American women

lol so true. I'm seeing that often now. I've seen numerous white men with asians in the city.

I thought most of these cases were about white guys looking for very submissive women, not avoiding golddiggers?

As an aside, I used to work as a counselor in a doctor's office. A guy came in with his wife and said she needed some birth control counseling but only spoke Arabic, so they had me talk to her. Turns out, she was Malaysian and didn't speak a word of Arabic---but she was Muslim and prayed in Arabic, and that was all this guy understood about his wife. It made me want to puke and I felt so bad for this girl. Clearly a mail order situation, and clearly he was just a pig who wanted someone who wouldn't talk back----didn't even know what her language was. :(

Re: American women

well I completely agree with your view that these men want submissive wives which is why they choose far eastern women … but apparently, these guys insist it’s cause western women have too many nakhray which is why they marry women from that region. :confused: :halo:

So it appears I am the ONLY ABCD on GS who has cousins in Pakistan that are raised in an even much more conservative environment than me? I.e, never going out, never going to parties or clubs or wear caprees/sleeveless, never talk to boys etc. :naraz: as strict as my parents were, after some point in my life…I GOT A LIFE. And however tough it is, its a million times better than the life I would have in Pakistan, and i am thankful for it.

Am i the only stereotypical abcd desi who cannot speak proper Urdu (shutup and stop maing fun of my accent), and doesnt wear a burka, and isn’t locked up in her home by hubby dear? (kar ke dikhai :asa: )

^ The irony being of course that in most cases the single greatest motivation for the mail order brides is $$$.

Sara ji I think my husband’s family in Pakistan is very strict; from pics and conversations I think sleeveless, capris, etc., would be a complete no-go. His family here is very strict too. The girls’ Urdu does pretty much stink, though, and they’re muhajabbat by choice but not locked in the house. :slight_smile:

How do you know all these big big words :eek:?

^ she is learning urdu...

Niks, once upon a time I lived in the Middle East/speak Arabic/am Muslimah. My Urdu is nothing to be proud of and considering how hectic life is I probably won’t make a whole lot of progress unless the in-laws move in with me.

Oh my god :hayaa:

I’ve seen your pics too :wub: SubhanAllah!

Good luck with your pregnancy…please visit Parenting :wink:

If people have gotten bad ideas about ABCD girls b/c of

the way they dress,
the way they talk,
the way they walk,
the way they sit
the way they speak to guys,
the way they behave on internet forums,
the way they post their pictures on facebook,
the way they eat their food,
the way they speak Urdu or punjabi,
the way they wear shalwar kameez and duputta,
the way they go to school,
the way they wear their makeup
the way they wear nailpolish
the way they wear shoes

Chances are, that saw me , and made their assumptions that all abcd girls are evil..

So--abcd girls..i am sorry for tarnishing your reps.

My daughters are ABCD :jhanda:

Awwww thanks. :slight_smile: Will probably have lots of questions to ask of all you wise guppans in Parenting after I become a mom----ABCDs, BBCDs, CBCDs, and native born desis alike. :slight_smile:

Hey gori you forgot to add Inshallah after you become a mom and congrats on being preggo btw! :)

^lol Thanks Aisha

And yes, after I become a mom inshaallah I will ask lots of advice in Parenting inshaallah. :D

bhai jee when was the last time you actually went to Pakistan? what exactly is so ‘scary’ about ‘paki metro girls’ from ‘urban pakistan’, who you have so conveniently divided in 2 cateogories of ‘bun kabab’ and ‘burger’, no not at all judgemental.

i find it hilarious how suddenly all the hypothetical cousins back home are slutty and loose and the poor ol’ abcd’s here are soooo naive, masoom and just plain angels. no generalizations indeed :halo:

You know what–i am getting annoyed with that generalization too.

what’s wrong is wrong–calling abcd girls slutty or loose is no good but you know what, neither is classing all of the “pakistan” girls as bad either.