Being Married?

I have been following this forum for almost a year now. I do read replies on lots of marriage discussions and problems my fellow Guppies face, as well. But there is a sense of negativity i feel from many posts related to marriage. I see many topics related to some times people getting divorced, some times issues with Mother-in-laws, some times compromising and bearing everything for their kids, some times finance related issues, some times lack of understanding with spouse, some times forced marriages, some times issues with in laws of both sides and other such genuine serious problems as compared to posts that give a motivation to get married.

Now that, I am getting married in a few months time, Insha Allah when i read all these things and experience knowing people’s problems around me, i just feel discouraged and a bit scared too.You can say it may be fear of the unknown.

I want to feel more positive and encouraged to get married and making everything work out and know what a beautiful experience it may as well be. So please everyone who has experienced it, please tell your positive experiences of being married,
-how it can be made better from our end,
-what positive motivational changes you felt in your self before being married and after being married,
-what moments/actions can strengthen your bond with your spouse,
-what is best in it,
-why shouldnt one miss out on being married,
-Basically, what is so special about it? :slight_smile:

Re: Being Married?

good topic!I too would like to read positive experiences of married people.

how it can be made better from our end,
DaffyDuck r u male/female?i ask this as if u female u hav to play on many levels.u hav to keep ur husband happy as well as his family n his dearest friends.Its not just u n him as we all like to think.So if u r prepared mentally to handle these ppl in the best possible manner that will affect deeply ur relation with ur spouse.In ka dil jeet lia tu samjho us ka jeet lia.

what positive motivational changes you felt in your self before being married and after being married,
got more responsible,learnt to b sacrifizing n more forgiving.my very straight forwardness did me more harm than good soI also learnt some diplomacy very imp sometimes.I got more social,better cook n host.We also did tons of tour-sighting n hotelings that i never did in my pre marriage life.

what moments/actions can strengthen your bond with your spouse
try to make best use of any time spent together.actions that make ur partner look n feel imp. try to come to his/her level sometimes.don't always expect be selfless sometimes.

what is best in it,
-why shouldnt one miss out on being married,
-Basically, what is so special about it?

Every thing is best in it.Its a relationship that is not easy n can't b taken for granted.it needs lots n lots of effort n in the process u both grow together learning by ur mistakes n celebrating ur achievments.If Allah gives u a good loving partner nothing compares to that.One very special thing that comes as a bonus with this relation is ur kids.
Now if i speak of myself i had a very tough time understanding marriage life n its challenges but when i turn back n see all i hav today i cannot ever thank Allah enuf.Whatever he granted me i never did anything to deserve it.

There are plenty of threads on happy marriages as well. But what i can personally relate to is that i have found a best friend through my husband. Alhamdulillah, i can share anything and everything with him. With him, i dont have to worry about his reaction or what not. I came from a conservative family so being married is like having fun the halal way. We go out to movies, to dinners and its all legal...what could be better than that?

As to about what you can do to make the relationship better, keep an open mind. Respect him and his family and hopefully he will do the same for you. Also communicate with him directly and dont believe what others may say. Alot of times they are there to add oil to fire. If something is bothering me about his family even, i talk to him about it. He would rather me share the frustrations with him than anyone else. Alhamdulillah.

well i could telll you ive been married abt 6 mnthes now :):):):):):) adn i cudnt even begin to express how happy i am he's the most sweetest guy ever ..!!!!!!!! he's caring sensitive respectful and i cud go on and on!!!!!...... and ... its amazing cuz this was an arranged marriage how the both of us clicked almost immediately (swoon) ....
for example !!!! we were visiting this resort in canada a few weeks bak and we were taking a hike ..and i cudnt stop shivering what he did was take off his jacket and was like put this on and i was likee noooo im fine dnt worry keep it on i dnt want u to freeze and he said "chup karo i didnt ask you whether u wwanted to put it on or not im tellin u to put it on you may nawt care abt my wife but i do so please pahno isay " and yeah he's busy with work and all but if he feels im even a tad bit upset or if i have a problem he would nev brush me off he'd stay and talk to me abt it for aslong as i need ...okay i hope u get what i mean its not always negative i cold go on and on :)

How it can be made better from our end

• Don't try to change the person to what you what you want him to be
  • Help him live his dreams
  • Putting more emphasis on people around you and not THINGS

*what moments/actions can strengthen your bond with your spouse, *
- Having kids
- Cooking and Eating dinner together
- Seeing your dreams come true together
- Sex
- Sharing so many memories and moments
- Sharing so many firsts in your life
- Making mistakes together and learning from them
- Praying for your spouse, their happiness, success and health

** what is best in it**
Someone to share your life and dreams with

why shouldnt one miss out on being married
I don't think it's for everyone. It takes commitment and dedication. But I think if you are willing to share you life with someone and commit to the phrase "for better or for worse" - it's blissful.

uve explained it beautifully :)

he told me he is my best friend first and then husband.... so whenever i need to address an issue or i am mad at him..... i telll him that i am not talking to him and that he should simply give phone to my friend....

and then he talks to me as my friend and asks me why i didnt to my frd for so long guess i was bzy talking to my husband :P and then he asks me what my husband did to make me so mad and he trys to explain my husband's point of view too after listening to my side of story but he also trys to make me feel confortable while i am complaining abt ma husband to my husband cum frined :P

i think all the points that have been mentioned above are very gud....
but i would like to add that u should get into marriage with as little expectations as possible cuz most of the time our expectations r so high which leaves us unhappy and unsatisfied...

Do talk to him before getting married and tell him about ur personality and ask him abt his likes and dislikes (if u dont already know each other)

Give yourself a time frame of 6 months.... in these 6 months you need to tell yourself that all you have to do is understand everyone and you are not gona demand anything to try to implement your decisions. You need to learn how things r run in his family, how they take decision, how the bring changes in their family or house. When you understand them its easy to get along and bring some positive changes if u think there is a need for one

Other then that i think you should pray to Allah and think that zarori nahi ke jo differences aur loogon ko hain wo ap ki married life main bi hoon and the other thing is we all come here to vent (some come here to find a solution too) but after that problem is sorted we r back to enjoying our married life...

no one comes here to discuss how her husband surperized her on the weekend with a breakfast tray or how he took her out for shopping cuz we all like to keep these things to our self....

Respect urself and respect others!

Congradulations :D now soon u r joining our club too

now get back to that never ending list of things to buy :P shopping is not over yet girl :P

DaffyDuck, treat marriage as your priority, your spouse as priority and your relationship as priority. Give it a 100%... it's not a 50-50 relationship.. its 100% from both sides. But you only have control over yourself so see what you can do first, what you can change...the rest will fall into place. And oh, don't share every teeny weeny bit about your marriage with friends and family members...very important advice for young girls today...otherwise you'll get unnecessary feedback that will sway you and confuse you. Don't compare your life with others. Allah tailor makes everyone life, best suited for them.

Go into marriage with positive expectations. With a clear mind. Treat his family like you want yours to be treated.

And respect. The most important aspect in a relationship.

Benefits: you get a lifetime best friend that shares your life with you.

My story is a little different, we were family friends since I was seven. My husband was also the youngest son of the family but was still around ten years older than me.

He first asked for my hand when I was sixteen, and got rejected, my parents didn't even bother telling me about it. He kept on for two years and they finally caved. That was the time he visited us and I was coming out of my daddys lovely salloon drive when he saw me. I totally ignored him and walked past and even though my dad was talking to him he wouldn't take his eyes off me. As you can tell I'de had so many bad experiences with guys crushing on my I just didn't bother giving a single one the time of day.

(My dad literally had a heart attack when he came back inside - I haven't heard him ever have such an explosion in his life). So when they finally caved and told me it was like a shot out of the blue.

My parents refused to let me meet him, and he was so anxious to get the nikkah over with already that he didn't dare ask in case my parents said no to the entire marriage.

Anyway we got married, I won't lie to you, the first three to four years of our marriage were hell, err with a capital H. His family hated me. My efforts were wasted on them and I do regret trying to be nice, his mother and his sister were the only ones on his side.

You see, his other brothers were married to women from the 'chuck' and they wanted their sisters to marry him. They even offered both at the same time (as in two wives)

There was also the matter of his inheritance. They managed to get their grubby hands on his property as well. He had another smaller one but we were fine with that.

Despite the Hell that we were going through, all the hard times made us stronger. There were times, actually, most of the time, where my own family were really mad at us. They are major socialites and if it wasnt a charity function or the diplomat from Jordan then its a cricket player from pk or my dads old friend Mr Universe.

My husband was getting pretty tee'd off because at first I sided with my parents. Then I realised that it just was not in him to waste his time munching on aurderves and making small talk. He worked, or studied, or spent time with me. His idea of a good time extended to travelling to exotic locations or going to the theatre, restaraunt or even an evening at home with me a movie and junk food. (Given it was a horror)

You have to realise one thing when you get married. Men are not all the same. Each has his own qualities, his own good points and his own weaknesses. They can't all be like your brother or your father - they are all different. So keep an open mind and stick up for him.

Anyway, we are out of the thick now and into the thin. And boy, am I glad I stayed with him. Leaving him was never an option. He's told me that as long as I'm on earth I belong to him. (Que rolleyes he's Punjabi and possessive to the point of obsession.. what can I do about that but enjoy being pampered?)

He loved me and still loves me like nobody's business. It has been several years and we still act like a newly married couple, albeit we never were for PDA's (he doesn't care in front of his mother though whether he gives me a foot massage or tosses me over his shoulder and takes me to the bedroom to find a more 'circumspect' manner of resolving our issues)

Yes we have fights, yes we argue and yes I do dump jug loads of frozen water on him. But those are the perks of marriage :) He is your OTL and you should make it as fun, and as passionate as possible. (The frozen water is my only defence - he is superior to me in size and weight and shamelessly takes advantage of it)

A piece of advice, don't ever take the role of a wife. Friend/mistress is fine. Surprise him, tackle him, tickle him do what you want, he is your man, you are his woman - don't be a shy pakistani kuri and break some barriers whilst your at it.

Have fun :) and I hope you find a wonderful man in your husband (and hopefully better in laws than mine - just for the record my in laws are now trying to behave themselves, since we've moved away, but I think my experience with them will never fix the rifts they have caused. I only smile and nod at them now, polite formality is enough - they are not nice people and not worth a second of my time)

*OTL - One True Love

^ its so cute :P

explain ur husband in a nice way that if u guys ever had any differences plz dont disucss it in front of the family

and
NEVER EVER EVER show effection in front of your inlaws
just be polite but dont show the loving and caring side of urs towards ur husband infront of ur inlaws.....
and the best policy should be ke inlaws ki kesi baat ko dil par na lagaoo......

Daffy, not to worry. Most of the time, people will post when theres a troublesome issue...but when things are fine and happy, theres not much to say other than well, things are fine and happy. So you will tend to see more posts about troubles than you will about happy, content relationships. Which themselves always have ups and downs, trials and tribulations.

Enjoy your wedding!! AND your marriage! Look upon it as teamwork and you will never go wrong.

Blessings and prayers to you for a long and happy marriage!

Aww you all have such sweet stories to tell. I really wish things go as smooth and beautiful too,Insha Allah.

InsAllah it will XXX

best of lukkk with everythinggg
whens your wedding ???

Please do paste the link of any such thread you come across. I'd like to read them. thanks! :)

The date has not been finalized but expected is winter this year Nov-Dec probably.

Kenjifu, loved your story!

these stories are so cute i love his topic im getting married in 2months and i am soooo looking forward to it - i hope inshallah i am blessed with a loving husband i myself intend to inshallah be a very good wife

I don't know why but to me it always seemed like a terrible drama lol there were times when I would just dream of a tranquil life on a quiet white sandy beach with palm trees swaying in the balmy island breeze

ah well wishful thinking - but still my happy ending is what I wanted, and if I had to go through it all again I would

I was just thinking about posting a similar thread about happy marriages!!

I was on the same boat as you before getting married.. I think it's the negativity that gets to you more than the positive aspects of marriage until it happens to you. I was really skeptical about everything like living in a new house, giving up on my life, is it worth leaving my parents home, etc.... But Alhumdolillah, married life is blissful as can be, which was a total surprise for me =) ... I am happier than I ever was mashaAllah...

There is nothing to worry about DaffyDuck, InshaAllah everything will fall into place for you . The best thing for this relationship is to be friends with your husband...Support him in whatever ways you can, there is going to be some compromises, but isnt that just life.... Just fully commit to the marriage and believe that it'll work...

and Dont forget to pray for both of you. I beleive that Allah mian really listens to you if you ask him with an open heart....=)

Best of luck with everything....

There is lots of things you need to know, specially about the first three months:

They are the hardest, that is because ( from boy point) he is used to lead life of his own, even parents and siblings around he does whatever he feel like, having wife may force him to change, this change is natural, as there is someone else who require sometime in the already set schdule, some dum-heads fail to understand this responsibility ( sparing time and looking after the needs of their wife) they keep working on old life style, so they create problems if not living hell for themselves and others.

The best way is, try to be friends with your spouse, in case of men, ask their opinions, give them respect, take a stand for them, make them feel important part of your life and love them whole heartdly.

There will be some problems, try not work around the problem, try to work it out, try to be supportive, give importance, this is important.

I never liked any drama serials and dance shows, but my wife wanted me to sit beside her and watch the dance shows and stupic dramas ( despite my beliefs) and later discuss it with her, i did it and guess what, my wives loves me like maniacs and i have same feeling for her.