Re: Anti-Pakistanism in India
If anyone did not get why I gave three examples above, then this post should make the person understand. ![]()
given that its upset diwana zafra and similar crybabies so much, i fully support this arrest. ![]()
100% sarcasm.
0% substance.
Classic queer.
what exactly was sarcastic there, pal? i’m pretty glad this upsets zafra and diwana - two big india haters whining that india doesnt love pakistan. was that substantial enough for you pal?
Good to know you support Modi afterall. ![]()
So when I gave example of India reverting back to anti-homosexuality law, you said it was “my India”.
And hoped I did not vote for Modi. Have some consistency..pal! ![]()
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/sarcasm
Just in case you decide not to check the meaning; the pakistani flag. Pal.
even a toilet brush has its uses. ![]()
Yes it does.
Like the use of sedition law here. ![]()
Can’t we all get along?
sarcasm](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=sarcasm) ?
^LOL nice one southie.
0% sarcasm
100% genuine
Sedition laws are slapped quite regularly for all sorts of random reasons by police authorities as ive shown in the article ive protested-on protestors protesting a nuclear plant, on cartoonist making a cartoon against corruption using the Indian constitution, on a bunch of MPs who used pepper spray in Parliament etc The charges are then dismissed.
The original post did not mention that the charges of sedition on the students were dismissed by authorities. Or that it happened during election period. The vice chancellor Prof Ahmad had said there was unruly behaviour as well. Neither was it mentioned that the MP. Yes, an MP not an ordinary person was also accused of extortion, while bring drunk and saying slogans of death to the PM. Now whatever feelings one has towards India’s PM why can’t that be the reason for the sedition charge rather than the Pakistani slogan? Now if he thinks the whole system is unfair, despite being voted an MP, then why would he engage in wanting to be part of the government? Also, there will be a court case on it. His party has also used Pakistani related issues for votes. One of their candidates, Azam Khan, bought Kargil into the election campaign despite it not having any relevance. So all this is political. Also, the Pakistani student has himself said he did not face discrimination on nationality or religion in his 2 years in India. That he will return 1000 times as he has more friends here than in Pakistan and said he was not sure why he was attacked as he was popular on campus. When the attack happened other students rushed to his rescue. Other Pakistani students who have come to India have returned without any issues.
Lot of common Indians admire Pakistani bowling, Pakistani cricketers like Wasim Akram who have done tv shows in India etc. Some Indians even support Pakistan when they are playing 3[SUP]rd[/SUP] teams. No one has been arrested for expressing these sentiments. I’ve posted plenty of examples of ordinary Indians appreciating Pakistanis in songs, drama, health visas and there are new moves to liberalise trade between governments. So outside of election time propaganda there is no anti-Pakistani sentiment for common people. It’s unfair to say majority of Indians are anti-Pakistani then limit oneself to saying there are gov examples of using Pakistan to stir up emotions in elections. It’s not right but similar to rhetoric in western countries when they want to appear tough on security.
I find it interesting that many threads like this exist but that threads on anti-Pakistani sentiment and discrimination in US, UK, Europe, or Middle East do not really exist. I think it’s really easy to arouse sentiments on either side just by mentioning history, partition and some of the issues. There is actually probably more pro-Pakistani people sentiment under the surface among an average Indian than those above. There are places in India named after places in Pakistan including shops/restaurants. Same in Pakistan. An average Indian probably has more knowledge of Pakistani songs, stage shows and now probably dramas than those of the category above. Plenty of Pakistani celebrities including Shoaib Malik have been part of Indian shows, reality-shows like singing shows for adults and children with Pakistani singers, not only as contestants but also judges.
We’re meant to be 2 "enemy’ states according to the world yet how many enemy states allow for so many artists or sports-persons of the other side to be appreciated, for joint productions to occur, or for health visas to be loosened if the other side needs it, or for doctors on one side to organise free medical camps for the other side and for the doctors-patients to feel a connection beyond the professional like family. Not saying the hate doesn’t exist in some or there are no issues, but it’s not the majority by far. How many of the following countries which have “enmity/issues” allow the above despite even sharing a common culture and language? Does South Korea do the above for North Korea? Or Iran for Saudi Arabia? Or Bosnia for Serbia? Or Israelis for Palestineans? Still Pakistanis and Indians appreciate the others movies/songs/dramas/sportspersons. Even though there are issues with the indian government i think there have been some positive gestures even in the recent past. i think it is commendable that in 2010 when floods affected Pakistan the gov gave 5 million even as a token gesture and has also given Pakistan MFN status.
A Pakistani singer sang Aye mere pyare watan, a patriotic Pakistani song, on a Indian reality tv show with full respect and appreciation from the audience and basically full marks from the judges. Have any of the above countries allowed the other country’s singer to sing a patriotic song on their reality show? How many middle eastern countries offer Pakistanis visa on entry unlike non Muslim Nepal? This could have very well been the situation between India-Pakistan had there been no historic baggage/issues. Still that does not explain why Middle Eastern countries cannot offer Pakistanis visa on entry. How many middle eastern countries have the health visa set up like in India or have their doctors do free medical camps in Pakistan? Yet out of all these countries Indians are the most anti-Pakistani?? How much respect does the average Pakistani or desi workers get in UAE?
It kind of is and depends on where and how the slogans are being chanted. Freedom of speech is great and is considered a privilege to have when it should be our right. However, if it is done to provoke a reaction from people that will cause unnecessary violence and hatred then it does become a concern. Just like those lame anti-Islamic videos you see, all done to get a rise out of people or divert attention.
You mentioned one case of a Pakistani student attacked in India but important to mention is that after it happened the university, students and his friends supported him when he was in hospital. He too was unaware of the reason of the attack.
What of other educational institutions like schools?** Do you know which 2 entities have written the longest love letter according to world record books of the time?** It wasn’t any 2 people it was between people of 2 countries. No, it wasn’t between any European or American or Middle eastern countries. It was from the children of India to the children of Pakistan who signed the letter back. Two americans about 7 years ago travelling both countries noticed similarities in culture, they contacted schools in India about the idea. No one refused and children from all over India wrote to their penpals in Pakistan. The longest letter measured 240 by 360 feet. It spanned the length of a cricket stadium and was telecast during a game between India and Pakistan. It was composed of artwork, letters and the message and number of events were held in number of cities surrounding this. It was in English, Hindi and Urdu
Dear Children of Pakistan,
Let’s join hearts in friendship. Together we can make a better world.
-The Children of India*
The number of children at the events, the painted indian and pakistani flags and the enthusiasm in these videos shows no sign of anti-Pakistani sentiment. These are children from across India inluding Gujurat.
You can watch the journey of the longest letter from India to Pakistan
What the children from schools across India wrote to their penpals in Pakistan
Surely if there is majority anti-Pakistani sentiment in India then this would not have occurred about 7-8 years back. The parents would have said something about their children having Pakistani penpals had they been racist/anti-Pakistani yet no one opposed. I don’t know of any other “enemy” countries above having their children write similar letters to those of the other side? Nor of any Iranian children writing to Saudi Arabian children? Or of North Korean children writing to South Koreans? Or from any other two countries doing anything similar.
All the schools involved in the initiative spread the span of India from North to South, even including Gujurat and were enthusiastic about it. As were the associated schools in Pakistan.
You can read more about the journey here if you’re interested. Friends Without Borders - international penpal program between India and Pakistan
Had I been living in India at the time I would have been part of this longest letter/penpal program. If i wanted to generalise by looking at this could i say children in India and schools in India are more pro-Pakistani looking at the above. Can I say universities in India are pro-Pakistani since they offer courses in Pakistani studies but Pakistani universities do not have courses on Indian studies/languages according to Ali Hassan Raza, the student who was attacked? Can i say Indian entertainment channels are more pro-Pakistani than Pakistani channels as there are more Pakistani artists present and a Pakistani singer sang a patriotic song on one of the shows? Then you can also say Pakistani gov is also more pro-Indian than vice versa. Society consists of many elements. Just like you’re not always represented by your gov the people of India are not either. Neither are Americans all same as GWB’s opinion.
The above may be more pro-Pakistani but that doesn’t mean the Pakistani equivalent is anti-Indian.
Let’s look at the anti-Pakistani sentiment hidden in the heart of those Indian children, across India, and their schools who wrote the largest letter filling a cricket stadium to Pakistani children and wrote letters to their penpals. I can see a lot of anti-Pakistani sentiment here. sarcasm](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=sarcasm)
#friendswithoutborders](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=friendswithoutborders) #indianchildrenlovepakchildren](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=indianchildrenlovepakchildren)
A small tiny sample
I’ve not heard a Pakistani MP say India Zindabad but i’m not sure the reaction would be very positive. When the Pakistani prime minister said the word vishwas there was media backlash and he was criticised because it was a hindi word and “symptomatic of creeping Indian cultural influence” from films. How is one word threatening? Those criticising must have forgotten that Indus valley is also Pakistani heritage and that the greatest Sanskrit grammarian world over, Panini, was from Khyber Pakhtunwa. There are Urdu channels and programs in India. We’re having a channel with Pakistani dramas and the feedback is that people are loving the sweet language of Urdu and are enjoying learning new words. It’s no big deal. So issues are on both sides.
Both sides can be accused of denying visas at random. Only thing is since 2008 Indian politicians, regardless of religion, say things during election to bolster their security credentials. It is not right but politicians in western countries talk tough during elections. After election it is quiet. Since election an Indian channel for Pakistani dramas has been launched which Nawaz Sharif approved and there are talks of liberalising trade between 2 countries. So going well for now. But how does this make the average Indian anti-Pakistanis? Plenty of examples contrary to this.
This thread reminds me of my friendship with Ginti #gintiaurmeriinfinitefriendship](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=gintiaurmeriinfinitefriendship) #numbersinfinitefriendship](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=numbersinfinitefriendship) #friendshipkanotheend](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=friendshipkanotheend)
It started here in general. Shayad pehle nafrat thi phir dosti ban gayi. It ws really cool I learnt more about Lahore and Saudi Arabia from her. She told me about different hijab styles, the main attractions of lahore and what foods are popular. I told her about my fav chat masalas and she told me hers. We both don’t like chai ![]()
It also reminds me of this video. At 0:55 Ginti is represented on left and im on right :)jo dosti nafrat s shuru hoti hai woh aur bhi gehri hoti hai aur zyaada rang laati hai
Indian children are the most pro-Pakistani children in the wholest widest universe. Any other children write such a long letter 360 feet long and 200+ feet wide, or write so many letters to penpals with touching drawings? No other children from Europe, US, Middle East or Africa or Oceania did that..only Indian children. Koi contest hi nahi hai. Hands down. Easy Victory. Too bad they could never have that Indo-Pak concert on the border because middle aged guys in suits with egos/who are corrupt/no soul on either side never want them to get to know each other and make friends. They will persevere and one day they will get to meet their counterparts and they’ll realise they’re just as human as them.
^ phir kya huwa?
Phir kabhi nahi ho paya yeh Indo-Pak concert.
Till this day the wishes of the kids never came true. It was meant to happen in August 2007. The planning was done. Dil se Dil - India Pakistan border concert It was to mark 60 years of Independence and a crowd of 150 000 was expected. Then at last moment it got cancelled due to security ane expected crowd of 150 000
Gala India-Pakistan concert called off - Hindustan Times