Are you looking forward to Ramzaan or dreading it ?

Re: Are you looking forward to Ramzaan or dreading it ?

Deprivation of food/water is one thing, but remaining efficient is a tall order. My mental productivity tanks during Ramadan. Depending on how creative, critical or fast-paced your work is, it can be pretty challenging, esp. if you're naturally lean and prone to hypoglycemia. I think certain physicians shouldn't be required to fast 30 consecutive days. Putting others at risk when your judgement is compromised makes no sense to me. Physical stress wise, I feel for construction workers/farmers/anyone who has to work outside all day; they should be given leeway IMO. My heart goes out to rural Pakistan this month.

I remember a couple years ago there was an article on how Malawi was hit with rising food costs during Ramadan. A local was quoted, "You speak of fasting for 30 days, we fast all year round in Malawi."

A reminder of how flippantly cruel life is for so many.

ALLAH PAK App sab Rozaydaroon ko lambi zindgiaan dey aur app sab rozay rakhtay rahain; lakin ALLAH janay kis kis k naseeb main ramazan 2013 nahi hai. confirm to yeah bhi nahi hai ke ramzan 2012 bhi hum sab key naseeb main hai.

Well not ramadan .. but looking forward to Shravan Mahina. It's a very auspicious month that is dedicated to lord Shiva.

Also starts with Ramadan and it too is a whole month of fasting. I eat only once a day. Ofcourse we can drink water/ tea/ coffee through out the day. Whole day fasts on Monday though. It is believed that Girls who fast on all Mondays of Shravan get a good husband.;)

Benefits of Ramadan to a non muslim living in Bahrain. 6 hrs work day!! Wooohoooo

^ Best wishes. Learnt something new.

Interesting. :k:
I’m already doing that. :smiley:

Jews and Christians have it harder than us all.

I like how ramzan start tuning you slowly even before it starts.
And leave you disciplined after it finishes.

I agree. I think you should be able to do a customized/personalized version where you can decide how much you can honestly stand.
Like adjusting the starting and ending time a little so you don't end up in the ER yourself.
You don't neede to advertise that to everybody as it would be between you and your Allah.
It seems logical that Allah wouldn't be so rigid as to be angry with you for this little flexibility.
People, on the other hand, are a different matter, of course.

Unfortunately, the discipline doesn't carry after it ends because the whole atmosphere that motivates you ends with it.

Hareem, how long have you been doing that and do you think you will continue in the long run ?
Do you find it hard ?

I try doing it once in a while but it doesn’t last too long.
There is just too much food and temptation all the time.

Yeh konsa naya fatwa hai?

I'm not really exempt but my doctor has forbidden me from fasting this ramadan. :)
I actually WANT to make all that for my husband ... it's not fair to him. He comes home after a long day at work, I think he'd like it if I made him a proper iftar even though he'd never demand me to :)

See, I should have kept my mouth shut and spread my fitna … I mean … fatwa though PMs. :hehe:

Sounds pretty attractive to you North Pole dwellers. Right ?

If I'm so weak that I'm going to end up in ER even though I'm stuffing my tid twice a day, then I'm already excused from fasting. Hypoglycemia, blackouts, fainting, unbearable thirst etc are all considered forms of sickness/weakness and the person doesn't have to fast. There's plenty of leeway already, ooper se apni customizations add karne ki zarurat nahi hai hamien.

^ does a doctor's recommendation not to fast count as legit??

So tell me, even though it's a moot question, how long do people close to N. Pole fast, where the sun never sets in summer ?

Why not? The doctor must have a valid reason for telling you not to fast. My khala suffered from internal bleeding when was fasting during the 6th week of her first pregnancy and the doctor advised her to not fast when pregnant or breastfeeding. She obviously couldn't handle it but my mother never skipped a fast during any of her pregnancies (and she lived in the KSA heat back then) and she did just fine. So it varies from person to person.

If they can't handle it, they don't have to fast, simple as that. They then pay fidya/compensation to make up for not fasting or observe qadha fasts later on in the year. But you can't make up your own customizations and say I'll fast for 8 hours only regardless of when Maghrib is.

^ But what do N. Polers do if they want to fast properly. Fast for 4 months straight if the sun never sets ?

Your question reminded me of this scene…:hehe:
please watch from 49.44 to 50.46

Were you born well-nourished ? Sorry for the personal question ? :cb: