Arranged, Luvranged, or Love marriages?

Arranged - Could mean you are forced/blackmailed into marrying this person. Or it could mean your parents find suitors for you and you choose one of them.

Luvranged - Basically you see a girl/boy, talk with them for like a week or barely know them and then send the proposal. Or it could be you see the boy/girl, like the way they look, and then ask your parents to send the rishta.

Love - When you spend a considerable amount of time with a guy/girl. You love being together, see eye to eye, etc. Or you are in a serious relationship and you want to get married.

and why you have chosen that option?
If you are already married - what type of marriage of the 3 did you have - would you choose to do this again or would you choose a different path?

Personally for me, I choose love marriages. At least that way I will get to know the guy before tying the knot. Luvranged seems sorta stupid to me. I mean you barely know the person and you just decide you want to marry them. Arranged just sends me puking because [a] I know what I want and can find it myself and ** I don’t know what the guy is like at all! Will we click? Or will we be polar opposites for everything [resulting in one to many arguments or me having to change]. Getting married to someone you don’t know or barely know is just scary.

Re: Arranged, Luvranged, or Love marriages?

Mine was Arranged ;). MashAllah! I would not have been able to find someone like him myself! :blush:

I got married at a very young age, so i thought its better my parents choose my life partner as they know me well and have seen the duniya more :slight_smile:

No regrets :slight_smile: MashAllah!

Love/Arranged… and my mum loved him for me too.. she actually asked him first if he wanted to marry me.. then she arranged it with his family
:wub:

I love them both and my MIL is awesome. I am sooo blessed

a million threads on the same thing.

It is life changing decision and your selection or picking to be spouse depends on your family setup. I believe none of the category is stupid because each family has its own background, culture and standard and you influenced by it to some extent. Time is critical factor, the more two families get mingle with each other, the more they understand and could break deal in either yes or no.

In general, family background, cultural values, financial status, religious tendencies/inclination, and attraction(physical/personality) should match on both side for successful married life.

In the end, observe your to be spouse and his/her family closely. You will understand more and more about them and give this process considerable time. If possible, do *istekhara *too.

^ i agree

Luvranged :hehe: sounds like deranged.

Well. Our story doesn't really fit in any of these three categories. Thori si filmy story hai. :)

Only love marriage... lol

Why dont you tell aunty that you will find someone your self and hence she should not bother. You are making a slam dunk case for love marriage with your tunnel vision :slight_smile:

and now some reality check for you

If “getting to know someone before marriage” was everything, love marriage would have highest success ratio which is not the case. Reality is that there is no “one size fit all” solution. Depends on lot of parameters including person him/her self. Some people just do not have skill to judge other people and can be taken for emotional ride easily but again some people think its better to be kicked by someone u know, than by someone u don’t …if thats the case then yeah, love marriage is the way :k:

Personally, I am all for hybrid model. A bit of this and a bit of that.

Mine is very unique. I went for shopping in the Find a Wife mall. All the standard models of wives didnt appeal me hence I had one custom made directly from the factory.I am very happy with her.:)

U dont know yet but let me tell you, they actually messed up your order…just telling…

No i didnt want the talking functionality in my model of wife.Instead I wanted her to know 3-4 different cuisines to cook and massage my toes. Its all good so far plus theres a warranty for 10 years if anything goes wrong.

Arranged, Luvranged, or Love marriages?

^ oh god. Stop talking about women like they're useless pieces of object. Then maybe, just maybe, you'll be able to get a woman that is interested?! Just a thought.

Anyway, mine was love marriage for him I guess. He knew me and saw me around uni so asked his mum to ask for my rishta! We've been engaged for 3 years and its def a love marriage now... For the both of us ;)

I'm not against arranged marriages at all. The most successful marriages in my family have been arranged - they got to know each other a little before marriage though. They've never been more in love and I probably prefer arranged over love.

WRONG!!! Can people get this definition out if their head? A forced marriage is only a FORCED MARRIAGE. It is NOT an arranged marriage! An arranged marriage is when elders are involved in the process of arranging two people to come together - if there is force involved in anyway and either of the two parties (children OR parents) are unhappy, how can you arrange such a thing?! It then becomes forced.

I am always explaining this distinction to Westerners when I tell them I am having an arranged marriage. Can't believe this belief is rife within Pakistani culture too.

:wub: aap bhi na rolla ji

We used to call it Lust marriage

She ordered a copy of Bunto Kazmi’s design through a no name designer?

Dude, you are SO misinformed.

And why would someone say Arranged “i want to be blackmailed and forced to my marriage” :rotfl:

duh they are all very interested. I just dont ghaas daal much. I ghaas daal the ones taht make me chai. For

:wink: did u bring me any chai?