At what age did you get married..

Re: At what age did you get married..

me n Atif…

he was 26 and me was 22
married 6 months, he’s 27 and im 23 now…about 4-5 yrs gap…wev known eachother 2 yrs before we got married and were engaged 8 months…:halo:

one of my friends have the same age gap as us buy as far as the gap age goes they are having problems such as…the guy has bin working for 6-7 yrs now and is good nuf on his way…but the girl has only started her professional career, she still needs a good 4-5 yrs experience…and the guy alread wants to have kids now…and shes like wot was the point of me studying anyway if i wasnt gona get there…

this frustrates me…family planning should be done by BOTH, and the guy should have made this clear to her before they got married or he shud have known she wants to finish wot she started…

also another problem that arises is that the guy is settled and matured now, always serious no joking round etc…whereas the girl is still 22ish and wants to have fun, go out now n then for a meal likes to be treated etc…the guy is sayin ‘its a waste of time and money if u go out, ghur pe hi theek hei’…thou there recently married she hardly dresses up at home and has no reason to coz they never go out…

ghur mein hi bund kur diya hei..:mad2:…it makes me sooo mad wen newly married BUDDE husbands do that…i feel for my friend…:bummer:

In the northern hemisphere though only.

let me tell u guys this my bro got married at the age 17 hes been married 5 years now and has got 2 girls 1 is 2 gonna be 3 nex year and the other 1 is 7 months he works and is 22 years he is very happy he couldnt wish 4 more

and me i got married last year age 18
gonna bring hubby down ere in uk very soon INSHALLAH

^^

woah....

I dont think ur rushing at 22 if you feel ready. I didnt feel ready at 24! but some things just happen when they have to. :-) Good Luck.

I don't think 22 is too young of an age to get married, i think you should only get married if u feel mature and ready for it as there are alot of responsibilities and u need to understand the role of playing spouse...

I got married at 21yrs and don't regret it one single bit as i kno that i was ready to settle down and mashallah things worked out fine.

There's no right or wrong age to get married, but sometimes if your too young -i.e. 16/17 then you may not be mature enough to handle marital life... and whereas if your of the older age range then you may not enjoy marriage to its fullestm, as they say that u have more energy/zest in you when your younger so your more likely to have fun and enjoy your early years... whereas if u get married later, u have this pressure to have kids quickly as you know that after the age of 30 your chances of conceiving are reduced by a very high rate - whereas if ur getting married around the age of 21-25yrs, you know that you have time to chill out and really get to know your partner b4 u decide to have a child... i'm not saying it works out better being younger, but it has its advantages...

if ur a girl…22 is good…

man my mom was 22..:phati:

i got married at the age of 22, before one year.

u r bulkul nahi rushing things...i was 21 when i got married....

No age related problems in our case...i mean we both are pretty young...have same interests u know...i stronglt belive if therea a huge age difference phir you face problems cuz one person is wayyy to mature for the other you know

Thanks so much!! I feel so much better about this whole marriage thing now. It seems like a lot of you got married in your early 20’s with no regrets later. That’s a good sign! I know he’s THE ONE and I have known him for quite some time. We can literally read each other’s mind. :halo:

He is exactly my age, only a few months older. If anything, it makes everything better.. We think like each other, our interests are the same, and our energy level (and unfortunately maturity level :bummer:) is same too. Actually I shouldn’t say that; we make quite a smart couple (together we can do what many others can’t). :smiley:

lol....thats really sweet....so now stop stressin and so shaadi kee tayariyan...lol

p.s...waisay how old are you

only @18 years of age :)

Shaadi ki taiyaran kese karun. It's all really weird, I can't do anything until his family talks to mine. I am not even sure what's going to happen. I really do want to get married, but I am kind of skeptical of his plan. I am the one who plans, he follows it through. :D This time, he is planning.. so it's different...

P.S. I am 22. Didn't you get that from my first post?

Congrats to the people who married recently or are due to do so!

I got married last December at 21, my husband turned 21 one a few days later. It was a love marriage for us and so far we’ve already had to face an obstacle in our marriage by being apart :frowning: ! He’s in Pakistan and I’m in the UK but will be going out to him later this month (can’t wait:) ).
Before I got married, I felt quite scared as I hadn’t actually imagined marrying till a few years later. I thought marriage would make me feel different, but it didn’t much lol. That may be cos me and my husband aren’t living together yet though I guess.
It’s weird though, cos a few months ago my uncle was over visiting from Pakistan, and there’s a family dilemma going on with my sister and he sat down with her to try and help sort it out, and he said to me to sit with them too, but he didn’t include my other sister (who’s unmarried and actually older than me lol)! I didn’t realise till later that my status has changed a bit with some of my rels from getting married, I actually thought my uncle just valued my opinion and wanted to hear from me lol. However, my parents still treat me the same, as if I know nothing and am just a stupid kid :smack:!
A question, the thing about a man marrying and therefore completing half of his Islam, is that applied to women too???

^ That's only a year younger than me and I am think it's too young. lol.

What do you mean by completing half of his Islam? I am not getting your question. When you got married, did you do rukhsati or was it just a Nikah? I have three cousins who went to pakistan and only did Nikah then came here. That happens a lot actually! I can feel your pain if you actually got married, spent some time with your husband, then had to part from him. That's just cruel..

not necessarily.....it depends on the person. Some 20 year old girls are quite mature for their age and may be perfectly compatible with a 30 yr old. Dont you think?

yes ...i believe so :)

True, but she's speaking after watching the age difference among close relatives and I agree with her. In one case the guy was in mid 30s and the girl was in mid 20s when they got married. The girl was really looking forward to going out to lunches, movies, etc. but the guy's attitude was "been there done that". He did go with her but he wasn't as excited as the girl. There was some other stuff that he thought was boring but the girl thought it was fun, you know, the little things.

So you are also right, that it's not necessarily true, but it does happen. Maturity does not have anything to do with age. Even on gupshup, look around, we have some people who are around in their 30s and are immature and then we have people who are in late teens and/or in 20s and are mature.

well that just sucks!! it's a bit selfish for a husband to have that kind of attitude!

anyway yea...it depends on the person's level of maturity and their personality.