Are you bored by Islam?

HOw do you know they have zero wordly education? Sounds more like you have zero wordly education about this type of individuals by generalising the issue.

I just don't want to spend 3 hours listening to some burqa wali who hasn't been outside of her home much telling me how to live my life, when I can interpret the Quran perfectly well on my own.

Perhaps you should start interpreting to others too, its your duty too. Ain't it?

And there really is no place in Islam for clerics demanding our personal time. We don't worship the clerics. We are supposed to worship God. Spend your time reading a namaaz, instead of going to a dars to make some bloody religious fashion statement. Because its not that ridiculous burqa wali telling you about how girls sin these days by showing their arms when they wear t-shirts who is going to determine if you're going to heaven or hell. It will be God. So, spend that time worshipping God.

So the he personal time the Sahaba's gave while sitting in Masjid was a wate? She clerics don't ask you to worship them do they? YOu mean praying Namaaz.....

Surely Allah knows best that an individual will go to Jannah or Jahanam but effort has to be made, its quite simple aint it? showing arms or wearing teashirts is not recommended in Islam for obvious reasons - why are you simplyfying a simple religion even more for yourself?

I believe you havent gone to the right source, khair i hope you get the right guidance :k:

Re: Are you bored by Islam?

To be honest , I strongly believe that Islam is lacking role models … Growing a beard or wearing nakab do not make one a muslim , however we need highly educated , well presented individuals like Dr Zakir Naik and Dr Bilal Philips … who inspire the younger generation and us to listen to the religion , understand it and know how we can make our lives better ..

When I switch on Islam TV , I get so bored , the only thing I see is molvi giving islamic knowledge .. but he himself looks so bored , has orange beard and orange hair … and only telling us that we will go to hell :smack:

and then I quickly switch on to Peace TV and that really makes my day .. we need more channels like them .. more role models that fit the modern times … :sahar02:

and one more thing , I so very much dislike those religious elements that start telling people that they will go to hell , the minute someone accepts they skipped a prayer :smack: .. I think that only puts that person off further from the religion ..

I remember this family doctor I went to in Pakistan , my aunt told him ,pointing at me , she doesnt pray frequently :smack: … he just smiled … later while doing the check up he said :

Him: beta how long are you in pakistan for …?
Me: for 6 weeks Doc
him: you must have brought alot of luggage with you?
Me: yeah tonns .. coz i needed it so much
Him: ager nai latay bi tou?

I understood at that point what he meant .. he just gave me the strongest realization that for a simple journey we take so much stuff with us , but for the akhirat , we dont do any preps … ( namaz etc )

If he had told me i would go to hell , it would have been least effective , but the way he put his point to me , mashallah it made tonns of difference in my life :@:

I don't find Islam or other Religions boring at all......infact, they are all very interesting if you study them.

very true. But I think we should all read the Quran and interpret it in a manner befitting to us rather than having someone shoving various excerpts from the Quran about eternal damnation down our throats.

Thats what I am doing and I am on Surah Noor :)

Mashallah Stardust.....may Allah give us all the tawfiq to do that.

I believe we do need scholars for understanding Quran and hadith.....but we should wisely choose the scholars we are following, for example, we should learn about a scholar's educational background before we study his books or articles etc.

I used to be a rigid person when I followed Dr Zakir Naik and Abu Aminah Bilal because they don't have any concept of tassawuf[spiritualism] and they concentrate on zahriyat[outwardness] like dressing up, salaat and fasting rules etc, they should concentrate more on character rather on growing beard and stuff.

Hareem strange you mentioned that , coz I have felt the other way round for Dr Zakir naik and Dr Bilal Philips … I feel they tell the real essence of Islam and make you fall in love with the religion all over again … Infact in these very testing times that the muslims are going through, listening to their shows has really really helped me not just understand why islam says what it says , but also how to make others understand when they question the religion ..:hmmm:

That’s good and all but that doesn’t really make them authentic…no disrepsect to the work these folks are doing for they have been able to attract a lot of people, but I rather listen to a qualified mufti who is a little harsh but gives me the correct information…but that’s a completely different argument.

It almost seems like there’s so much hesitation to do even what we know as the fundamental principles of Islam…you know if we just did that, our hearts would soften automatically and Allah puts the respect of the religion and tolerance for our people in our hearts. Then knowledge is abundant; all we have to do is go out and seek it instead of blaming everyone. And we call ourselves so smart and “educated.” :hinna:

No.

Also, do you feel these Mullahs isolate younger Muslims because they always make them feel so sinful? and say that nearly everything is Haram when sometimes it isnt?

No. At least not in the gatherings that I attend.

Do you feel terrorism and Islamaphobia is putting off our younger generation from turning to Allah?

May to some individuals somewhere, but not really with those whom I keep company with.

What is Islam for you? and are you bored by it?

My means of success both in this life and the hereafter, if I can manage to bring it in my life that is.

MashaAllah

You know, it's funny that I've also noted this type of thing from "educated" and "modern" people. Once I was at a wedding reception where the hosts decided to have gender segregation. there was this uncle there, and he started telling everyone that weddings should not be segregated. Then I remembering one uncle telling him that he needs to go in 40 days jamat. I didn't hear him say anything about it after that.

Then there's no shortage of people telling you stuff like if you keep a beard, wear hijab, pray etc. you won't get anywhere in the world. After a while it gets annoying. People are always criticizing "religious" people for being judgemental, that they think that can tell you what to do and all, but it's certainly not restricted to them.

there will always be people who will go out of their way to put the blame on the ulema. because something they don't agree with and have no knowledge how to prove otherwise, they start the blame game. if they were a little concerned with their religion they would go out of their way to learn their deen and then question the ulema with it. but no, that doesn't work, they need to be controversial and label all ulema as jahil, old, not "modern" enough, etc..etc.

what about those ulema with full sunnah (including beard) who are doctors, lawyers, teachers AND still spreading deen the way it is intended? are they not modern enough for you? im talking about the ulema who carry full sunnah and teach islam the way it supposed to be taught. why don't WE take the responsibility of going out and finding those kind of people? i know why, because we just love to BLAME. we don't want to go to friday halaqa but we rather go to cultural parties where there is no modesty..

it's time people stop blaming the people who have kept islam alive all these years! stop blaming the same people who have helped pass on islam to your generation. stop it. give some respect to the ulema!

**Imam Abdul Wahab Sha’rani (R) writes: A covenant was made with us (Muslims) on behalf of Rasulullah (Sallallahu-Alaihi-wasallam) that we respect the Ulama, the saintly and the elders, whether they themselves act according to their knowledge or not. And that we shall continue to discharge their necessary rights and entrust their personal matter to Allah Ta’ala.

Whosoever fails to discharge the Ulama’s rights and fails to show them the necessary respect and honor is indeed guilty of sin towards Allah and His Rasul (Sallallahu-Alaihi-wasallam), for the Ulama are the successors of the Ambiya (AS), the heirs of Rasulullah (Sallallahu-Alaihi-wasallam), the bearers of the Shariah and they are His servants. When anyone insults them, the insults set forth a chain reaction which reaches Rasulullah (Sallallahu-Alaihi-wasallam).
This is Kufr.

Now think for yourself: The king appoints someone as his ambassador. The king will with attention listen to this ambassador and debar the insulter from his court. On the other hand, the king will make a favorite out of that man who showed respect and honor to his ambassador and who discharged the rights due to his emissary.
(al-I’tidaal of H.Sheikh)**

Iam not here to cause controversy but do you feel long-bearded Mullahs and niqab and hijabi women put you off your religion

bilkul nahi ..long beard sunnat-e-nabwi salal allahi waslam hay ...mullah (ahhl-e-haq alim -e-deen )anbia kay waarseen hain //niqab hijab azwaaj ul mttahraat ka libaas hay ..is ko pehnnay walee khawateen un ki sunnat per chalteen hain,,kam say kaam perday kay muamlay main to

in sub say bore to koi kaafir hee ho sakta hay

Also, do you feel these Mullahs isolate younger Muslims because they always make them feel so sinful? and say that nearly everything is Haram when sometimes it isnt

bilkul nahi Alim-e-deen app ko app kay mazhab ka aytmaad bakhsta hay

Do you feel terrorism and Islamaphobia is putting off our younger generation from turning to Allah?

yeh sooch holly or bolly wood say mutasir nojwaan ki ho sakte hay magar kisi quran or hadees ko samjhnay walay mulsman nojwaan ki nahi

What is Islam for you? and are you bored by it

islam woh hay jo Allah nay apnay nabi akhree o zamaan per utara ..nabi nay shaba karam ko batlya sahaba say taabeen ot taaben say taba tabeen ot taba tabeen say slaf-e-salheen or ulmaa-e-deen kay zareye hum tk pohncha

islam say bore woh nafs parast inssan ho sakta hay jis ko Allah or us nabi say muhabbat na ho

jin ki nahi hai darhi.. woh bi aap ki nazer mein phir kafir hi hoon gey?

bilkul nahi Alim-e-deen app ko app kay mazhab ka aytmaad bakhsta hay

yeh sooch holly or bolly wood say mutasir nojwaan ki ho sakte hay magar kisi quran or hadees ko samjhnay walay mulsman nojwaan ki nahi

chulo jee phir wohi yahood-o-hanood ki behs. bibi jee kya hamhare yeh jo ajeeb-o-gareeb lambi lambi and barhey barhey paait waley molvioon mein koi ghalti nahi hia?

islam's the perfect way of life, yeah we do have religious men who're misleading people and creating a problem and that has nothing to do with islamr but it's upon us to search for the pious and true alims. with a strong iman we can find the true path(sirat-al-mustaqim), Alhamdulillah we've been promised guidance from Him.
as far as keeping a beard and wearing burqa is concerned then i think no one should be forced to wear it and if someone wants to keep a beard or wear hijab/veil then they shouldnt be stopped. it's also backward to think that women wearing burqa have no worldly knowledge. if they have chosen to lead a life full of dignity then leave them in peace and respect them, instead of looking down upon them.
having said that, we know by statistics/research or whatever that there are more people(alhamdulillah) turning to islam than away from it.

may Allah ta'ala guide all the muslims and make us follow sirat-ul-mustaqim and grant us success in this life and the hereafter, and may He increase the islamic ummah and give us victory over evryone
Ameen ya Rabbal Alameen

Many people who truly want to learn about religion infact do learn about it, but what can one do when it doesn't make any sense to begin with? I have yet to find out what captivates people about religion. Faith is instilled in us the day we are born and we learn not to question anything no matter how ridiculous it sounds because bleshphamy is a major sin in most religions. How can a virgin woman be pregnant, how could someone walk on water, how can someone split moon in two pieces, how can anybody travel 7 layers of sky in a fraction of a second, how do we know heaven and hell exist? There's nothing to base their claims on. That's why it's faith, you cannot convince someone that your religion is the truth because there's so much that doesn't make any sense!

You are given a brain for a reason, what religions do is limit the use of it by telling you to believe something that you don't even know exist! On top of that, you can't question it! You could have faith in anything and be humane, generous, and kind, it is the organized religion that people have issues with. Who organizes religion? PEOPLE! You really think God cares about petty things we do? religious people talk like they have God down! I mean seriously... open up your brains, look at the sky, love at the people around you, imagine what's out there........there's so muchhhhh, so muchhh to appreciate..don't be bound by any organized religion...appreciate life! I don't need a religion to tell me how to be kind. Technology is not the result of religion, if scientists believed in religion, they would be sitting inside their homes trying to figure out how to make their afterlife better. We wouldn't be here today where we are! Appreciate what you seeeeee instead of trying make believe what's not there...

what about those ulema with full sunnah (including beard) who are doctors, lawyers, teachers AND still spreading deen the way it is intended? are they not modern enough for you? im talking about the ulema who carry full sunnah and teach islam the way it supposed to be taught. why don't WE take the responsibility of going out and finding those kind of people? i know why, because we just love to BLAME. we don't want to go to friday halaqa but we rather go to cultural parties where there is no modesty..

Obviously, such people are hard to find. Most "Islamic" people are usually Mullahs and burqa waliyan.

it's time people stop blaming the people who have kept islam alive all these years! stop blaming the same people who have helped pass on islam to your generation. stop it. give some respect to the ulema!

Sure, I have respect for religious people who also have WISDOM! I am not going to sit there to listen to someone who will tell me mystical stories with a passion. I am not going to sit there and listen to someone who will insist how much I have sinned without even knowing me... I am not going to sit there and listen to these people telling me to fear the day of judgement and pray for afterlife because I have committed sins and how I should be so guilty....seriously? whatever happened to the message of peace to humanity?

I'm pretty sure his post was directed at Muslims. As a Muslim, I have no trouble in believing in the miracles you mentioned. They might not make sense to you, but if one believes that if someone created the seven heavens and earths and everything in between them, and that all these things are subject to His command, then He would have no trouble at all in making the things you mentioned happen.

If Islam is your way of life how can you be bored… is life for you boring :5: Not for me it aint… Islaam Zindaabaaaad! :yahoo:

I dont feel bored with it at all...in fact its quite the contrary. I feel like there is a lot of learning for me to do. However, I do feel turned off by the approaches many people take on Islam. I dont think its supposed to be as harsh as some portray it to be.

Like that friend of mine who decided to keep her children out of school. I am sorry to say this but she embarrasses me. If she opens her mouth in front of a non-Muslim and presents her views...she will come off as a goof.

Some people make a mockery out of religion and that turns me off/away/etc. Not from religion though...just from them.

Sometimes going to different maulanas and maulvis makes you wonder if you're even getting the right info or just being bombarded with different opinions. I wonder if I am a casualty of the Mufti War where one disagrees with the other. It gets confusing. At that point, you want to simply read Qur'an and Sunnah and do what you feel you are being told through them.