Breaking News: Shahid Afridi retires from Test cricket till WC 2007

Re: Breaking News: Shahid Afridi Retires From Test Cricket

not referring to the article..i mean the coach,the captain and a few other old commentators and selectors who though mudassar nazar was a star cause he scored the slowest,the most boring,the most pathetic hundered in test cricket..and that Afridi's style of play is immature or whatever.

Afridi average 47 in tests after his recall and he was pretty consistent too.

Let's enjoy a rough ride back to second test for a quick moment. At first, they intended on dropping Afridi in place of Yousuf (understandably so) and Faisal Iqbal, who has proved that he still has the ability and capability to hang with the big guns in Test Cricket after his recent brilliant performances. With all-rounder Malik being kept out of the team due to his injuries, there was absolutely no reason of not keeping all three of them (Yousuf/Iqbal/Afridi) under the same umbrella, in one place, and underneath one captain, on a wicket which had a big bottle of spin thrown on top on it. Yes, yes, yes; after scoring two 100's and a 60 in his previous recent encounters, one failure and that was enough proof that he was simply not a test material player anymore; that he has to constantly prove his worth time and again to the third-class committee and their bullet-proof chamchaas who can't think in a positive direction for a split second if their entire life was dependent on it. These people should be burned and shot to death.

Khochaa couldn't even figure out this one right. I mean, statistically, he averages 38 in tests and 23 in ODIs. In the last 10 test matches, his average is 47. In the last 25 ODI's his average is 21. Bowling-wise he averages 36 in ODI's and 32 in Tests, with a 4.63 econ in ODI's.

Jeez Louise!!! He should retire from ODI's and concentrate on tests, instead.

somehow there have been always people like him in Pakistan team who do not like the authority and want to be treated special, Yeah he had a great year in test matches both with ball and bat, but in 2nd SL test, he was dropped coz Pak needed to play an extra seemer, baced on experience of the last two test matches Pak played at Galle(1994, and 2000) in SL u have to get other team out the win a test match and thats why a seemer was better choice than a leggie+ plus the face that Faisal scored some runs in first test, so he had to be played to have a stronger middle order with a regular batsman....all that got MR SPECIAL feel like that he is being ignored and HOW DARE THE TEAM ** drop him him, WHy was someone **LIKE HIM, MR SUPERSTAR not given priority to the** TEAM PAKISTAN**

All i can saywhataa pethatic loser he has proven himself to be with this decision....one more of the GIVE ME attention guys

woolmer and inzi are probably somewhere thinking of an "explanation" for their decision to drop afridi.

It is already thought out. (The lack of) "Team unity" and "discipline" comes to mind right about now.

Well said. :k:

I'm surprised. Afridi has actually tried to apply himself to play longer innings in the last 4-5 tests I've seen him play. He was looking as if he was finally breaking the habit of playing like an ODI player in tests. I'll miss him

Afridi wanted people to acknowledge him not only as an ODI player but also as a test player, so I am sure he will be back, hopefully soon before the WC. If not than he is going to miss series with england, followed by home series against Windies, Asian test Championship and away series with Saffies right before the WC 07.

damn it thats a lot of tests…how are we goin to win:confused:

Well Appreciated a well thought post. :k:

There are these people in Pakistan cricket who are fat and turning grey, and need viagra extra strength, Inzamam being one of them..who think that Mudassar Nazar was a star because he scored the slowest,the most boring,the most pathetic hundered in test cricket and that Afridi's style of batting is immature.They just can't stand the fact Afridi is the biggest super star in Pakistan and that a lot of people watch cricket just because of him.They are just too jeolous of him and thats why they dropped him for no reason in that test match against srilanka.

didn’t you already post this … are you trying to show your anger by post it again and again :smiley:

Right on!

Cricket matters can’t be given in the hands of 14 year olds who jump on the chair watching Afridi hitting sixes or Akhtar bowling at 100mph. There are several factors involved in team’s performance. Decipline is on the top in that list.

Utterly Depressed by the announcement. It's hard to put in words. Inshallah, after the WC, Khan bhai will come back stronger than ever.

the utmost form of bachpana! jaaow mey nahi khailta!

You guys are justifying ur decision on seam bowlers. Than how many wickets did Umar Gul and that Rao Ifitikar what ever his name is both take in the 2nd test. And the answer is why Afridi was dropped .. For that. Rediculous. You guys can't justify this crap....

Malik should have been dropped a long time ago. Sure he scored a century but i bet if you were played in so many mathces after constantly failing you would also be eventually due for a century..

Your team sucks.

Your countries cricket is boring and politically influenced. Thats why u guys will be overtaken by NZ in the test rankings next week!!!!!!

Let me ask you oldies a few question's who hate afridi?

does blocking gain runs? you guys winge about Afridi playing his shots but is there a possibility he could get out playing defensive aswell? why is it that dstructive players are so feared around the world and you guys struggle to realise how they can turn a match? why do u guys like seeing boring cricket? why do u guys not see that Afridi wants runs thats why he plays his shots and cricket is based on runs?

Again how many wickets did Umar Gul and Raj Ifitiakr whatever, get in the 2nd test?

oh man, this confirms his differences with inzi :(
i just hope his odi form returns now that he is not playing tests