Bhatta mafia in karachi....

Re: Bhatta mafia in karachi....

MQM haters (including some haters of Urdu speaking people in general) used to abuse MQM alone for extortion. And now that MQM itself is protesting PPP's and ANP's bhatta-khori inflicted on common people, this hateful lot is STILL abusing MQM alone.

sharm naam ki bhi koi cheez hoti he. :)

Even if MQM was once involved in this, the current situation obviously shows that there are other parties involved in it too. So now if these people are not just filled with hatred against MQM and instead want to do good for the city then why don't they support MQM in getting rid of ALL extortionists?

Come on guys. You say that you have businesses set in the city and that you love Karachi. If that is the case then join hands with your political foes for the sake of the city and let it prosper by getting rid of ALL criminals belonging to any party.

Tamam shehr ne pehne hue hain dastane
Main apna khoon kis ke hath pe talash karoon?

^ So it is the admission of incomepetence?!

I have not experienced MQM's extortion myself but since there are many anecdotal stories, I tend to believe that at least some of them would be true.
But the issue in this thread is NOT whether MQM was/is involved in this practice, rather it is that extortion in the city by all parties MUST be stopped.

Now there is no point abusing MQM alone. If anyone wants good for the city, and if one realizes how this crime is eating up business community then one MUST support efforts to stop these crimes.

Re: Bhatta mafia in karachi…

So there will be no extortion by MQM now onwards? Toba taib hogae hain wo :hmmm:

This act of MQM to raise voice against extortion reminds us the story of a thief who when caught, mingled in the public and started shouting ’ Chor chor chor’.

^ Are you saying that MQM alone is responsible for extortion?

If this is true then call MQM's bluff and start an operation against extortionists, who in your opinion would be MQMers only. ;)

How comical that MQM demands action against extortionists and then people who call MQM alone the extortionist party, would not pay heed to this demand.

Prove that you want best for the city and support the calls to stop extortion.

I don't say that MQM is the only party to crime, but they were and they are the major players who started this game in Karachi. Why there is no Bhatta Mafia in rural Sindh and other parts of the country, where other parties are in majority?

MeiN kis ke haath pe apna lahu talaash karooN
tamaam shehr ney pehney huwey heiN dastaaney***

Poetry forum se PA forum tak aate poetry prose main badal jati hai ;)

I can get into details of why only in Karachi, but that is not the topic of the thread. The topic is about stopping extortion in Karachi by ALL parties. And if your claim about love of Karachi is true then you need to SUPPORT the calls for ending extortion in the city regardless of party affiliation.

I don't see it happening. People are once again abusing MQM for extortion, even though it is the one demanding action against extortion.

If you think MQM is just playing politics here then call MQM's bluff and start an operation against extortionists.

Sorry bro, but I don't think I need to support MQM and its political stunts to prove my love for my city...

Why MQM not organized rallies and strikes during Musharraf era, when this Mafia was not inactive? I think then they have complete share of this loot money. At the end, its we Karachiites who suffers, no matter who is in Govt.

:emmy: & :rotfl:

You won’t support MQM’s stance even if it is good for the city? The very city you claim to love?
Like I said earlier,** if you think this is just political stunt then call this bluff from MQM and support the action against extortionists**. Because eventually it will be the city that will benefit from it.
So prove your claim of love and support the calls to stop extortion and kidnappings.

As far as I am concerned, I would work with anyone who works for the betterment of the city and the country. I would even have supported Imran if he was not inclined towards Taliban.

Anyway, it is good to see Wassan taking some action after this furor. May he be successful if he is sincere.

Wassan seeks daily report on extortion
Karachi—Sindh Home Minister Manzoor Husain Wassan has directed IG Police Sindh to submit a daily report on “police action” in response to thecomplaints received on Madadgar 15, specially regarding “Bhatta”.

He said that Madadgar 15 centre has been revived and provided with necessary resources to control crime in an effective manner. I want a dailyreport on the performance of police regarding the complaints received on this centre about public complaints particularly Bhatta (extortion), headded. Wassan said that all the units of police have to show their efficiency and performance with regard to maintain law and order and controlcrimes in the province. He noted that police has been provided all possible facilities and technology to control crime.

I reiterate I don't need anybody's certificate to prove my love for Karachi...

Lets see how this chor govt of PPP's actions at the end of their govt prove to be beneficial for us.

Zardari takes note of extortion complaints in Karachi | TwoCircles.net
Islamabad : President Asif Ali Zardari has taken note of the complaints of extortion and poor law and order situation in Karachi as the business community in the port city kept their establishment shut in protest Saturday.
Spokesperson to the president Farhatullah Babar said Zardari directed Interior Minister Rehman Malik to deal with the situation, reported Associated Press of Pakistan.
He also told Malik to proceed to Karachi and coordinate with the provincial government in redressing the grievances of the people against extortion.
Malik said the issue would be resolved within five days.
“I assure you that the problem of extortionism in Karachi would be resolved within 4-5 days and we have dispatched 400 policemen and 100 vehicles to Karachi,” he was quoted as saying.
He said during the last 15 days three policemen have been killed during operation against the extortionists.
The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and other political parties have backed traders who went on strike.

MQM is crying because they are loosing their share to ANP, ST, Amn Committe. MQM reigned the city for 15-20 years and probably was the sole bhatta collector, but in last few years more parties are now involved in bhatta collection.

Even if that is true, everyone needs to support the calls to end extortion in the city.
But I guess for some people, hatred of MQM overshadows the good of people.

Following article says that your claim that MQM is doing it only because it is losing its share, is false. it says that the situation has gone worse only recently.

http://www.dawn.com/2012/03/16/traders-anti-extortion-drive-gathers-momentum.html
**KARACHI, March 15: The traders’ campaign against extortion gathered momentum on Thursday, when the Sindh police chief admitted that the number of extortion incidents had jumped manifold over the past few weeks and promised fresh measures to curb the crime.**City business and commercial market leaders, however, threatened to initiate ‘a last-year-like struggle’ against the menace if new police steps also failed to improve the situation.Only on Wednesday dozens of marble traders in Pak Colony near Bara Board pulled down the shutters of their shops and industrial units over the growing menace of extortion. They burnt tyres and blocked the main road in protest against the police failure to rein in extortionists despites complaints.“There has been an increase in the number of complaints against extortion,” Sindh IG Mushtaq Shah told reporters after attending the funeral prayers of Yaqoob Ali, who was killed in an encounter with bandits near Burnes Road in the early hours of the day, at the police headquarters in Garden.

mqm are the founder fathers of bhatta khori apart from target killings, rape, auto and cell thefts etc. For the last more than three decades Karachi is facing this menace without any solid remedies. When you create demons and groom them they will come to bite your own families in your houses. This should have learnt a long time ago when mqm created commanders’ rule in almost all of the Karachi. Your pir needed funds in landan, from where the heck these millions and millions of ruppees come from. The easiest way is to distribute parchis to businesses and houses writing the amount of bhatta. Now these demons have changed their strategy. "wichon wich maal khai jao te utay utay rola pai jao " This is now new darama created by mqm in Karachi after collecting bhatta for more than three decades to show people they are not the demons perhaps keeping in view strong competition in coming elections. Shame on them.

**JI blasts MQM over extortion - The News
Karachi

**Former Jamaat-e Islami (JI) legislators, in a joint statement issued here on Friday, have condemned the ongoing wave of extortion, kidnapping of traders and target killing in the city, and have blasted the MQM for trying to “dupe the people of the city” into thinking that it has no part in this phenomenon.

Former legislators such as Muzaffar Hashmi, Laique Khan, Nasarullah Shaji, Younus Barai and Hameedullah Khan Advocate issued a joint statement here Friday which stated that “it is hilarious to witness those who have pioneered the phenomenon of extortion, target killing and looting in this city, now crying over the ongoing wave of these heinous crimes that have wreaked havoc on the country’s economy.”

They said that the present government and its allies were directly responsible for the grave situation of target killings and extortion in the city. “The traders and businessmen are in dire need of protection; if such protection is not guaranteed, trade and economic activities in the city would be rolled back, which would affect the entire country. This would ultimately lead to a surge in unemployment, lawlessness and poverty,” the statement claimed. **

Truth is this that MQM is changing . There are some weak points in hands of agencies still. MQM is trying to come out from the past . Still 50-50