Being kaali pakistani

Re: Being kaali pakistani

alrite not being too familiar with makeup ... I actually had to google up NC40 and here is my conclusion.
all of you NC40 wearing ladies are *NOT KALI *
there now....from here on forward tell everyone who calls you kali to take a flying leap off the nearest cliff. the end.

waise .... who the heck cares even if you were NC140????? ...... this only takes on importance if YOU give it importance.

I mean it girls ... stop being simpering whimpering boohooing vulnerable little kittens ..... you are women! ... lets hear you roar.

our society/culture/world will not change unless you challenge the stupidity you encounter AT THE TIME YOU ENCOUNTER IT.

also most stunning women and men have darker skin....
skin colour doesn't determine how stunning you are, it's body shape, fitness, skin features and hair....you can do lovely make up on dark skin and it looks so exotic too...

Also, if I remember correctly 80% of non-desis are obsessed w/ getting a tan and bronzing and "adding color". I'm an NC20-25 but I still like to add bronzer. My mom's an NC20 and she does too.

Some people, awein fazool mai sar khatai hain and make girls self-conscious. Seriously pisses me off.

Grass is always greener on the other side. "Dark" girls bleach their skin to be "Light". "Light" girls tan or use bronzers to get a "sunkissed glow". Go figure....

LOL.....now imagine this...OP is lighter! NC40 is too dark on her!

I hope and pray i would be able to make friends there, otherwise ill go mad :(

Awww!! Thanks so much Milly!!

My fiance says he wants a babygirl who looks like me and i always go in my mind "NO ALLAH PLEASE I WONT MY CHILD TO SUFFER LIKE ME!!!!!"

Dont pay attention to the skin color and body size .. they are just the way they are.

Haf you ever seen a Zebra crying why I have stripes, a giraffe weeping O Lord why have I a long neck.

Have you ever seen a parrot wishing it was a pigeon.

Have u ever heard a rose praying I wish I was a jasmine

You were made dark, so BE it, wear it and rock it !

Exactly, I think it's absurd that everyone keeps ranting about how this is a 'UK' thing. My younger sister is a NC40/dark whatever you want to call it and she's never had any problems with the Pakistani community whatsoever. She was actually vice pres of the Pak Society at university and NO one ever commented on her colouring! I guess it all depends on the company you chose to keep.

I thank all so much from bottom of my heart..I was litrelly crying but you guys made me feel better...

Yes even i tried NC42 and it makes me look more dark,my skin is caramel kinda brown colour..I went to MAC and a i was matched to NC42 but i didnt believe her and instead took NC44 which made me look so kaali so i got exchanged it to NC40 which stil doesnt match my skin color..maybe its the undertones which isnt settling into my skin tone..

redvelvet, paheli..Yes maybe my MIL wasnt trying to hurt me but it makes me feel shes just trying to refer my colour like you know ur dark so dont pick any bold colour which wouldnt suit you...once she gifted me an heavy formal shalwarkameez for an Eid it was in purple and then i told her how i liked it and everyone complimented that it looks nice on me..then she goes "mujhey pata tha yeh rang aap par acha lagey ga kyun ke ek larki ko mene dekha tha usska rang bhi bilkul apke jaisa tha uss par bhi purple suit kar raha tha issliye mene yeh dress liya apke liye" i was litrelly heartbroken by this comment by her..

and the friend who told me i wont be able to make friends in London cause of my colour was only telling me about her cousin..and she knows how much i hate my colour so im sure she wasnt trying to let me down?!?!

My mum is light skinned but my dad is very dark and my siblings are lighter its just me who is born dark..my family doesnt call me kaali or make me feel that but sometimes my mum asks me to try some remedies at home which helps to lighten skin colour...BUT some of my rishtedaaar specially my mamu and mumanies(all of the mumani actually) they all live in Pakistan and teases me by calling "BLACK BEAUTY" and some of them even said i wont be able to get a rishta in Pakistan because of my colour..it'll be really hard..but infact i did get some rishtas in Pakistan but i rejected them because i didnt want to think of getting married at that time (its about 3rys ago) My mamus really loves me but i dont know why they make fun of my colour? when they never did when i was a kid..just out of my understanding..also my granny sometimes say try to improve your rang even though she loves me the most in my family...it hurts when your apnay makes u feel really kaali about urself...

We can't wait for OTHERS to snap out of it. Positive changes in culture...begins with you as an individual. You can't control what those women will say to you....but you have greater control over how you respond to them and how you perceive yourself. And if you CHOOSE to put your OWNSELF down.......then you're part of the problem. In fact....you're the BIGGER part of the problem. And if you dont fix this....then you're not going to be any different from those aunties/girls who behave in that jaahil manner. You'll only end up perpetuating feelings of insecurity...passing them down to your kids....who have not even been born yet. Much of it boils down to....you.

jo kahte haiN k gora rang achchhaa hotaa hai un se kaheN k goraa rang to Khaam [kachchhaa] hai jab k kaalaa rang puKhta [pakka] hotaa hai aur phir yeh gaanaa use sunaa deN:****

gore rang pe na itnaa gumaan kar
goraa rang do din meN Dhal jaayegaa**

Who in their right mind would CHOSE company like that!

Its the people surrounding you who the more you ignore the more they are in your face. Friends or family.

I know how you feel sigh.

I also have an unusual skin tone.Very yellow.

On a happier note. People think I am brazillian sometimes! which i love!

OK...your #1 assignment is to get a proper color match! Go back to MAC...find a different SA and get matched. And also go to Sephora and get matched and get some samples. Then come back and share what color really actually matches your skin. Sorry but for some reason....I'm just really curious as to what EXACTLY is your skin tone.

As for everything else....honestly....from one engaged woman to another......PLEASE snap out of this obsession. You're wasting A LOT of precious energy into this. I know it's not easy....but you MUST at least put effort into coming to terms with the fact that you're not dark! If you keep this up...it really will start effecting your relationships. And there is good chance that your children will have your skin color....do you want your kids to hate themselves if that happens? Because if you hold onto this attitude that you're dark and that makes you ugly.......I promise you that this "feeling" will rub off on your children.

So for your sake...your future husband's sake...and your future children's sake......go into counselling if you need to......but you really need to work on getting rid of this "self-hate".

Your experiences (which haven't all been negative) have warped your perceptions. Again, your MIL did not say anything wrong. If she had ill-intentions...she wouldn't even have complimented you. Don't you see it? She said with confidence that the color purple will look good on you....she even complimented the girl that she saw wearing that color. But u just don't seem to see that in her words. Funnily enough...you seem to see everything that she hasn't said at all. I see people wearing certain colors....that I know suit their skin tone....but that i KNOW would not suit mine at all. So? Is that something to get worked up over? I see people with similar skin tone as me wearing a color/style that works...and I think..."Hey, maybe it'll suit me as well." So?

And yet with your friend......you seem to think that her comment was no big deal. Even if she KNOWS how insecure you are about your skin color, she should have NEVER made that comment. SHe should have tried to encourage you. Instead of giving you a negative example of her cousin...she should have given you a positive one. Not trying to turn you against the girl, but I don't trust your friend's intentions about this one.

You're NC40....and there are 2 other women on this thread who're NC42 (myself & redvelvet). Go spend some time on makeupalley.com and read through their makeup board. The "very yellow" undertone in your skin is not as unusual as you think. :)

Try bobbi brown. I am 4.5 mixed with a little 5 in their shades and it works perfectly for me!

I ask myself the same thing, worry not. Lol.

Agree. I have strong yellow undertones and I don't think it's unusual. I rather like it.

people NEVER think I am pakistani EVER and that bugs me :/ like they always think I am something unusual. Anyway i guess very yellowy isnt that unusual and bobbi brown suits me better anyway.

I dont know im just rambling on. This thread has hit a nerve with me I am going to be quiet now!