Re: Boyfriend ISSUES!!
^ lol. thats one funny post.. no actually rofl. main baray dinon baad itna hansi hoon.
He might not be serious about marrying you, or he's not ready to commit yet. I hate it when guys don't have open and frank discussions about these topics, because you deserve an honest answer. If he's not serious, you should be spending your time exploring other options.
Just don't give him too much that you'll regret later. Stay reserved. If he so much as wants to hold hands, you tell him that you'll be more than happy to get physical after he commits and puts a ring on you...and that's where your morals stand. Likewise, financially and emotionally, don't invest in him too much until it is obvious this is going towards marriage. Remain friends with him, and keep in touch, but if you keep investing in your relationship and then it doesn't go anywhere - he basically got a free ride off you, and you'll feel used and abused at the end of the day.
Unfortunately, our Pakistani men are a pro at playing girls.
I think he wanted to do the hankypanky with you.
Remember girls. Dont do a thing if you aint got a ring.
[quote=“PSquared, post:42, topic:212545”]
The likelihood of a Pakistani guy making you into his wife after he has called you his girlfriend is slim.
can u explain this to me pls because i seriously don’t get it…
my bf and i are neither engaged nor married so obviously im his gf and if we bump into friends i introduce him as my bf and he will introduce me as his gf because thats what we are to eachother at the moment even though we intend to get married. i just dont understand how the likelihood of him making me his wife would be slim after admitting im his gf
[quote=“lipstick, post:7, topic:212425”]
I would be glad to.
The intention of marrying and marrying are two entirely different things. You introducing him as your boyfriend and him doing the same doesnt mean anything to your families or elders. A girlfriend is just that much most of the time…a girlfriend. Converting her into a wife is not something most men can do. If you want to marry him, dont be his girlfriend. The typical dater has many girlfriends but only ONE wife and most of the time its not a prior girlfriend. Remember that.
The reality is, if you’re a young man you can afford these relationships but when you get to a marriagable age…things change. The mentality changes, goals change, priorities change and most importantly…people change. What he wanted when he was 20 will not be what he wants when he is 26 or 27 and ready to marry. At that point, his family will be most important to him and if his family doesnt like you because you’re wearing blue and not pink…well…then you will not marry. You want him to respect you and marry you? Dont date him. As the saying goes: why buy the cow when you’re getting the milk for free? Thats not to say you and your boyfriend are doing anything haraam. Its how desi society works and views your relationship.
This isnt me talking, its society…the same society you have to live and grow up in.
thanks for getting back to me. i certainly see where ur coming from and agree with some of ur points but i don't think it applies to every relationship especially the part where you said '*You want him to respect you and marry you? Dont date him'. *some of my friends have the same mentality and even i used to think that but now im like if i didn't date my bf how would i know i want to marry him? lol kwim? that doesnt mean he doesnt respect me. i've been dating him for 2 yrs and i know him inside out... i know what makes him tick, his likes/dislikes etc and i know for sure that we are 100% compatiable and he is someone i can spend my life with. for me i wouldn't have known all this if i didnt date him and spend as much time as i do with him. his mum holds traditional views and even she knows that he has someone in his life and she accepts that and has no problem with it because these days a lot of the older generation (where i live) have come to realise and understand that this is how their off spring will find a life partner.
mabrook apko meri baat mein itna funny kya laga?? i like making ppl laugh but do u think i was rong somewhere... me curious :)
i dunno wat it really was that tickled me but i'm laughing again.
Actually sub keh rehay hain he's trying to just fool around with her n u r saying ENJOY. well mixedbeauty can certainly do that. just enjoy, make him equal fool n one day tell him"tom is my wedding. plz do come"
you are guys still are so young. he is just 21. maybe he doesn't want to get married yet.
everyone’s in a rush to get hitched. ![]()
…oh the joys of being single. :hinna:
Well end of the day, I was doing the right thing, I went into this relationship with pure intentions. Its certainly not my fault i got screwed over. But Allah's watching, and hes writing everything for me.. Maybe he has another plan for me.. Inshallah. I dont think it was immature of me to ask for his parents to make the 'baat paaki' i think it was sensible of me to do so. But I've learnt my lesson. Inshallah i'll be fine..
awww ![]()
thanks for getting back to me. i certainly see where ur coming from and agree with some of ur points but i don't think it applies to every relationship especially the part where you said '*You want him to respect you and marry you? Dont date him'. *some of my friends have the same mentality and even i used to think that but now im like if i didn't date my bf how would i know i want to marry him? lol kwim? that doesnt mean he doesnt respect me. i've been dating him for 2 yrs and i know him inside out... i know what makes him tick, his likes/dislikes etc and i know for sure that we are 100% compatiable and he is someone i can spend my life with. for me i wouldn't have known all this if i didnt date him and spend as much time as i do with him. his mum holds traditional views and even she knows that he has someone in his life and she accepts that and has no problem with it because these days a lot of the older generation (where i live) have come to realise and understand that this is how their off spring will find a life partner.
Only way to find out is ask him when he plans on telling his mother about you, and then see his reaction. If he's sincere, he'll go talk to his mom. If he's not, he's going to be bumbling idiot with excuses.
^^ exactly. My guy was THE dream guy. I'm telling you. Made me feel like THE princess. Once i asked him to get his family involved. It hit a nerve.
Pakistani Men.. scared of commitment.
I am not dating him so for your sake, I hope you're right. I live in the US and know the whole ringamarole.
Btw, if there is anything I know about marriage I know this: you dont know everything about your man until you've lived with him. Expecting you know it all before marriage is a recipe for disaster and classic relationship/love marriage mistake. Please dont make it.
Like PCG said...tell him to start talking to his family about an engagement or something...then watch his eyes and how fast they go from side to side.
If he steps up, you have yourself a winner and more power to you. If not, Im sorry but he is a typical desi guy.
Only way to find out is ask him when he plans on telling his mother about you, and then see his reaction. If he's sincere, he'll go talk to his mom. If he's not, he's going to be bumbling idiot with excuses.
his mum already knows about me :)
just chill out now and enjoy life… someone will come along when u least expect it inshallah. wish u all the best for the future x
I am not dating him so for your sake, I hope you're right. I live in the US and know the whole ringamarole.
Btw, if there is anything I know about marriage I know this: you dont know everything about your man until you've lived with him. Expecting you know it all before marriage is a recipe for disaster and classic relationship/love marriage mistake. Please dont make it.
Like PCG said...tell him to start talking to his family about an engagement or something...then watch his eyes and how fast they go from side to side.
If he steps up, you have yourself a winner and more power to you. If not, Im sorry but he is a typical desi guy.
lol im imagining smelly socks and clothes all over the floor.... eewww