I think Gul, Rana, Sami and Kaneria will be frontline bowlers. with added support from Azhar, Afridi(after 2 games ban), Malik and Hafeez. However the situation will change when Afridi is available after his ban. more cover to our batting depth. but the problem is how do you fit all of them in playing 11, perhaps at the cost of a batsman, perhaps not.
do match iss liyeh kyun kay itna khara khaylay gay kay log kahay gay unko kay bas karo aur baysta nahi karwao aur wapis jao paisay hamaray kharach hotay hai tumko support karnay aana parta hai warna indians ka crowd jeet nahi jayeh ga ;S
What a pessimistic small crockery, choTay paaNdaY, lot of people you are
I won’t be surprised when same of you people will be praising pakistan soon and mixing earth and sky’s qalaabaiN (what’s the english for that word?), after all the very same people were against Shoaib Akhter at the time Asif had arrived…
I can bet, Azhar, Yasir, and Rao can really pull a Wasim in WC and Rana bhai can be good in last overs
These could be easily adjjusted among 11 but I am not convinced if PAK goes with Kaneria as an attacking bowler. It is ODI game and Kaneria could only bowl ten overs and he is not a kind of bowler who could get 3-4 wickets in 10 overs. And if he is getting 1-2 wickets then Afridi is better leg spinner since he could get 1-2 wickets any day, plus his fielding is one of the best and above all on his day Pakistan could chase a 500 total. On the other hand, Kaneria will be a liability in field and will be even bigger liability in batting. If Kaneria is expensive in bowling, then he doesnt have any other skill to compensate for it, on the other hand Afridi, Malik and Hafeez could compensate in other two departments if they dont deliver in one.
Kaneria has improved his fielding a lot recently and can swing his bat around as he showed in the recently concluded test series against Saffies. He is not in the same leagure as Afridi, Malik and Hafeez as a fielder as all three of 'em are pretty good fielders but Kaneria has improved.
Kaneria plays or doesnt he would never be able to take Afridi's place in the ODI side. Afridi primarily known for his batting if a very effecient leg spinner is ODI's specially. His performance with the ball in South Africa was impressive. Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez are both under used in the ODI's by Inzi. They are both decent off spinners who can get through their overs fairly quickly without too much fuss. Overall I think the main thing for us would be Rana's form. If he regains his touch we should be in business. Gul is fit now (or so they say) Azahar might be no Razzaq but Razzaq hasnt been Razzaq (atleast as a bowler) for quite some time as well. Azhar can be a handy batsmen and could be part of a very decent lower order along with Akmal & Afridi. While missing tow fast bowlers is a big blow I think we still have enough fire power to go into the semi's and with any luck maybe go all the way.
I remember how most of us (including myself) on this forum had a go at ‘Inti’ (Intikhab Alam) for his part in the initial bans on Akhtar and Asif but after the latest revelation that the two had been using the injectable form of nandrolone over a period of time, i.e. it was n’t a oneoff mistake or thing, I find their (Asif and Akhtar’s) doping case indefensible. Call it pure ignorance, negligence, naivety or stupidity on their part but it does n’t look too clever now.
It’s like a patient with high blood pressure or diabetes for years attending a clinic for follow-up and not knowing what medicine he takes for his illness(es). -----------------------------------------------------------
Once again PCB’s bungling administrators find themselves in the firing line.
‘I told them so’ - Barrister Shahid Hamid
LAHORE - Barrister Shahid Hamid, the chairman of the Anti-Doping Tribunal that had handed Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif two and one year bans, has said that the PCB could have avoided this unnecessarily extended trauma had it heeded his sane advice.
"After we had reached the verdict, I had personally briefed the PCB chairman, Dr Nasim Ashraf about the opinion of the highly qualified medical experts who believed that Akhtar and Asif had taken the steroids in injectible form.
"Dr Javed Akram, professor of medicine at the King Edward Medical College, had advised the tribunal after thoroughly looking at the entire medical record of Akhtar and Asif and also the test reports from the WADA laboratories in Malaysia. Dr Akram suspected that the steroid used was Deca-daroplin, and it had been administered not once but over a period of time.
"Dr Akram’s opinion was that the effect of this drug remains in the system on average for three to six months and they would be tested positive for that long even if they abandon its use immediately.
"Dr Akram had also said that the use of steroids had to tapered off and not stopped abruptly, for if you do so it affects the hormonal system, making it function at below normal.That has an adverse affect on the performance as well as making one prone to injury’’ said Shahid Hamid.
Incidentally, it exactly transpired like that with Akhtar’s knee playing up again and Asif injuring his left elbow on their first tour after the bans were removed - in South Africa in January.
“In the light of what has happened, I can safely say that Pakistan cricket would have been better served if during the last few months we had concentrated on finding and training alternatives to these two. Instead the PCB remained hell bent on persisting with the idea of playing the two in the World Cup”, said Shahid Hamid.
On whether he had taken into consideration the medical advice while deciding the punishments, Shahid Hamid said that those were in accordance with the Anti-Doping Code. http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/mar-2007/2/sports3.php
I sincerely hope that this is the end of the career for Shoaib. I think we have suffered enough through his stupidity over the years. Enough is enough. on the positive side he will never play for Pakistan in a world cup again.
I totally agree with you..I hope PCB never allow Shoaib to play ever again. This dude has been a disgrace from start till end, and not to forget he drinks "alcohol and has an active sex life" lol