...Atif Aslam Concert - Houston...

Summary: This thread is to vent and complain about the concert. It was a very unorganized event (Boy, was I wrong for expecting organization from desis) and I absolutely hated it and will never ever go to a desi concert again.

**Details: **So that we don’t have to sit with the general public where everyone is dancing and blocking the view, we purchased the VIP tickets. Those did not really help because every Tom Dick and Harry went to the front and blocked the view of VIPs and VVIPs.

Things that pissed me off:

• No concept of line, whatsoever. There were 3 lines to begin with from different directions, and then when they started letting everyone go up one by one, the lines turned into a crowd.
  • Didn’t matter what kind of ticket you had, you had to enter through the same entrance. Someone tell me why we paid more for the VIP tickets?
  • No ushers or security, so people who had cheaper tickets were sitting on our seats (I asked them to get up and they did) and other people’s seats. That caused a few people to have fights. The funny thing is that the people who had taken the seats wrongfully were the ones to pick fights with the ones that had the tickets for those seats :hehe:
  • Songs sucked and so did the sound system
  • Atif came at the end and acted all stuck-up and gay
  • They had promised to bring Amanat Ali after Atif to sing one more song but they didn’t.
  • People sitting in the front kept standing up to block the view of people sitting on rows behind them
  • The organizers and the management was not available there to file any complaints

Things that entertained me:

• Finally security came (not enough though) and brought the people back from the front so that our view wouldn’t be blocked anymore.
  • They kept them back as much as possible and in the process arrested a couple of dudes who were trying to be all macho with the security
  • An aunty kept trying to go up on the escalator that was coming DOWN and since she was old and fat, for about 5 minutes, she literally kept climbing up but stayed at the SAME SPOT until people started whistling and then she had to come down.
  • This boring dude Qailash Kher sang boring songs and people completely disliked them and every time he stopped, they kept yelling AATIF AATIF and he completely ignored them and kept going on.
  • The dancer chicks were a little fat :hmmm: and watching the fat on their thighs and bellies jiggle kept me entertained.\

I think that’s it. Did anyone else from Houston go to the concert last night?

Re: ...Atif Aslam Concert - Houston...

shikra, kabhi kisi concert ki tareef bhi kar liya karo

I don't know man. I think expect too much of desis. I am a very organized person and it really pisses me off when they want to charge you for something but don't want to provide you the same level of service. I did list "things that entertained me" because unfortunately there was nothing "good" about the concert.

:omg: :omg::omg:

nice to know you had a good time :k: shikki

BTW its KAILASH Kher :smilestar: and he normally has some cool songs:roman

Re: …Atif Aslam Concert - Houston…

Kailash dude sang 2 songs of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and 5-6 other random songs that I had never heard. The host admired him too much that he was some very famous dude whose songs are very popular in movies. I was thinking Sonu Nigam aa gaya hai :rolleyes:

I like some of Kailash Kher’s songs :chai:

yeah a few of his songs have been in movies but the best ones have been his own

everyone has their own personal taste tho and alost of his songs the ones i like are quit slow and depressing:D

I feel sorry for the desi aunty. I don't get how she didn't realise that she was using the wrong escalator? Was she the first one to rush out? thinking wali smilie

she mustnt have paid attention i know a couple of people that my mum knows have gone up the wrong escalators before:cb:

Shikra, I went to the one in Chicago, apart from Atif, none of the performers showed up! The organizers refused to refund the $125 we had paid for the all 4 acts, as some of us asked him to refund it via email. We told Atif backstage about how we were lured into thinking there would be 3 other performers (amanat, kalash etc) apart from him, he said something about them not getting visas, so I wonder how they showed up at the houston gig!

I admired him though because people were pretty rude to him for 2 reasons:

1. They had been wanting Atif on the stage for a long time and they kept bringing other artists. The way they introduced who was coming on stage, people thought it’s Atif but their bubble busted when Kailash showed up :smiley:

2. He sang more songs than people (already ticked off because Atif wasn’t coming) could take.

But he completely ignored the idiots and kept going with a smile on his face :k:

shikki :rotfl: u so crazy … konsa desi concert me MELAS nai ate all tom dick n harry wahan pe hote hein…

dancing boi every body dances n concerts … hts y i dun go to concerts no more they r use less ise behter he jab woh concerts dvd yeh tv pe ae tu first seat first row with out no one blocking view tv pe dekhlo :rotfl:

P.S awww mera bucha :hug:

puttar jee, expectations rakhna chor do. not everyone is crazy like shikra :P

This was when we were going UP to enter the auditorium. She knew she’s going the wrong way but she thought she could make it but she couldn’t.

Interesting. I was listening to the local radio on Friday and the organizer was at the airport waiting for Amanat and team to arrive. May be they all came directly from somewhere else and Atif came to Houston on Saturday or Sunday morning? Who knows. But yes, they ripped you guys off and like me, you are expecting a refund out of desis, which is too much expectation :hehe:

:cb:

My mom and cousin were going up the right escalator in one of the shopping centres in Pak. All of a sudden it decided to take them back down :rotfl: A random man had to stop the escalator :cb:

My cousin came over to me with her bateesa sticking out. When I asked her what happened, she was telling me the whole story as if an amazing thing had happened:cb:

Pakistani escalators I tell ya rolls eyes

We I am glad we went now because now my wife hates concerts too. She always wanted to go one, especially when Indian actors/actresses come and now I can present this example and remind her what it’ll be like if we go and she’ll back down :smiley:

KItni cute si anty hain :rotfl:

this is why i never go to desi concerts :smiley:

just watch them at the local mela for free:khumar:

Yeah, the guy running the show changed his phone number, after some people started calling him for refunds! However, I heard there are some people who are filing a case against him in the local small claims court, which I think would be a great idea, because this is apparently the second time he has done this, i.e. not bring amanat to an event where he advertised him.

btw, at the event I went to, the partitions b/w the different seating areas was good, thtey had alot of security to make sure no one goes to the seating section they werent supposed to goto.