Anti-Pakistanism in India

Re: Anti-Pakistanism in India

I’m just wondering though what would happen in Pakistan if an Indian did this?

ginti? sounds made up.

I know too good to be real, right? <3 But her full name is 12345.. And she posts in GS cafe. I have made thread for her there on our immortal friendship and all such friendships.she also posts on general especially on my threads when I request her

i can’t imagine it would have a positive response. Geo tv is said to be a traitor because they have indian content,some channels get criticism for too many Bollywood songs/indian cultural elements. Fair enough they’ve also said things against the army. At the same time I’ve not heard widespread criticism of pakistani songs, singers and judges on indian shows etc people are excited about the Urdu tht will be shown on the new channel showing pakistani dramas.

I’ve not heard of an indian current affairs show on the 'creeping influence of pakistani songs in Bollywood.'a few extremists were against pakistani singers because they say indian singers have been refused visas. Yet they are in minority and recent movies like Ek villain there were pakistani singers. If I’m mistaken I’m happy to be corrected.

The guy as a mp also said murdabad to the pm. I can’t imagine a pakistani mp, not citizen, getting away with saying that to their pm. In any case I’m hopeful the charges will be dismissed.

I’m quite sure this phenomenon runs both ways.

I think it’s legitimately your point of view if you think indian gov is overall more anti-pakistani than vice versa outside of election times. Agree to disagree especially with talk of liberalising trade and the new channel for pakistani dramas. As for our gov only twice in indian history has a hindu right wing gov been elected and that too in dire times when corruption is rife and people want change. Not because of anti-pakistani sentiment. The last time it happened vajpayee visited Lahore by bus and gave some speeches which were said to be touching. I was too young then but I hear it was not anti-pakistani in content.

Ranjhanaa was banned in Pakistan last year despite a pakistani singer Shiraz Uppal singing the main songs. Is tht not anti-pakistani by the pakistani gov? It showed a hindu guy pursuing a muslim girl. It didn’t have anything to do with hurting pakistani sentiments.the guy was willing To convert, he did not even end up with the girl and it was a one-sided love. In India this year Ali zafar’s movie total siyappa featuring a pakistani guy liking an indian girl across religion was released with no issues. There are also plenty of movies, even tv shows, of muslim guys liking hindu girls(pinjar, jodha Akbar, my name is khan etc). It’s art it doesn’t have to represent reality. I don’t see any anti-pakistani sentiment there.

recently pakistani films like Bol, Khuda ke liye have been shown in India as well as zinda bhaag which was popular on the film festival circuit. Khuda ke liye got full marks in Indian newspapers. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/hindi/movie-review/Khuda-Kay-Liye/movie-review/2926547.cms Wasn’t it on ARY awards night that the main actor of Khuda ke liye was criticising Ali Zafar for acting in bollywood films? Would a Pakistani actor be criticised for acting in Hollywood similarly? Pakistani authors like Mohammed hanif and mr ahmad have spoken at Jaipur literary festival. Fahmida riaz, a pakistani Poet, and her husband spent years in India during 80s on exile from Zia ul haq’s gov. Others who attended the festival included pakistani Canadian MA Farooqi, British pakistani Nadeem aslam as well as sharmeen chinoy and ameena saiyid. None faced issues.

Fahmida riaz wrote a poem called naya Bharat comparing extremist elements in both countries saying in the poem ‘tum bhi hum jaise nikle’. Her poem with her indictment of hindu right wing nationalism was mentioned in the festival.

Yes some of the above face issues when some extreme elements protest due to prejudice/perception of what’s happening on border. But majority of society isn’t like that. They are invited and they attend. Even right leaning conservative indian websites like dnaindia are promoting the new channel featuring pakistani dramas. 5 reasons that make Zee's new channel 'Zindagi' a must-watch I don’t think most conservative media in Pakistan like to have bollywood movies/indian content. maybe im wrong not sure.

Same with Pakistan. It’s like someone saying that the temple being burnt down in larkana, Sindh which was actively used by community or the indian art of living centre in Islamabad, which Pakistanis+ visiting Indians of different religions attended, burnt down this year in Islamabad represents wider sentiments rather than some hooligans inspired by media. Or Sikhs protesting that some of their sites were desecrated and they went to parliament to protest represents a greater trend.

One can google the links. I don’t think it makes Pakistanis/Pakistan anti-indian it just means there are extreme elements on both sides. If you expect me to go into an anti-pakistani dialogue because of the above, as you alluded to, it’s not going to happen. I can distinguish minority hooliganism from a peaceful silent majority.

SO i’ve been writing long essays so this time i’ve decided pictorial and video links are better as one picture can speak a thousand words. I have shown positive sentiment towards Pakistanis in entertainment industry/movies/drama/film, appreciation of songs, among health professionals, by literary people, media, by Indian children in schools, warmth and hospitality that some Pakistani students are received in universities.

Now let’s go to sportspeople. In 2012 there was an India-Pakistani cricket night. Even among media there was admiration for Pakistani bowlers and skill. No one got punished for saying positive views about Pakistan. Sourav Ganguly especially made it clear to media that it was not a maha yudh (big war) but a game and he received a lot of love from Pakistan when he visited in 2004. There was consensus among all India-Pakistani captains that more games should be played.

**How about politics and the personal? **Despite political propaganda is all sentiment towards Pakistanis uniform even among India’s right wing religious parties?

Any other country’s politicians kids, from different ends of spectrum, have a brother-sister relationship where they meet every year on bdays/family occasions like BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha and Zia Ul Haq’s daughter, Zain Zia-Ul Haq. Let’s not even talk enemy countries are there any friendly countries like middle eastern countries which have such a bond, despite any political trouble, that they visit each other each year and attend each other’s family events. Even when there is trouble on the border that Indian media alludes to provoke him he refuses to let that affect his relationship and visits his sister regardless. When Zia was alive he gave his support and encouragement for this brother-sister bond. Just this year he visited Zain Zia for her bday.

Shatrughan sinha on ARY news talking the benefits of a positive relationship. He belongs to the right wing Hindu nationalist party of India only voted twice to government.

What about business leaders/business people? Last year there was an India-Pakistani business forum with top business people from both countries. Both talked about how trade should go on and the relationship should be improved. Already many events relating to number of industries of the other side takes place in both countries. Deepak Perwani, a Pakistani fashion designer, has visited India and had fashion expos. As well as vice versa. Other examples of Pakistani people across different industries who have found warmth when they visited India.

what about those Pakistanis who visit India for treatment. How has their experience been? Did they face anti-pakistani sentiment

If you hate India and Indians please watch this

Now what about all the religious communities of India. Do they all disrespect Pakistan/Pakistanis due to the media propaganda on both sides? Maybe you read newspapers and you see comments. Such comments occur on both sides and they reflect a tiny sample who actually don’t know much about Pakistan due to lack of cultural exchange. We know there is appreciation between Muslims, Sikhs etc in India for some of the great mosques in Pakistan, some of the largest in the world, and the way the Gurudwaras are maintained. However, did you know Panini, a Sanskrit grammarian from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, was a major influential figure in devising Sanskrit grammar. He has stamps made of him both in India and Pakistan. In Pakistan a stupa was constructed in his village. In India, in one of the holiest cities known as Varanasi, they built a Sanskrit educational school and temple for girls. the temple was more an educational facility for the girls where 4000 inscriptions of his grammatical rules are scribed.** Do you know where they took the soil to make this Sanskrit educational facility in Varanasi? They took the soil from Pakistan after getting clearance from the Pakistani gov. they acknowledged his background as it is now..they didn’t whitewash it .**Pakistani soil for dream Kashi temple - News Oneindia

**I challenge anyone to find similar positive sentiment and appreciation from the average person/above institutions towards Pakistan/Pakistanis in all areas of society above in any other country including Europe and Middle east. If there is some extreme hate expressed online by some then the love is deeper under the surface.

I am happy to be Indian but if i had the privilege to be Pakistani I would be similarly happy. Even if I am not Pakistani there is still a cultural link and I am tied by this link to the Indus Valley civilisation, to Mohenjodaro and Harappa, to the Buddhist heritage of Taxila, to the Mughal heritage of Lahore and to the Sufi past of Sindh. I see elements of all that in India also. Having these views doesn’t mean i think it’s one country or i am disrespecting Pakistan’s soverignty it just means I am acknowledging commonality like Europeans of different countries do. It would be stupid of me to generalise/discriminate/hate against Pakistanis and Pakistan in general because i would only be generalising/hating my own cultural heritage and people who are similar to me in many ways.

For those who maybe hate indians for whatever reason or think indians all hate them, please watch this video. Would you really hate the Indians who donated blood for this little girl’s treatment or helped with the cost of the journey so she could make it? This happened weekend after in 2008-09 when propaganda was at it’s highest. Still humanity prevails. If there is any hate it may be at the official level, for show, for ratings, for votes but it does not exist at a deeper level.

This is from bangalore

This is from Jaipur, Rajasthan again around beginning of 2009. The patient was said he would never be able to walk again due to a spinal cord injury by doctors in Karachi after 3 surgeries. Him and his family were full of fear but they were completely surprised when they visited India. They felt only love and no hostility from the Indians..and one of the Indian doctors came back just from England so he could operate on this case and he was happy and proud that he could be of use to people from his neighbouring country.

First there was the Agni astra
Then there was the Varuna astra
Then was what everyone thought was the most effective of them all - the Brahmastra

Now the ultimate astra has been deployed - the Shamsaverastra

Folks will think twice before opening such threads.

Thanks Southie. It’s Shaam savera but i’ll take the astra..i’d like to be called Panini astra to celebrate the Sanskrit Grammarian..i’m only to happy to be a weapon of peace and melt the misunderstandings and dispell myths. I am happy to play my part to reach out to those of Indus Valley civilisations. It’s hard not to get touched by the above videos..no matter how much hate one has in the heart. At the end of the day we’re human and so are they. We feel human emotions of happiness, sadness, loss and when we bleed our blood is red.

Plenty more from where the above came from. In 2012-2013 a Pakistani businessman was the first marrow transplant case from an unrelated donor in Delhi. There was also a case just from last monthe jUne 2014 that i posted about earlier.

http://blkhospital.com/articleDetails.php?id=20&linkid=
Pak businessman is Delhi’s first marrow transplant case from unrelated donor | TwoCircles.net

“I’m happy that I’m recovering and I’m taking back goodwill from India. Many in Pakistan suffer from bone marrow transplant issues and they are scared of the high prices in the US and the UK. I have already told Pakistani doctors to refer similar MDS cases to India, because I feel that the best treatment is available at a reasonable cost in India,” Samad said.

We have huge population and good resources in some areas. As humans, neigbours with some common heritage we have a duty to help others. Personally, i hope one day to be in a position where i can reach out and help my neighbours also like the above people. Even if some, like in a previous article i mentioned, may be wary of getting an indian heart. We can’t let that dishearten us. Inshallah it will happen :slight_smile:

The akshayapatram would never get empty, as Draupadi found to her amazement. The panini astra, when deployed, floods the surroundings with an unending stream of words. While this may be a weapon of peace, posters have been seen running in panic, as the unending words keep them close company.

Now that was fun to read the thread.

I thought flooding was not allowed unless the thread was meant for it or OP just wanted to keep writing on his or her own.

Old rule of posting three or more than three posts in a row not allowed was not such a bad idea in that regard.

Posting one after another video or posts is all fine but the message can be delivered in one long post and be done with.

The reality is no matter how much the two country average people show their desire to get peace and harmonious living side by side, there still many differences between the two countries. Especially politically.

When it comes to real life, Indians are much more opposed to Pakistanis than Pakistanis against Indians.
And this is based on buying Indian goods, listening to Indian songs, Watching Indian movies, ‘worshiping Indian actors or singers’, employing Indians by Pakistani employers and at high political level by acknowledging the goodness however small it is in Indians by Pakistanis.
All it shows Pakistanis are much more open minded than Indians.

Amount of racism Indians show against Pakistanis when they are at higher level in any company, be it Indian owned or not,… is unbelievable.

The moment,… a Pakistani is even considered to be placed at a higher level in a foreign country, Indian opposition starts placing doubts in the candidacy of Pakistani.

You can post all you want the videos and slogans, the real life is quite opposite to it.

^ I was unaware of that rule of 3 posts in a row. I think it is better to have smaller posts than 1 massive one. I was posting videos because they tell more of a story than just words. I think i have provided enough examples from different areas. Also, i was talking from a human level rather than just politics as OP mentioned majority of Indians in his comments. **I’ve never mentioned merging countries or politically. I am just referring to commonalities. I respect Pakistan as a separate country. **

There are Pakistani goods in India and in Indian shops from Shan masala to Karachi sweets to RoohAfza. There are fashion expos of Pakistani fashion. Lot of Indians listen to Pakistani songs, have Pakistani singers on TV as judges and contestants. A lot even watch Pakistani dramas as part of their cable package. Many know about Pakistani stage shows and comedians who have also performed on Indian tv. Lot of people are fans and love Atif Aslam, Fawad Khan, Ali Zafar, Coke Studio and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan. There’s no need to compare industries. Bollywood is more established for now but when Pakistani dramas are established then there will be more fans of the respective stars. It’s like saying to an American why aren’t more of you fans of Canadian actors or Canadian film industry than vice versa. With more trade people will find out more about Pakistani products. With more exposure of Pakistani dramas people will appreciate them like dramas of old. Nobody has yet compared anti-Pakistani sentiment amongst people from other countries. So countries who do not have all of that are anti-Pakistani. Not sure if China/Europe/Middle East etc invited a Pakistani to sing a patriotic song on their reality show..so that means they are antii-Pakistani. There is negativity out there and i can dig for negativity as well but i don’t find that conducive.

The videos ive posted are not movies they are real life as well. Not from indian gov sites and not politically. Just person-person interaction. Only 1 from Ary news site of an Indian MP with a Pakistani sister. Most of ordinary citizens and their experiences visiting the other country for trade, treatment or whatever else. If you can’t acknowledge any goodness in individual Indians from what i have posted then that is your view. Others may feel differently. They can decide themselves. You can make general statements about people making decisions based on company but you cannot generalise for all. Lot of Indians and Pakistanis get along well in Dubai and abroad. Here I know many Pakistanis who are working with Indians and no one has issues with someone getting promotion. My dad’s accountant is Pakistani and our real estate agent is Pakistani and there are no issues. **He also asked what Pakistani dramas they watch because we watch hum tv with our indian channels. At the place i work i have supervisors who are Indians and Pakistanis. Everyone gets along and i respect the supervisors who are Pakistani. I am happy for them when they get promoted and I am not an outlier.**They help me and if they have any questions or require help with their children I am willing to help as well. It’s not a uniform experience for all. i met a Pakistani whose mother was in hospital and there was one desi nurse from Kerala. Every day she would check up on the mother of the Pakistani friend, even when the friend herself was not there, and see if she was ok. Just because they had that desi connection.

In a former thread even Kaka from USA said he preferred to employ a Pakistani due to desi connection. And some others said they employed Indians and vice versa. It’s not a competition..im just showing majority of normal everyday Indians are not anti-Pakistani.

Apr 12th, 2013, 09:18 AM[RIGHT]24](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/general/605307-do-you-get-along-with-indians-hindus-at-school-and-workplace-2.html#post9543142)[/RIGHT]

kaka_in_usa

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/statusicon/user-offline.png

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/image.php?u=19760&dateline=1378067362Join DateSep 11, 2003LocationRoop nagar, Prem Gali, Kholi # 420Posts6,915Mentioned1 Post(s)Tagged0 Thread(s)

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/misc/quote_icon.png

Originally Posted by Umer http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png
I hired a Hindu into my team once. Was the religion a factor when I hired her? No.

What mattered was:

Top performer with an excellent track record, brilliant professional and highly motivated. Her previous manager was actually pissed at me for a while because I took away her best team member.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/smilies/smile.gif

I have a similar experience. A Swati Pakistani works for me and i love him. I trust him more than i trust my gora employees. In fact he is the only desi employee i have in USA and he is my main man.
Bond of our culture is stronger than hatred of boundaries or religions.

Posting videos and pictures do not tell the reality is my point.

There are differences. Politically India never accepted the division. Some say " Oh we do like division, good riddance".

Other say: Pakistan was part of India!

Being comparatively more open minded, the acceptance of Pakistanis anything Indian still is much more than Indians for anything Pakistani.

Indians don’t even shop as much at Pakistani stores or eat at Pakistani restaurants outside Pakistan and India. You would hardly ever see that.

As it is not only a Pakistani would pull another Pakistani leg trying to go at higher level, an Indian would even be stronger opponent of the Pakistani perfect candidate for a position. True story.

words do not tell reality and neither do news site. I think hearing someone’s personal experience has more value especially if that person has experienced that other side. Yes some say that..im sure some would be happy with division. I’m sure it’s same for those in other side who are happy problems of India are not theirs. I don’t know anyone who hasnt accepted reality of Pakistan and i know many conservative people. If they want to acknowledge similarity and ties does not mean they deny that Pakistan is another country. There is less knowledge of Indians about Pakistan but there is acceptance of good quality products. Just because I am Indian does not mean I will buy MDH when I know Shan Masala is better. My parents tell their indian friends to watch humtv because they like the storylines and how there are shorter episodes. So my experience does not gel with yours at all.
I don’t know about where you live but people here have no issues going to Pakistani stores or restaurants. No one actually finds out what the background of the desi restaurant is before eating. Quality matters more. Many of the times we don’t even know who owns the restaurant because its a generic name. Ive given an example opposite of that above. I’m not trying to make it a competition or i would look for stories where the opposite discrimination occurs.
I even informed my Pakistani friend about Bol being screened because she had no idea. My grandmother and aunt liked it better than the recent Indian movies out.I mentioned Kaka’s story above. He knows people on GS and offered to host a few when they came to India so i’m sure its not just a random thing he said.
how can it be known that those of other nationalities do not also compete in the same manner as Indians as you mentioned when in a western country. even among families or own ethnic groups or people in same religions there is competition that only they, not their family, should get promotion especially in west. I’ve not done a competition on who would be more competitive for pulling a Pakistani person from a higher level but on the thread above where I found kaka’s comments few other GS members said they had opposition by Indians when it came to work. Even PCG said it was people of the same background who had opposition. Which i am sure would be true for Indians as well. what of china banning fasting in xinjiang, are all chinese responsible..are all Kuwaitis responsible for the visa policy of the gov..are all americans responsible for their various gov decisions. In other positive news the SC bar associations of India and Pakistan have agreed to help each other release prisoners from the other side.

Anyway you obviously don’t agree with what i’m saying and it’s based on personal experiences. So i think it’s best to leave the comparison there.

Ahh so that’s where the flooding reference came from. I’m keeping this thread on top of the forum. Am sure OP appreciates. :slight_smile: unending words are just a sign of unending passion. Some like to write short and succinct. Others like to write in an unending way with room and space. :slight_smile: Tis one’s own style Southie my friend.

Like it or not,there is a strong anti Pakistan sentiment prevails in India.I would personally say that much of this is contributed by the actions of people sitting in R********i. There was a propensity for Pakistan that had existed till November 2008 and the 26/11 audacious acts by some people overturned everything.

It would be immature to say that people in India are sentimental about Pakistani songs and T.V programmes etc.I do not think much people in India will be interested in these.I am now  in Baroda,Gujarat now and any discussion concerning Pakistan raises eyebrows here.

:hayaa: inni wadi waddi posts

Agreed and well said.

Really? Interesting. I’m from Delhi. My parents love humtv dramas and find them better then Indian dramas. They have told relatives in india about them also. All of them are conservative types. No doubt since we live abroad we know more Pakistanis so obviously we have more knowledge. No one said there weren’t going to be haters in some circles. No doubt Indians are more ignorant towards Pakistanis because all they see is media is negativity rather than similarity through dramas. I think this channel will have an impact in reducing that "otherness"factor . Most Indians-Pakistanis get along when they are abroad. Also, ads for this channel are all over big cities on billboards in Delhi and Mumbai.

Most of the videos ive posted, the twitter comments regarding pakistani dramas and the channel launch videos are after 2008-09. Sure at that time sentiments would have been high but i think most reasonable people would not blame a whole people or country for an incident. We have our own home grown incidents as well.
Even blaming people who committed 2008-09 is stupid, what of the security failure? If governments weren’t incompetent this could be avoided. Last few years of corrupt government, unpunished rapes and lawlessness have made people realise that the real enemy is within and in top levels. Lot of bs is happening in India today and since 2008-09 and its not because of Pakistan After that worry about outsiders. This is what most logical Indians believe..and the comments allude to that. 570 000 people is not a joke for a fb page.

They did a tester of these serials in number of locations from north to south and they were well received. The people who run this channel aren’t novices. Previously Shaijla Kejriwal worked for Star Plus and other entertainment channels. you cannot deny there is curiosity to know the other side and this channel will dispell myths that allow haters to demonise the other side. It would be immature to deny that common Indians want to have better relations with common people of other countries and that these dramas have sparked interest.

My friend has done placement in some indian news sites and even conservative right wing media like dnaindia have spoken positive about the programs. Many Indians on fb have Pakistani online friends. Some may be sentimental, some may not be. Some are not sentimental but dismissive because they don’t know the other side. Thinks the other side hates them etc. there is strong sentiment if one brings up terrorism and because apart from songs, and some select things they don’t know much about Pakistan. There are many who have enjoyed quality dramas and comedy shows back from the 80s and they are excited they get to revisit that. Quality products have not been refused since 2008-09. Shan masala gets bought, Pakistani songs are heard and found in bollywood i.e. disco deewane and Bollywood has Pakistani singers even in recent movies like Ek Villain.

Before you were saying something about that guy would be a disgrace if he went to Pakistan. Now kuch aur. Badal gaye ho after the comments above. Just because Diwana doesn’t have a favorable impression of Indians doesn’t mean we respond that way. we have to rise above that.

Glad you too could find a common connection. Similar minds think alike. On the one street in our city known as desi street we have restaurants/shops owned by Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis. People shop where quality is good not based on nationality. Guess it was only a matter of time before those who echoed similar thoughts came forth from the Indian side.

This article is an interesting read. Pakistani Serials on Indian Telly for the First Time: Zee’s Zindagi Promises Entertainment That Will Make History Notice the positive sentiment and dispelling of falsehoods in comments below.

Shajla, who was also part of making kyun ki saas bhi kabhi bahu thi- a hit serial, makes an interesting point.

India prides itself on being a secular country. But when it comes to national television and cinema, there is such little representation of Muslims even though they comprise such a huge chunk of the population.

Absolutely. And not only is there little representation, there is so much misrepresentation of this particular religion in the mass media. My belief is that because Zee Zindagi will be in your home 24/7, your mind set is bound to change. Just like how Bollywood films are so popular in Pakistan you know, they love our movies and they love out stars; likewise I am confident that once India witnesses the sheer genius of Pakistani television, we too will come to embrace it as our own. See this movie now that has released, Filmistan. Brilliant yaar! Na Hindustan na Pakistan, what unites us is Filmistan. What happens in that a movie like this will release once in a while, bringing with it a spurt of positivity. Then once it has done the rounds of film festivals and theatres, and then go. Out of sight, out of mind. Because I am bringing this to your television in your home, in your drawing room 24/7, without such misrepresentations it is bound to change mind sets and herald in a new era. …

Yeh these comments by indians are not real at all.

Once your relatives watch Pakistani dramas they won’t be raising their eyebrows. Actually, you have a chance to stop them from raising eyebrows by saying you’re on a Pakistani forum and the members here are just like anywhere else etc They’re multi-dimensional human beings.Tell them about the channel and say they should watch Zindagi Gulzar hai. My parents have friends who are conservative Hindus and they watch Pakistani dramas also. My dad’s told relatives about it..no one cares. I asked my dad what would he say if someone told him not to watch such dramas. he said he wouldn’t give a s***. He’ll watch what he likes. In fact he watches recorded episodes in morning before he goes to work. my brother who loathes saas-bahu serials enjoys comedy serial halka na lo.