Best city/state in US

Re: Best city/state in US

Don't want to be neighbours then?

^^ Hareem is cool. I wouldn't mind having her as a neighbor. :)

^awww thanks.

umm...no...texas does not have a lot of red-necks! i am born and raised in dallas, my parents settled here in the early '70's when there was NOTHING! In my 30+ years of living here, I can honestly say that Dallas is THE best place to locate to! It has a thriving pakistani community, numerous masjids, shopping centers, grocery stores etc...schools are top notch in the suburbs, and the cost of living is so much lower than cali/dc that is seems downright ridiculous what you can get for your money in comparsion! the weather is very comparable to karachi, so most new transports have no problem adjusting. and the dfw metroplex is clean, clean, clean!!!

30+ years... uh oh.. jazbaat mei aakey aap kuch ghalat keh gaye..

dallas is boring as heck. it is too hot half the year to do anything outside when it is sunny. not that there is much to do. i have friends who moved from LA to dallas because of cheaper cost of living (a big plus definitely) but 5 years later, they still dont know what to do for fun other than go to the airconditioned mall, or the shooting range. fort worth.. has some cows and stockyards. clean yes. boring yes. not a bad place to raise kids though, i'd think.

austin is a lot nicer than dallas, imho. and they have a more lively culture and environment that isnt just all about SUVs and shopping..

hmmm interesting...thanks khatti and queer.

San Francisco or Las Angeles

^they're in Cali, right?

yeah they are in CA only problem living in SF or in LA is expensive housing otherwise LA 's weather and islamic community is better.But since your husband's field is oil/gas related TX will be a best option nice schooling, big less expensive houses and good muslim schools. Austin especially is cheaper.

And where I live :D only living is better ;) AZ is warmest state you can imagine.

If Hareem, your husband is in the Oil Industry you have several options:

San Diego and Los Angeles and surrounding suburbs, the area known as SoCal. It has 25 Million people. Weather is Fantastic. Plenty of job opportunities in Oil Industry.

New Jersey is also good. Close to New York City, lots of job opportunities.

Chicago is also good.

Honestly, anywhere in America you can thrive if your husband has a good job. That's the greatness about USA. :)

And personally, I would choose an area based on how good and safe the neighborhood is, job opportunities.

How many Desis and Muslims and Mosques a community is not really on top of my search criteria.

If you choose it by that, you will end up in a crappy neighborhood.

First find a decent place to live and I am sure there will be a mosque near by.

For finding the best neighborhood she has to find a best city first. Mosques are hardly in suburbs so yeah you have to travel 5 to 6 miles.

yes, dallas suffers in the "outdoor recreation" department, and there is ZERO comparison to LA/West Coast, however, I would hardly say it's boring as heck! and btw, shopping is my cardio.....:D maybe i'm partial, cuz it's my hometown....austin has a much younger/liberal vibe, being a college town and all, i think it depends on your age/stage in life....

aur haan, maine kya ghalat keh diya!??!?! 35 years ki hoon, mai, 3 bachon ki amma, loud and proud!!! allah ka shukr hai kai dheknay mai koi nahin kesata hai....and after all, have you not heard...the 30's are the new 20's...;)

-_-

The first house :hayaa:.

Where we live, that kind of a house will cost a couple of million bucks or more.

Other than the high property, I love the State of Washington. It’s got some great schools, Seattle’s been rated among the top 10 places to raise kids [last month’s Parenting magazine]. Lots of fresh produce grown locally, outdoor activities in abundance, active lifestyle, large employers like Microsoft, Boeing, Amazon, Expedia, etc… big desi community…mostly professionals, many masjids, many Islamic Schools and halal places to eat. Summers are lovely..75F to 80F, not humid at all, winter…we hardly get snow, but when it snows on the east coast, it rains here. And it’s beautiful!

lol this was priceless!

hareem, you might like dearborn too (the arab capital of the us)... i dont live there but this ramadan was has been so much fun for me thanks to dearborn and my friends there (though they arent desi)... on the weekends we stay there in the outdoor hookah/sheesha places till sehri. the baklavahs, falafels, shawarmas, keep rolling! oh and everythings zabeeha/halaal! what sucks is the job market though but with the electric car battery production the future of that area looks good, and then again, it depends on how hard working a person is too... I can attest, if you're skilled you have many lucrative opportunities even in the state where the unemployment's peaking.

Focus on states and cities that have the best career opportunities for you guys fields, everything else comes after that.

^^ exactly, forget desis, muslims, mosques. Find a good place to live, good schools, good job opportunities. Everything else is secondary.

Houstan is nice, big houses, lots ofoppourtunities in the oil sector, lots of desis, mosques etc and warm weather, lots of things to do as well. Dallas is well, boring. LA is great but I have seen desis move from there becayuse they didn't like the enviornment (not conductiveto raise desi kids in), public schools are not that good etc and its expensive, esp housing. The red neck issue isn't there in good areas in Texas. Think, not everyone speaks cockney in London!