dravid, Tendulkar, Dhoni, Yuraj, rest is etc etc since no one of mention. I think if Pak and IND both are in form then Pakistan depleted side is much stronger than Indian front line side. Same will go against Aussies, England and WI too. So even with this side, if batsmen perform Pakistan is among top 4 along with SA, Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

game bhai you know me and you know how I feel about sami and Akram. Yaar samjha karo I am so upset about Akhtar and Asif news that I can’t even freakin curse sami anymore. He is damn lucky.

o bhai sarcasm samjha karo…:smack:

What a lot of people tend to forget is that ODI is a batsman's game. If your batsmen are clicking, then no target is too large. Case in point are 2 back to back recent NZ victories over AUS, eventhough AUS made mammoth 330-plus scores in both games. I am very happy to see yasir in the team, as he is one of those batsmen who can come at even 7 or 8 and make a quick 50 or even more. He is very experienced, and can be in the same league as Razzaq. Another good thing is that Shahid Afridi is in form. The loss of Asif and Shoaib is huge, but world cup was not worth their careers. I remember we lost Waqar Younis in 92 WC due to injury, but the team was able to regroup and finally, was even able to win. True, we don't have Imran or Javed anyome, but remember we are relatively comfortable on WI wickets. The single greatest selection in this team is that of Kaneria. He is a wicket-taker and a true match winner, and has won matches for us on WI wickets. If he steps up and carries the rest of the bowling, and if our experienced middle-order clicks, then there are indeed reasons to have some hope.

^Ok. Lets leave all bowlers out and play with batsmen and all rounders that can bat. Lets bat all the way down to no. 11. We should be able to chase anything then. Like 500 or more. right?!!! :smack:

p.s. I am hitting myself so much my head has started to hurt

I am just GLAD Gul is there and his improved bowling against WI was very very encouraging. So long as INZI chooses right bowler to open with Gul and changes to spin when needed, I think we should be able to restrict teams to reasonable scores.
Given that, YoYo, MoYo and Inzi must get 50s in every crucial game along with one opener or all rounder getting a quick fire 50 odd. If that is the game plan Pak batting will be dangerous and should get the team to the Semis atleast.

All the world wants their teams to win the cup, but I think realistic supporters should be happy if their team makes it to the Semis in a fighting way and if pushed out, goes down fighting.

A fighting spirit is what a sports fan wants.

Sami kee lotto nikel aeey. Man this guy is lucky but i hope this is his last chance. He will be history ager perform nahi keya tu and now Pakistan's chances of doing something good are further dimmed !

Are you mad?

How can we now leave out Kaneria?

He’s the only world class bowler in the squad, Gul is potentially world class too. Those 2 must play each game.

Drop Azhar, play Danish. Although for us now a SF place would be a miracle.

I think in Afridi presence, we dont need another leg spinner, instead Pak will be better off to utilize Hafeez and Malik to get through 10 overs. If Afridi bowls 10 overs and Malik/Hafeez share ten overs then remaining 30 overs Pakistan can share among Gul, Rana, Sami and Azhar. Azhar will allow extra batting option and pakistan will have a batting depth to No. 10 (Sami), but Gul at No. 11 is a better batter than McGrath and many others No. 11 players. However, Pakistan will have the opportunity to test KANERIA in the absence of Afridi in first two games. In that case Pakistan can bring in Kaneria for Afridi, which will still allow Pakistan a batting depth to No. 9 and Gul at 10 and Kaneria at 11. Especially, Pakistan must test Kaneria against SA to see where he stands in ODI.

There is no doubt about Kaneria quality bowling, but he can only bowl ten overs, lets say he leaks only 30 runs in 10 overs (which is very unlikely) but I seriously fear he may spell a very expensive catch and may allow 10-20 runs in misfielding.

Well you re being too judgemental. What shenanigans are you talking about here? Asif has been a very simple hard working player thus far. (apart from that drug case which is stupidity but not shenanigan)

yes inshallah Asif will have a great career , well atleast in Test cricket.

Asif will shine in all forms of the game.

On the issue of Danish, Pakistan needs a wkt taking option. Danish provides that, he hasnt been given a fair try in the ODI stuff, his domestic ODI record is excellent.

He has to play, to allow Pak to attack. Afridi/Malik/Hafeez are not substitutes for a world class attacking leg spinner. Afridi is a decent spinner, in the Kumble mold, Danish is wholly different.

You have a lot to learn. Don’t put words in my mouth, I never stated or implied that we should get rid of all the bowlers. I supported my arguments with solid examples. Lets exchange notes once the world cup is over.

This WC is over for Pak... they will be lukcy to win a game or two.

Agreed
You make perfect sense here. Yes Kaneria like Rana is a wicket-taking bowler but he could also go for plenty (and I literally mean plenty, Lara must be licking his lips at the prospect of taking him on in the first game) in his 10 overs. So I agree when everyone is available:

• Hafeez/Malik/Afridi to share 20 overs among them. Kaneria to replace Afridi in the first two games
  • Sami (We have no option but to play him now for his extra pace, otherwise there would be a sameness about our pace attack), Rana/Rao and Gul to bowl the remaining 30 overs. Azhar could bowl some overs as well.

Guys don't underestimate the importance of batting depth in ODIs. Given our weakened attack it's all the more essential that we bat deep down to 9 or 10.

PCB Debacle: Shoaib & Asif get extension till March 6th.