Re: Ashamed Of Urdu?
Danial do NOT make this thread look like Cafe's thread. Aur please urdu may baat kijiye!
no not me…my frens also think its quite cool that i can speak fluently in urdu:smooth:
I love speaking Urdu, it gives me joygasms, if ever I meet a Desi who can speak bare minimum amount of Urdu or Hindi I can't shut up, poor goray get paranoid and awkward and I know it's rude when the third person can't understand but I can't help it, it gets me soooooooo hyper.
We were never allowed to speak English at home or even in the car so Urdu just feels more natural and effortless, I find I can express myself better with Urdu than with English.
i don mind speakin urdu in public wit friends but i get really self conscious abt it (in US) coz every1 makes fun of the way i talk :(
I'm not ashamed of speaking in Urdu when in the company of others, granted that they speak and understand Urdu as well.
needless to say, not may folks took the advice, which is very sad.
Oriental immigrants are the ones to look upto .. honestly.. these kids KNOW who they are, there's no rush to quit speakin their lingo once they get off the plane... speak cantonese, jap, mandarin amazingly well, even tho its been donkey yrs since they immigrated... good self esteem, balanced lifestyle, clever thinking and lots of patriotism.
oh man i couldn't have said it better
and no, i'm not ashamed of talking in my own language - urdu that is
i'm very fluent =)
since that's what i speak at home nd school too at times..
Angrezon ke saamne Urdu me baat karna is liye desiyon ko pasand nahin hai kyonki Angrezon mein jo chamdeesar (skinhead) aur laalgardan (redneck) hai wo chilaane lagte hain: "p@ki, go home".
Those who've been brought up speaking Urdu at home, did it ever happen that at times you feel more comfortable speaking in English to strangers (i.e. desis)?
I know it happens to me. Sometimes I find it awkward speaking in Urdu to desis that I'm not acquaintances with. However, if the other individual speaks good Urdu, then I don't usually have trouble switching over to Urdu.
In the past (and even now), I've been told how I speak a little too fast in Urdu due to which I end up looking like an idiot and have to then repeat myself multiple times. It becomes more a nuisance than anything else.
^ I have been brought up speaking urdu in family and I certainly have no probs nor hesitation in speaking urdu with anyone. But interestingly, when I first joined Grad school (there were lots of desis in my class) but I hesitated to speak urdu with them. Reason b/c there were more desi dudes than girls. The desi girls that were there, pretended as if they don't know urdu and guys would think if a girl is talking to them in urdu, she is trying to hit on them retards
Now, after many months I got comfortable speaking urdu with the selected ones in my school. Outside school, I really have no prob nor ashamed to speak.
lol.. The area of toronto in which i live in is purely , entirely desi. Pakistanis/Indians and Bengalis.... u wont find a gora or kaala around here...
walmart's staff,zeller's staff or any big grocerry's staff are all desis too.... lol.... i hardly get a chance to speak english... although im too bad in speaking english lol, becuase i never got a chance to speak with anyone.
hahaha
datz soooo true...
u DO however find a few kaalas but goras... dayum u find them like once in a while
i live in rexdale
n shyt... Scotts/Scots [however u spell it] used to live here like way before
but now... this area is totally desiii
My Urdu sucks bigtime. ![]()
It’s improving though. ![]()
humnai tu yahe note kiya hai yahan pur aor baqee jagah bhi. kai jo bhi SIRF urdu mai ya Punjabi me baat karta aam tur pur log usse qataa-taluk kurtai hain, patta nahe shaid wo samjhtai hai kai THAT person is utterly incapable of having a sensible conversation or would,sumhow, be bellow DESIRED standards, whatever may they be.
Galiyaan dainay ka maza sirf aur sirf punjabi main aata hay ... any other language is useless. So When I am exicted I speak Punjabi. I dont mind speaking Urdu, as I speak it at work too, if needed.
Funny thing, even tho my urdu is crap, (mostly coz its mixed with punjabi, along with a really thick accent, or so ive been told
) it was my first language.. my chachi (gori) had to teach me english before I started kindergarten.. til HS i was proud of my urdu speakin skills, n all throughout grade school til high school, I was the only desi/Muslim in my school (catholic school in the bronx.. :halo: ).. and then i started college and met real desis..
In theory im not ashamed to speak urdu but in practicality..
Oh and I cant’ stand reading the roman Urdu/Punjabi here..
well...people who are ashamed of speaking urdu are all complexed...they should consult a psycharaist right away.....what in it to be ashamed...it's just a language!!!
totally.. altho im ok with it now.. but i grew up only speaking urdu at home.. since any other language besies French and English was strictly not allowed at school.. and i lived with a 99% gora population… so only spoke urdu at home… once we moved to canada and i went off to high school.. kids speakin in their mother tongues was the norm.. i just found it very odd speakin in urdu with my friends.. maybe my earlier school life had influenced that part of me.. talkin in anything other than english was “wrong”.. hehe… kher.. i got over it… then i moved to college and no desis.. back to english full time..
as for fast urdu.. no one other than my kid bro can understand me… hate repeating myself too
on a side note.. ppl sayin they talk in their mother tongues even when there is a
3rd person with them who doesnt understand the language… shame on u guyz.. its highly rude and shows a lack of manners.
Just like in everything else around us, people actually made standards in language too. It is considered high class (specially in pak) if someone speaks english more than urdu.
I met some pathethic aunties (sorry aunties) that sitting in some party would be telling proudly that my kids cannot speak urdu, they don't understand a single word of urdu and yet they know all the latest indian movie songs?? That is very lame. I would love to learn as many languages as I would get chance to, only because for my own knowledge Not just because of creating some high standards as most of the desi population has done.
You watch paki channels, most of the actors/actress when give interviews...end up speaking english. I understand the show is broadcasting out in the world and yeah may be some people can't understand urdu BUT stilll that doesn't mean you start speaking english more than urdu just b/c english is an international lang. Instead of promoting our national lang. we are actually running away from it and trying to adapt other cultures just so we can fit in them instead of standing out!
Thats just soooooooooo lame!
Such hypocrisy! What about having discussions here in Urdu, I don't see that happening very often.
^ cuz the script is english, its kinda hard to read urdu written in english script.