Re: Are Indians Smarter Than Us?
personally i dont think that they are smarter. They have bigger population and much more (about 4-5 times more) in those respective countries. Hence its natural to see them more as compared to Pakistanis.
We are not behind
But only under Defense flag .
Karachi: Showcase 2012
What about Sri Lankans?
no but mujhe aise lagta hai jaise hum log mehnat karne se bhaagte hain aur jo qaum mehnat se bhaagti hai woh peeche reh jaati hai
baaqi it may also be the population thing but laziness (hadd-haraam) may also be a factor
Were you too lazy to write in english? :(
We didn’t get “separated” from Indians. Pakistan was not apart of the modern-day India. Keep in mind, the state of modern-day India was created in 1947.
out of thin air, that too.
I agree too. Though I think India has given more importance to education. Down south from where I come from, people clamour for good education though I cant say the same for many who stay in the North.. especially states like Bihar
Biharis are no less in this regard:), more than twenty percent of civil servants are from Bihar:), the begusarai district produces at least six civil servant everyyear, it is the poverty that is the biggest reason of them being left behind, KBC also showed their talent and knowledge. Southerners are more positive about education and are less inclined towards administrative services but more inclined towards professional courses:)
Hope you are not from Bihar :) The point that I was trying to make is about the different strata in the society. In the southern states especially Kerala, even the maid servant wants his son to study in an english medium school, while in Bihar the maid servant would want his son to take up kidnapping as a profession as it is more profitable.
True we have most of the civil services jobs being taken up by Biharis but exceptions are not examples. The lowe strata is more interested in better professions like kidnapping, extortion etc
ps: This is my opinion heard from different sources and is subject to change if proved otherwise
I was going to say, no Indians are not smarter than Pakistanis.
However reading through some replies, I understood why it appears so.
Foundation, real history, knowledge is very important, for young minds to grow up to be balanced human beings. this seems to be missing in some Pakistanis. the Pakistan studies, hatred for Hindus & other minorities, along with distortion of history, seemed to have played a negative part in Pakistan.
My view is that it depends how you read the question..
1) are indians genetically more intelligent than Pakistanis.. and that is why they have done well in academics and then industry etc..I dont think so.
2) are indians as a nation smarter than pakistanis as a nation when it comes to higher education because they built the infrastructure which has produced IIT and BITS and IIM etc....good god yes...there is no comparison. while india has its share of problems..in parallel they built a solid higher education infrastructure...while pakistan did little in that for decades.
Well no point in stressing on that we are same blood. we are made by god uniformly not considering that some day we will part ways.
only difference is the culture of learning and education in both the societies. even in india some cultures value education and practical learning more than others. so at the end of the day it is your society's value on education, quality of infrastructure at your disposal, equality of education and most importantly the opportunity society provides regardless of social division.
when an average indian goes to america he gets roped in to their work culture and education system and comes out to be a very smart man. same person would have done nothing good in india.
but in my personal opinion all the factors i have mentioned above are a tad bit better in india than pakistan.
My take is this:
Smartness does not equate to higher achievements
Indian lay people have a better attitude towards doing well in education than our lay folk. Having a better attitude towards education stems from a number of factors - they are less arrogant, less inclined for the fast buck ... We are more inclined for equate success with fortune rather than education as a result we put a lot of our efforts towards making money. There is a real sense the Indians want to learn more, whereas we just want to get the top marks even if it means we cheat.
Of course there is overlap but I am talking in terms of general trends.
Although we are more satisfied with our religion we have a comfort - that we rely on Allah (SWT) a lot - they tend to rely on themselves. Our understanding of reliance on Allah (SWT) is deficient in general. Indians are notably more sensible in matters that concern their financial welfare - we can be quite careless with money. That means on this level they are certainly more wiser than us. However, in terms of sharpness, debating, fashion, skills, potential ability I would actually say the reverse applies. We have become a nation that relies on our wits ... but we show our emotions too much, the Indians hide their emotions well.
I think to a certain extent there are other factors, but the three main factors is that our focus on quick wealth, laziness using taqdeer as an excuse and our arrogance to be above effort makes us fall short of the high academic achievements. I would say if the Indian put as much effort in as we did in to education we would come out with higher grades ... LOL ...
So Indians smarter? no I don't think so, wiser? may be, better at academic achievement? well yes.
The best thing nowadays is to get an education for making your future bright. Best education leads to growing country. Our country can compete anyone if the education is given correctly. In pak, education is just for making money these days. Here we should think for ourselves.
Agreed - there is a huge, unhealthy focus on making education itself a means to make the owners of the institutes rich ... Education should be heavily subsidised and for younger ages totally free ... We should change the perception in society that education should be obtained for the love of knowledge not for the prospects of becoming rich.
Well no point in stressing on that we are same blood. we are made by god uniformly not considering that some day we will part ways.
only difference is the culture of learning and education in both the societies. even in india some cultures value education and practical learning more than others. so at the end of the day it is your society's value on education, quality of infrastructure at your disposal, equality of education and most importantly the opportunity society provides regardless of social division.
when an average indian goes to america he gets roped in to their work culture and education system and comes out to be a very smart man. same person would have done nothing good in india.
but in my personal opinion all the factors i have mentioned above are a tad bit better in india than pakistan.
i Agree with you...
nothing to do with smarter then other
it's more do with cultures and society,defferent parts of india have defferent level of literacy..........
place where i come from anything less then Engineering/medicine you will be look down in society especially if ur an B.COM/BSC guy
plus it has lot to do with parents they want kids to get best education,some of the poor families would sell their own property for their childrens to get seat in good college
it also has to do with self boosting like my son/daughter has 90 marks other ones forces their children to get 95 marks for thier own self boosting like mine is better..
personally i know a gujarati guy who has done M.S from one of the top university in America,he has now return back to india and looking after his father's business..
most of the gujarati tend to go after bussiness from very young age they prefer it over education.......
Yea one more thing worst part is here in south india especially in my community higher the education qualification you have higher the dowry you get.
my market rate should start from 1crore :p for a masters guy would start from 3-5 crores
My take is this:
That means on this level they are certainly more wiser than us. However, in terms of sharpness, debating, fashion, skills, potential ability I would actually say the reverse applies. We have become a nation that relies on our wits ... but we show our emotions too much, the Indians hide their emotions well.
So Indians smarter? no I don't think so, wiser? may be, better at academic achievement? well yes.
Are'nt you taking a little bit too far when you are mentioning that Pakistanis are better than Indians in Fashion etc.. thought Fashion was not fashionable in Pakistan...
StormRaiser - not at all ... Fashion is not as wide spread but their talent for making "fashionable" clothes is high ... As with music ... for some reason although music is an oddity with the Muslim religious it is far more advanced in Pakistan than it is in India. Anyway this is detracting from my main point ... educational achievement is not the same as being smart.
If I have to come up with a really general tags for both communities, I'd say Indians are book smart and Pakistanis are street smart.
Its a probably gonna sound like such a baseless comment, but sometimes I think the reason why Indians appear smarter or should I say more educated, than an average Pakistani is probably due to fact that Indians are academically more anglicised than Pakistanis. Unlike Pakistan, Indians never got so easy on English language and English being the international language and the language of knowledge as we now call it, Indians naturally have the lead in the professional world. Thats just my theory. I know in terms of English language and it place in the education and scoial syestem, its a totally different story in Pakistan right now.