Anti-Pakistanism in India

Re: Anti-Pakistanism in India

I hail from a Sindhi family ,having strong roots in Pakistan and been to Pakistan three times (as part of Hinglaj Yatra (Hinglaj Mata is our family deity)and a personnel one ),so I Know what is happening on the other side of the border and the sentiments running there. :slight_smile:

I do not think majority of people in India are against of bridging good relations with Pakistan but that does not mean that the general sentiment can be dodged from the public.These F.B or Channels statistics do not say that people’s feelings have changed for good.I used to watch FIFA World Cup matches on P.T.V in 1998 because it had a better telecast those days and that did not mean that I had any special `inclination’ for Pakistan. People watch these channels just for the sake entertainment and by your logic, all pakistanis would have been India lovers by now,the way Z T.V and other channels had been received by Pakistani public.

As regards to 26/11,the admission of security lapses is one story and the people who orchestrated and it’s participants is another story. :slight_smile:

The guy was drunk.he was representing a responsible,major political party.If he was trying to woo a particular section of the community by raising pro Pakistani slogans,I believe he should have been stamped by more charges.  

Just because Diwana has expressed his opinion,he can not be underestimated here.He has expressed his view of point and that has to be respected.

Also if Indian sentiment was against Pakistanis rather than small pockets then why would a film by the name of Filmistan based on friendship between an Indian and Pakistani being doing relative good business at the box office. Not a typical war mongering movie of the past. it’s a low budget film with no big stars, no romantic angle but it picked up and did good business. It even won a national award for best feature film in 2013 and it won awards at the International film festival of Kerala, of Jaipur, in South Korea and the Indian film festival in germany. After watching it people were tweeting things like. Border is just a line. It divides lands. Not hearts and minds. That it is a heart warming movie. It’s been getting 4-5/5 mostly from reviews. Here is what one reviewer said.

One reason why Filmistaan is attracting audiences is because of its refreshing take on the Indo-Pak conflict. Indians are so used to Bollywood doses of villainy and nationalism when it comes to Pakistan that a humanistic take on the ‘other’ comes as a pleasant surprise, even a shock.
As a humorous, subtle and sarcastic piece of art I see Sunnys and Aftaabs in every nook and corner of India and Pakistan, highlighting the human tragedy of the Indo-Pak story. With so much in common and so much to contribute to meaningful issues on both sides, too many are engaged in hatred, distrust and antagonism, at the expense of tolerance and accommodation.
This is actually not a film about films, it is about people like Sunny and Aftaab who want to defy borders and come together to channelise their energies - to produce a film, write a book, compose music, act in a play or work for social good. This is a film about how the state and now even non-state elements deny people on both sides the opportunity to discover the ‘other’, meet and be with them, work with them. The underlying humour in the film is based on the pain of not being able to do simple things together.
This is a film about friendships that are rarely nourished because an agenda of hatred and animosity dictates how we look at each other. Films are just part of the media with the potential to connect people on both sides.
I came out of the cinema hall laughing, but also feeling sad about not being able to watch this film with my friends from across the border. This is a film that doesn’t restrict viewers to the frame of national loyalities; it could be the story of any two nations or any conflict zone in the world.
Cinema is a cultural force. Such movies can go a long way towards building positive opinion on both sides. Our region needs deftly crafted and sensible cinema like Filmistaan, that is not hostage to nationalistic sentiments, that appeals to people irrespective of their nationalities.
I hope that one day we can watch such movies with friends across the border.

For such a film to win a national award really shows lot of Indians are going the other way.

I respect his viewpoint but i just don’t agree with it. Everyone is free to their views. You are free to yours as well. :slight_smile: I just noted it was interesting to read someone having similar views. I agree the guy was drunk and doing extortion so that probably what caused him to get charged. What his intentions were i don’t know. I don’t think an ordinary person on the road saying pakistan zindabad would be taken away for sedition.
I mentioned 26/11 because so much has happened in the country since then that it seems like a distant memory and so much wrong has happened especially with security.

Wow that’s awesome that you’ve been to Pakistan. I’m so jealous right now :slight_smile: Must be interesting to have Sindhi roots.:slight_smile: I don’t have any relatives or roots there so I have no idea how it is like to visit on a personal level. I don’t know if i’d be able to visit. How is the yatra like? I’ve always been fascinated by Hinglaj Mata and the other peeths. Just from reading and looking online at various articles plus talking to Indian friends, online Indian friends, relatives in India i didn’t feel that they hated the common person..sure policies have been something people dislike on both ends. I think some people dislike policies but i don’t think anti-Pakistani sentiment in India is overwhelmingly higher than anti-Indian sentiment. It’d be the same. Once this terrorism issue is sorted out in both countries things will be better. Not sure how such a comparison can be made about sentiments anyway. I know in our elections since 2008 its made an issue but otherwise it’s not. Then again government is not the only marker of people’s sentiments. Education, health system etc count as well. we do have Pakistani studies in India and the Pakistani student who came to India said he did not face discrimination on nationality in his time here. That for me says something

So having visited Pakistan as an Indian how did you find sentiments? Especially during the yatra? Did sentiments change those 3 times? Did many Indians visit with you from different religious backgrounds and how did they find it?

To shaas,

Good films from both the countries have always been accepted by the public of both the countries.You can check with any Pakistani who would have lived in Pakistan before 1965.Indian films were widely watched and accepted.Still,it does not mean that people’s sentiments are friendly.

A sheer,cemented feeling is way different from the momentous revels you get from films and musics. These cannot change people’s mindset.

I am not a hater of Pakistan and I believe our enemy is in `B@@@@@g and not in Islamabad.

True. Artistic talent has always been admired on either side. Creative people have always been accepting. Are you saying you didn’t find sentiments friendly on your visit to Pakistan based on nationality/other differences? :frowning: Maybe just indifference, unfriendliness of unknown but not hate, right? Yeh sunke mera dil toot jayega. Souav Ganguly said when he went to Pakistan shop keepers refused to take money from him. If you were in Sindh you could have met Muqa bhai :slight_smile:

I feel it cannot change people’s mindsets permanently but small actions can lead to big changes. Only problem is it should be sustained. Instead the relationship is like a roller coaster. SOmetimes up, sometimes down.

I know you cannot be a hater if you’re on GS. What is B****g- you mean beijing?? is that why they’re not letting fasting happen in Xinjiang? Some say Amreeka some say Beijing. Kya pata. But i like to do my own small part in bridging differences.

yaar jaldi batao experience kya tha..mujhe tension ho rahi hai

lol..jk about the tension. I’m chilled and relaxed.

I did not find any considerable difference because I had my relatives from Sindh with me during Darshan’s and also due to the paucity of days granted to us from the High commission of Pakistan.(Still I thank them for the kind gesture they extended towards us by issuing Visa. :slight_smile: )There was a separate thread on Hinglaj in India-Pak history forum on G.S and I had commented there.

Succinct summary please
Savera - could u please merge all ur posts into one long post? Why several posts instead of one?

If a person in India  standing on a road and chanting pro Iran statements or Pro Iraq statement,either people would think he is an insane,or people would pay little attention or people will flock around him out of curiosity.But a person chants a pro Pakistan slogan in public,I do not think he/she will be spared or can get away that freely.It is the same in Pakistan aswell.A Pakistani chanting pro Nepalese or pro SriLankan slogans will be spared but a pro Indian mans,something different will follow.

It is just because of the fact that both the nations are seeing each other with an eye of suspicion.

so there were visa issues. I guess it happens on both sides. But if you have family and then even then you couldn’t go many days, what hope does someone have without any Pakistani family? :frowning: When did you last visit? was it long ago? So you didn’t get a chance to interact with the locals in shops/restaurants/or even friends of your relatives? If you did, what was it like? Were people curious about you?Overall seems like a positive experience. I think environment wise bth places are similar but i mean in terms of interaction with people. Does Pakistan have stray animals wandering the streets like we do? Do they have cycle rickshaws or mostly autorickshaws? What is main mode of transport? Are the popular delicacies the same in Sindh as say in North India or Rajasthan?
I should check that thread out.

Badi badi baatein badi badi posts or
Aisi badi badi baatein choti choti threads mein hoti rehti hain señor (adapted from movie) :stuck_out_tongue: insomnia Ka acha ilaaj :slight_smile:

I agree the suspicious glance is still there and the reaction would be the same on both sides to such slogans. I don’t think a pakistani politician of majority and non majority background of any party will get away with saying India/Bharat/hindustan Zindabad. That is naive to think that. Just because it hasn’t happened doesn’t mean they will get away. I just don’t think ordinary sentiment is more anti in India compared to Pakistan.its just different.

To say Bollywood fans are more in Pakistan than Pakistani drama fans in indian doesn’t say much. One is established other will soon be established .

That’s like saying Americans, English, Turkish and Arabic people are anti-Pakistani because there are more pakistani fans in Hollywood, of Turkish dramas etc. after pakistani fans the greatest section of fans of pakistani artists is not white Europeans, White Americans middle eastern people it’s Indians who go to concerts, enjoy them performing on reality shows/film nights etc. the language excuse is not valid either as many movies are released in subtitle and Pakistan has released English language movies. The comparison thing is silly because what standard do u use to compare? One’s own feelings. The fb groups to boycott Bollywood in Pakistan numbers 20 000 plus and the one to ban Pakistan artists is 95. I don’t think there is a page for banning Hollywood films. Is this valid marker? Also I type in pakistani patients in google I get the following as options (treated in India/indian hospitals). I type in pakistani employees I don’t get (discriminated by Indians employees/bosses). Is this a valid marker? Rather than all this id rather talk to average person and make up my mind.
There are pakistani students and even nationals living in India who have no issues of being attacked. Here is such a story. This is 2013. He learnt a lot about different cultures and enjoyed his time. It’s like saying indian students get attacked in Australia so don’t visit or indian/pakistani student attacked in west so everyone is prejudiced. A Sanskrit educational facility was built taking soil from Pakistan where a great Sanskrit scholar was born. Is that anti sentiment? A Pakistani student in India - thenews.com.pk

Kiron Kher a politician will voice prologue of a pakistani tv show. She is the only indian face of the channel. We know which spectrum of politics she is from , the conservative side, yet it does not matter. She says these stories are relatable either side of the border and she feels connection. In June 500 bloggers turned up to 2 zindagi meets and they were all enthusiastic about the channel some dressed in India/Pakistan painted faces. They talked to pakistani directors and actors through video link.

Processing Creativity: Monumental start to a new era : Zee Zindagi Indiblogger Meet

The Pakistani flag even features in the zee zindagi ad but I’ve not seen criticism. People are appreciating the channel and the Urdu on all channels. Even indian actors in tv and film are appreciating the dramas saying it’s better than saas bahu stuff as is much of twitter. The tag line Sahad par ki behtareen kahaniyan etc is touching.

I’ve said a lot so this will be my last post on the topic. The thing is if we’re not part of the solution I feel we’re part of the problem. I don’t think you’re a hater at all obviously but I just think as people who have encountered the other side we should bring awareness out of ignorance. If ure relatives are indifferent tell them about this channel or tell them about shows. Get them to know a bit about the culture on the other side. Tell them you have pakistani GS friends. Tell them in 2012 an indian aircraft made an emergency landing in Pakistan and people were treated hospitably. That indian sailors were helped by Pakistan gov. That way they will know reality rather than just what media says. Although I think the above was covered by indian tv channels also.

Yesterday on colors tv abroad an ad for a pakistani drama was showing. I let my parents know. They were happy to know.

My dad when he meets younger Pakistanis abroad mentions these shows to them and if they don’t watch he says ’ angrez mat bano pakistani shows dekho’ when a Lebanese guy asked us if we knew meaning of some words we mentioned that it’s mentioned in pakistani dramas. No harm promoting it.

If something is good no harm watching and appreciating it. These dramas are damn good.id recommend it to your relatives especially if they are conservative because they are family friendly. Also Before we know it we’ll be 6 feet under or floating in the Ganges/Indus River whatever the choice so life is too short to hold onto hate/grudges/past events etc

You are making your opinion based on some T.V shows,channels and films and if reality can have any place in your statement,please try to understand that these shows can make no difference and have not made any difference at all in the past aswell.More than these dramas,there are certain intrinsic things lying at the bottom and they act as the core issues.For example,how would you resolve the water sharing issue between both the countries?How would you resolve Kashmir?You can not resolve basic disputes by the Way of mini or silver screens.These are sentimental issues and no filmy' or music’ dramas will allay the confusions those exist.

Only meaningful dialogue and concerted efforts will help them resolve the issues but there are elements on both sides who do not want to see these issues get resolved.I would be happy if I can undertake one more pilgrimage in April 2015 but that does seem to be a distant dream.To add more troubles,the province of Balochistan is in flames now.

I agree dialogue is important. I’m talking of common people on both sided rather than political issues . Just showing there is common affinity. India pak rel always has ups and down. Obv there have been kargil a and mumbais but there have also been high points like medical tourism, indian team visiting pak in 2004, longest letter in 2007 etc now with trade being liberalised, visas being loosened and this channel things look better.
Discussions on political issues should happen side by side. I agree some don’t want peace but most do.

Zindagi gulzar hai playing on all 4 screens of Mumbai domestic airport..

In 2010 Pakistan team was given biggest cheer after India in opening ceremony in Delhi. even foreign commentators noticed that.

Last yr 2013-in Birmingham

Also 2013 most number of Pakistanis visited India since 2007- total of 1.1 lakh people. Seems like majority had no issues.

Record number of Pakistanis visited India last year - The Times of India

**Latest data on foreign tourist arrivals from the tourism ministry reveals that arrivals from Pakistan registered a 86.80% growth since 2012, increasing from 59,846 to 1.11 lakh in 2013. This is the highest growth among the top 45 source countries for India. Incidentally, there has been no promotion or liberalization of visa norms with Pakistan. In fact, in 2012, the two countries had signed a liberalized visa agreement but it was not rolled out because of ceasefire violations across the LoC and killings on the border.
yeh looks like time to move on..on the personal level.

Arleitter, I’d recommend your relatives watch humsafar, zindagi gulzar hai and durr-e-shahwar to get bit of an idea.

Audience feedback was great..displaying no idea of anti-Pakistani sentiment

My last and final comment on here inspired by the upcoming threads. It will be short and sweet. @Theorist mentioned some survey and i think i may have found it. IN 2014 BBC surveyed a number of countries looking at positive/negative perception by people of 22 other countries.
When it came to Pakistan, India did not even feature in top 10 countries with negative perception. In fact, they were all countries from West and negative perception did not cross 50% India was 15th and China 18th with Turkey 19th

Anti-Pakistan sentiment - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Then if you look at the 46 page document and compare India/Pakistan sentiments there are no substantial differences except it could even be said Indians are more positively inclined towards Pakistanis then the other way around.

**Indian’s perceptions towards Pakistan-15th out of 22 other countries in negative perceptions , 17% positively inclined 49% negative (-32)
China’s perceptions towards Pakistanis-18th out of 22 in negative perceptions, 21% positively inclined, 41% negative (-20)
Turkey’s perceptions towards Pakistanis-19th out of 22 in negative perceptions, 25% positively inclines, 41% negative (-16)

page 23

India’s not that much better but the only country after Germany with worse perception of Indians is Pakistan.

Pakistani’s perceptions towards Indians-2nd out of 22 other countries in negative perceptions , 21% positively inclined, 58% negatively inclined (-37)**
**Germany perceptions towards Indians-1/22 in negative perceptions, 16% positive inclined, 68% negatively
China-27% positive, 35% negative
Turkey-35% positive, 29% negative
Turkey
common factor-Germany hates us both

Why not open a similar thread on China, Western countries or Turkey? They don’t even have that historical baggage.
It may be an idea to open threads on those other 14 countries as well. I think a survey is more representative than online comments and subjective experiences with 0.000001% of a population. This goes for both countries.

Not the survey I was talking about but the overall results were very similar to what you have just shared. Thanks!