Benefits of eating with fingers/hands

*Originally posted by Wise One: *

Smart answer. besides as far as i know it was a part of every religion in the beginning to live simply and humbly christanity and hinduism for instance both began with hands. Now people think you are a peasant if you eat with your hands.and being a peasant is ..... so it all related to your ego trouble now

It reminds me of a story a friend of mine told me. s'one in a deligation of one of the muslim country when started earing his rice he eat it with his hands. Some christan asked him in a taunting manner "Are you eating with hands?"
He said "yes. Just like the Jesus [Essa [as]] used to"

Apart from being the Sunnah of Rasool Allah (swt), eating with one's hands let’s one know the temperature and the feel of the food. Many a times I have seen many people putting a morsel their mouth with an aid of a fork or a spoon a bit too late to find out that it was too hot to handle.

well this discussion has gone a long way but i would just put forth my point of view.

1. Eating with hands is as much of sunnah as travelling on camels, fighting with swords, living in tents or mud houses and all these things. All i know is that had the arabs been using spoons in those times the Holy Prophet(saw) wud've used them as they are an easy and much more clean way of eating.

2. Licking of fingers is because of the fact that there is a concept in islam of 'barkat' attached to everything. now we dont know which part of the food has that 'barkat'. that is why it is better to lick finger (but not making noises) and not to leave anything in the utensils after eating.

Ibn Sadique! Good point. I guess, I never thought about it this way.

thnx 4 sharing :)

No offense, but is this not evidence enough that the Muslim Ummah is in trouble BECAUSE we are focusing on petty issues? I mean, honestly. If you care that much for the sunnah - then why aren't you focusing on the the hadith's by which you could make a significant impact on society?

So you win an argument with a friend where you prove that eating with hands is sunnah and is scientifically supported. Now what? How did you help your progeny? Have you significantly increased their life expectancy?

Jeez. Focus on something worthwhile. It'll take you far.

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
Have you significantly increased their life expectancy?

never knew life and death was in human's hands Not in Allah's hand.

Reject part of faith (sunnah) and accept what you like?

No offense, but is this not evidence enough that the Muslim Ummah is in trouble BECAUSE we are focusing on petty issues? I mean, honestly. If you care that much for the sunnah - then why aren't you focusing on the the hadith's by which you could make a significant impact on society?

So you win an argument with a friend where you prove that eating with hands is sunnah and is scientifically supported. Now what? How did you help your progeny? Have you significantly increased their life expectancy?

PC if these topics are not discussed and brought out, maybe couple of generations from now (judging from current nai paud) no one will know about Sunnah. I do want to point out to guys who are insisting on eating with hands, pelase make sure you wash your hands before and after the meal (with soap). Other than that adopt the sunnah and keep on doing what you are doing.

P.S. When I am at home I eat with my hands (fingers..in cse faisal shows up again). No Matty it does not mean that I will eat with my hands when we go to the curry place you mentioned. :)

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
P.S. When I am at home I eat with my hands (fingers..in cse faisal shows up again).
Aray nahi. You can eat with your hands too. I don't mind at all. Just make sure you wash 'em.

I know a gentleman back in Pakistan who would always use only his hands. Even when he'd go to buffets he will use his fingers to feel different pieces of chicken tikkas/fried fish/kababs/etc and then select the best one from the dish into his plate - you should see the look of people behind him. For some reason he would use the spoon to take rice. Also, even while eating in a chinese restaurant, he would eat the fried rice, chicken manchurian and sweet and sour shrimp all with his fingers.

All I can say is ... Masha Allah

and I am sure he never cared about people when doing something for ALLAH :swt:

indeed. Masha Allah!

Definitely. If I ever get the chance, I will stand you behind him. Khoob guzray gi... Insha Allah.

:insha:

9:71 The Believers, men and women, are protectors one of another: they enjoin what is just, and forbid what is evil: they observe regular prayers, practise regular charity, and obey Allah and His Messenger. On them will Allah pour His mercy: for Allah is Exalted in power, Wise.

Hmm, dont Pakistani's eat with their hands/fingers almost everyday? How else do you eat roti if not with your fingers?

I also agree that eating with your fingers somehow seems to give the food more flavor. I read something awhile ago about eating with fingers and how it aids in digestion, but I am not sure how authentic that article was. smile

PCG before you point me in the right direction, if I am not wrong arent you the mod of fashion forum here ? No offense but just confused how people care to waste their time on telling other people which direction they should seek and what not, when they do not know which 'daldal' they are in theirselves.
Other than that, thank you for your 2 cents i will def. keep them in my pocket.
-Salman

Faisal Bhai I dont get you sometimes. I can give you several examples of you mocking people and then doing Allah, rasool and InshAlalh in the same sentence like this one

"Definitely. If I ever get the chance, I will stand you behind him. Khoob guzray gi... Insha Allah.".

I mean if you really think its funny i assure you the people who do realize that it is more than a mockery and joke, they surely don't appreciate it. I undertand you are the 'Boss' here and its never a good idea to mess around with the authorities. But come on, in my humble opinion your way of writing posts has changed A LOT after becoming admin of gupshup. And TRUST me if if i open up a thread with a poll in cafe, you will be surprised to see how many people agree with this na cheez.

Yes if you ask me I did get ticked off as this is the second time you did it in this same thread first was

Eating without hands is very tough. Cz then you will either be eating straight from your mouth or use some other body part, which is cumbersome. My sympathies to all those who don't have hands. May Allah bless you all and give you extra sawab for the hardship you have to endure in this world.
Which hardship were you refering there if i may ask ?

*Kaleem Bhai * thanx for taking out some time and adding some good words in my thread.

Thank you all for your time to post. I did indeed learned a lot after posting this thread. Thanx to gupshup for having this relgion forum.
-Salman

Salman ! choR yaar :-) company kaa asar hotaa hai naa... he's been dealing with Madhaanee and Co. since he became the Admin :p If he thinks he looks cool that way then let him have fun :-)

Faisal Bhai: just joking :-D

Certainly Allah conferred a benefit upon the believers when He raised among them a Messenger from among themselves, reciting to them His communications and purifying them, and teaching them the Book and the wisdom, although before that they were surely in manifest error. (Surah Al-e Imran, 164)

*Whoever obeys the Messenger, he indeed obeys Allah, and whoever turns back, so We have not sent you as a keeper over them. (Surah An-Nisa, 80) *

".... and whatever the Messenger gives you, accept it, and from whatever he forbids you, keep back, and be careful of (your duty to) Allah. (Surah Al-Hashr, 7)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Definitely. If I ever get the chance, I will stand you behind him. Khoob guzray gi... Insha Allah.

faisal bhai, i may be wrong but i see your posts increasingly sarcastic. just an observation!

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

I know a gentleman back in Pakistan who would always use only his hands. Even when he'd go to buffets he will use his fingers to feel different pieces of chicken tikkas/fried fish/kababs/etc and then select the best one from the dish into his plate - you should see the look of people behind him.

He must be a Punjabi.. as the saying goes.. Punjabio ka haath nahi rahte.

The Sunnah is to eat from what is in front of you.

You guys are getting way too touchy. Probably summers. I don't know. Someone up there mentioned eating without hands, so I gave my input on people who have to deal with this everyday. Dunno why you guys didn't see the seriousness of the issue. Its rather unfortunate and quite discrimininatory, if you ask me.

Then I shared with you the ways a very nice gentleman I know, uses his hands and fingers to eat food, and again you guys are getting ticked off. Isn't putting two really nice and mutaqqi people together a good deed? Why shouldn't AQ and that gentleman meet? You guys disappoint me.

Right :nook: